We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good resort, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I go to cabo a great deal and usually stay in the Corridor at the Grand Regina.... so I am spoiled....I admit it.....This is a nice timeshare resort.... nothing bad to say....but it is not unusual or spectacular....good rooms, good services, but it is a large complex and not particuarly unique or special.....I would stay here if you could get a great deal, but there are better, more upscale resorts in Cabo....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This website is confusing because there are reviews here for two different, but similarly named resorts. We reserved a 1 bedroom condo through RCI at "Club Casa Dorada BEACH and Golf Resort" Carretera Transpeninsular Kilometro 18.5, San Jose del Cabo. This is actually part of the DREAMS Resort (not the Hilton) located on the Corridor about halfway between San Jose and Cabo. (So be sure to check the exact address of the resort you are considering) I can NOT say enough good about this Resort. We give an A+ to Rooms, Food, Service...it was a wonderful vacation. We loved the Adult Tranquility pool as well as the Palapas on the Beach. One suggestion: Our RCI paperwork said that All-Inclusive was mandatory and that we had to call a specified travel agent number to reserve ahead. Don't do this! (This resort is actually optional All-Inclusive) We found out that we would have paid less for the all-inclusive if we had contacted the resort directly. (or maybe even at checked in). We don't usually do All-Inclusive, but I must say that we were very glad we did. The food, drinks and service were OUTSTANDING. Also, there are no restaurants within walking distance. You can pay for food as you go, but I think that you would find it expensive. Another benefit to all-inclusive is never ending bottled water. You might save money without all-inclusive if you didn't drink alcohol. For further info on this resort, check out the Tripadvisor review of the Dreams Resort at this specific address/location.

Room Tip: At first, We were concerned about our room because we were only on the 3rd floor (1 floor up from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank pantersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I must start by saying the timeshare rooms at Casa Dorado are not bad at all compared to other hotels but they are sub par when compared to other timeshare rooms in the area. That being said, the open air style of the lobby and restaurants are absolutely gorgeous. The views of the ocean are breathtaking and the fact that the owner constructed a man made beach that is swimable is great. The water is crystal clear and sapphire blue.

Exchange Rate:

I exchanged some of my USD for Pesos because the resort a stayed at during my last visit used a conversion rate of 10 USD: 100 Peso. Do yourself a favor and keep your USD because as of 12.06.11 Casa Dorado's rate is better than even the local atms: 13.29 USD: 100 Pesos.

Food:

The food is expensive but it is good. The no name sushi rolls are great; the Kobe Burger is great. The Italian restaurant is phenomenal. If you are on the timeshare side, you do still get the 20% off at all restaurants, excluding the Deli. Only the first day of bottled water is complimentary. There is a Happy Hour at the bar located on the lobby level where they offer some drinks for 70 pesos. The mango daquiri is to die for.

All of the restaurants seem so disconnected. You can go to El Mason for the breakfast buffet (it is 26.33/per person beforethe 20% discount if you are a timesharer but it is plentiful; if you eat there for breakfast you will not have to eat again until lunch); then you can go to the sushi bar at lunch but if you want anything other than sushi they order from the other swim up restaurant place. The two main restaurants are open for dinner but not Happy Hour. The only place that has Happy Hour is the bar on the lobby level; they also have appetizers but not a full menu. I know it sounds confusing because it kind of is.

Atmosphere:

This resort seems very laid back; almost to the point of boring. It all depends on what you want. I did however, go during a low season. All in all, Casa Dorado is a great place to stay.

Staff:

The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anichols8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Club Casa Dorada is a section of timeshare units on the property of the world class Los Cabos Hilton. Located on the "corridor" between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, this five star property has two swimming pools (the infinity pool is gorgeous), two restaurants, fitness center, spa, tennis courts, pool bars, business center, market/deli and much more. It's also located next to the El Dorado championship golf course.

The Room:

We stayed in room 3006; an average size hotel room with two double beds and a small balcony that overlooked the pool and ocean. The kitchenette had a small refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove top and sink, and was equipped with coffee maker, blender, pots, pans, glassware and eating utensils. The room also had a safe (large enough for a standard laptop) and wireless internet connection ($10.00 per 24-hour period). There was a large Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom along with a separate enclosed shower and water closet.

The Food:

The resort has an upscale (Fenicia), and a casual (El Meson) restaurant along with a pool-side grill (Madero). Sushi is also prepared at La Barca, the pool bar located on the Casa Dorada side of the property. The market/deli also makes sandwiches but is woefully lacking of basic grocery staples. Food and drink prices at all venues are high but in line with other five star resorts we have stayed at. If you plan on eating some meals in your unit, I would suggest taking a bus or taxi into San Jose del Cabo (about 10km) and shopping at the Mega Foodstore.
The food at the resort was good and of ample portions.

The Beach:

The resort sits on one of only a few safe beaches in Los Cabos. Playa El Bledito, also called "Smuggler's Cove", is protected by a man-made rock jetty which allows for safe swimming. Snorkeling isn't great but there are a few different species of fish that hang out around the jetty. The Hilton provides lounge chairs (some under "palapas") and vendors are far and few between. Long beach walks can be taken in either direction but wear your zapatos (shoes) as the sand is pretty course.

Having stayed at the Los Cabos Hilton once before, we jumped at the chance to stay at Club Casa Dorada and were not disappointed. This is an excellent property for timeshare owners who wish to stay on an exchange or extra "getaway" week.

For additional information or photos, I can be contacted by private message.

Room Tip: It appeared that all rooms have ocean views. Request a room on the 3rd floor or higher as views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sceneisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We are Hyatt Timeshare owners and for most exchanges outside of Hyatt, with the exception of a few Marriotts, we have always been disappointed, especially in Mexico; however, Club Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Resort was a pleasant surprise! It is the timeshare section of the Hilton Los Cabos, which is a beautiful resort on the corridor, about halfway between San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. It is out of the fray of tourists, so you can make it completely about R&R, or you can head into either town and whoop it up!

Most of what has been written by previous reviewers is very accurate. The personnel are very friendly and helpful. Dulce who is the timeshare manager on property is wonderful, and she was very attentive to our pre-arrival questions. We were fortunate to have stayed during very low season, as the resort was practically empty. It was like our own private vacation at times, especially at the second pool and at the restaurants. On the flip side, being low season, it was very hot and quite humid, but it was tolerable, especially in the afternoons when the sea breezes came up.

The beach is expansive and absolutely gorgeous. Many days we watched the graceful pelicans come and go. There is a lovely swimming cove and the water is so blue and inviting. Being major fans of Hawaii, I have to admit that the beach at the Hilton/Club Casa Dorada is much prettier than most beaches I have experienced in Hawaii!

We had a one-bedroom timeshare unit on the sixth floor, Suite 6005, with an amazing view from both the bedroom and living room balconies. The one-bedroom suite has two full bathrooms, both with walk-in showers, and one with a soaking jetted tub. There is more than ample closet space. The kitchen is limited with a small fridge/freezer combo, two burners, and microwave. No dishwasher, no regular oven. The coffee makers are barely four cup. It was very clean. Housekeeping did our dishes each morning, so the absence of a dishwasher was not a problem. In addition to morning housekeeping service, they also had turn-down service. I was so surprised since even some of the major pricey hotels have been slacking in that area. I will reiterate what others have posted in saying that the timeshare rooms need major updating. The units are pretty spartan and the furniture is dated. The mattress (at least in our room) was too soft and probably needs to be replaced. Other than that, the suites were quite comfortable.

Service at the pool was extraordinary. Rodrigo, Diego, and Juan Carlos were attentive and responsive. Loved the sashimi salad from La Barca for lunch! Also loved that the pool attendants and servers did not constantly ask if they could get you something, push food or drinks. The pool lounges are so comfortable, totally padded, and there are plenty of umbrellas to go around, even if the resort was full.

We ate at both main restaurants for dinner, and once, we had the breakfast buffet. All were very tasty and service was excellent.

For a property of this caliber, I was amazed that valet parking was free and internet only $10 per day, which was good for up to three computers.

We were very fortunate that we did not have anyone trying to get us to view the timeshare presentations, until the last day, we were driving out of the resort on our way to the airport and we were flagged down by a gentleman in a golf cart. He asked us if we were interested . . . we told him we were on our way out. "What time is your flight?" he asked. I said, "Noon, less than two hours from now." He wished us well. I will admit that if we weren't owners of two timeshare properties already, we would probably seriously consider the Club Casa Dorada, and we would definitely exchange here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank msblueyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
9.6 km away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
0.2 km away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
18.4 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,084 - ₹ 37,376
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is one of the many Casa Dorada in Los Cabos area. Please note we are "Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Resort" located between both towns (San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas) at the area known as the Tourist Corridor within the Cabo Real area at KM 19.5. The Home Resort will allow you the access to their common areas such as the beach, two pools, spa, restaurants and bars. This resort is an European Plan, meaning that there is no All-Inclusive or Mean Plan Package available and food & beverages will be subject to an extra charge. All rooms are considered as Ocean View and the assignment of the rooms will be based on availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Casa Dorada Spa And Golf Resort
Club Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing