We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Dorada Still Meeting Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Dorada Still Meeting Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our 4th time in Cabo and 2nd time at Casa Dorada. It was great! Staff is very friendly and the location can't be beat. Excellent location at Medano Beach and 10 minute walk to the pier. Food is above average but not great but several good choices nearby and at the pier. Another nice point was they allow you to park for free so it was very economical for us to rent a car rather than take cabs when we did want to venture out like going to the golf courses.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the action, it's right in the heart of Medano Beach and about 10 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    409
    121
    58
    52
See reviews for
564
836
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

First off the Casa Dorado is as central as it comes, its walking distance to everything and the hotel is ultra modern. We had a 1 bedroom suite on the pool level with a living room, huge Jacuzzi, mini kitchen, patio and a huge bathroom, room was about 900 sq ft right by the pool.

Things to remember when you go to cabo, stop at Wal-Mart or Costco and get snacks and booze for the room, trust me on this, it's not cheap down there so a little balance between your own alcohol and the bar and pool purchases balances the expenses nicely.

You are right on the beach so you can jet ski, para sail, snorkel, glass bottom boat and fish, and there are about a million vendors at any given time ready to help you with those services. The hotel is right behind the Office, and if you have not eaten there, you have not experienced Cabo, it's a nonstop party and the food and service is top notch.

The hotel offers great drinks specials and happy hours, it has a restaurant on the beach which we used for the breakfast buffet, and the rest of our time was poolside drinking and eating. Tempura shrimp, shrimp quesadillas, chips and guacamole, and even saw a buddy eating a burger and it looked great.

Casa Dorado is right by the marina, so you can walk over it also has Ediths behind it, another great restaurant in Cabo. To the left of the hotel is the ME' hotel, that is the cool trendy, dj spinning, bottle popping, young girls, slightly older guy hotel and it is bumping. I liked Casa Dorado since its huge pool gives you space to move around, and it right on the beach so it just does not get better. Good times had by all, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front and close to the pool, its easy to go back and forth to your room, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheLindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The view from the hotel is of the Los Arcos rock formation in Cabo San Lucas - seriously, one of the best views that I have ever seen. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The only complaint that I had was the WIFI situation. The hotel does not have free WIFI. So, if you want to order WIFI, then GO THROUGH THE HOTEL WEBSITE FIRST - do NOT call the front desk! If you call the front desk then they will give you a code for $70/week or $14/day. If you go through their website then you can get a discount - $50/week. It's also PER DEVICE, so if you have an I-Phone, make sure that you order it ON THE SAME DAY as the first device otherwise you don't get the "discount." When we were checking out, I unfortunately got double charged for the WIFI - on my credit card and on my hotel bill. I had to argue with the hotel manager until he finally agreed to reverse the charges.

The location of the hotel is very close (within walking distance) of the Marina and all of the shops. Senor Sweets had a great breakfast (eggs benedict was fantastic) but it was rather expensive ($30+/couple). Instead, I recommend checking out Baja Sweets which is not on the Marina but is still fairly close (you can always take a cab - do not pay more than $5-$7 for the cab). Breakfast at Baja Sweets consists of 3 eggs, toast, fruit, potatoes, & bacon for $3 - yes, $3. Eggs benedict is only $5-$6. Also, try Tiki Bar on Marina for great fish & chips, california rolls, and tempura vegetables. Alexander is the THE place on the Marina for tacos - skip Ole Ole. Alexander is $5-$6 for 3 tacos and they also have a really good breakfast as well. I also highly recommend Cabo Outfitters for kayaking/snorkeling - VERY professional, extremely nice, and GREAT experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a suite that overlooks the ocean, although most of the rooms have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was my second trip to Cabo San Lucas and a first for my boyfriend and boy did we enjoy it. When first walking into the hotel the view is spectacular and you can see the pool area immediately which was great because everything in the hotel is close to get you; unlike typical resorts where everything is miles away. When checking in we were greeted with two cocktails around 2 in the afternoon. We were told that are room would not be ready until 3 or 3:30 so we walked to "The Office" which is on the beach in front of the hotel for lunch. After having a few cocktails and lunch it was around 4 and the room was still not ready! Extremely disappointed about this the hotel to no avail offered us two complimentary dinners at the 12 tribes restaurant in the hotel, which was SPECTACULAR. It was definitely not like typical hotel food from all inclusive hotels in Mexico, it was from an amazing chef who actual came out to greet us when our meal was complete.

The room was spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean. We were a bit concerned that we were on the 3rd level because we had read that it was noisy at night. We DID NOT experience any loud noise and it was extremely quiet at night. The one concern about the room was that the bathroom shower curtain had an old water smell, typical to that of wet ski equipment when it sits out for a while. The concierge at the hotel is spectacular and will make all dinner reservations throughout Cabo; they will also make sure you have a great table with a view. Maria is amazing and helped us with all reservations; she also had great recommendations. We are not the type of people who like all inclusive and anyone that goes to Cabo and does all inclusive is missing out on the great restaurants.

The pool area and chairs were extremely comfortable and definitely make sure to get there early to save your spot. The pool lunch food was great as well and portions are very generous. We found ourselves eating at the pool everyday instead of walking down to "Mango Deck" or "The Office." The only disappointing thing about the pool was that many tiles were missing from the bottom of the pool and we were worried about cutting the bottom of our feet.

The only other disappointment at the hotel was the gym. There were 3 elipticals and 3 treadmills (2 of which were broken). I found that many people seemed to be fighting over the few machines and it was a disappointment that 2 out of 3 were broken. Other than that the gym was clean and a lot of weight equipment.

The one main thing we loved this is a secret hot spot hotel. Not many people know about it but everything from the location, the food, and the service are spectacular. The location is PERFECT to everything Cabo has to offer from the restaurants, to the bars, to the marina. Great food and drinks, great staff, and a great location offer for an amazing hotel that we would vacation at any day.

Room Tip: Our room was one the 3rd floor and we did not have any problems with noise. The front desk will allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdepaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have travelled to Cabo particularly Casa Dorada many times and this continues to be my "hot spot." This hotel is located in the perfect area! So close to the marina and in the heart of the town!! The staff at Casa Dorada are great and the amenities at the Spa are awaesome! Muchos Gracias to Fernando and his staff who are the jewels of Dorada!
Hope to see you all soon and gracias once again.
Eliza

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza777_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.2 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
1.1 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,423 - ₹ 51,584
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing