We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and location in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Finisterra. We have been going for 12 years and yes do have a timeshare so we get one of the wonderful Ocean view rooms. There are a lot of truths to the other reviews. We too are dissapointed with a number of the amenities that have not been kept up. However, the positives are as follows; location, location, location. The rooms are old but still very large and accommodate our family of 5 well. The service and people at Finisterra are wonderful. The food at the Palapa is great for a low price and the drinks are reasonable especially during the famous 2-4pm happy hour. We too hope that the new owners put some money into the resort and make it one of the best in Cabo like it used to be.

Room Tip: MAKE SURE you get a room in the main hotel area that faces the Ocean. The rooms are much nicer. DO...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,906)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,218 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just came back on a trip with a friends over the weekend. Purchased through Groupon. A couple of comments:

1. They don't take AMEX.
2. After checking in they were not clear where our rooms were - so we were roaming around the property looking for our rooms. With our bags.
3. Hotel gets bombarded by Cruises 3 x a week - so be prepared for Kids from every direction from the Disney Cruise ship
4. They put us in a double bed room after it was requested that we have a single bed.
5. Bathroom was small and difficult to maneuver around.
6. Every time I went to cash out my bill they always said that my room is booked under Peggy. I am not Peggy and stop asking me why the room is under my name - Call the front desk and figure it out yourself.
7. The Pools are FREEZING. I inquired about this before i went on the trip and reservations said that they pool has been fixed and is now heated. Funny thing is - no one wanted to go to the pool because it was too cold. Even the Jacuzzis were cold!
8. Showers are horrible - you feel like you're getting pierced and the restrictor needs to be removed from the shower head.
9. The food is ok - and doable - margaritas are strong.
10. Friends got charged $40.00 for not returning their towels to the towel lady. Imagine leaving from your vacation and getting hit up for 40 USD for forgetting to return towels. "Hope you had a nice stay - you forgot to return your towels - we're charging you $40 bucks" (Insert foul language here).


All in all I would not stay here again. If it wasn't for the distance from town and the company - i would have moved or been miserable. You get what you pay for from the groupon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Marina Side...heard the rooms are newer over there.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Gracias Beverly,

We have tried hard to improve in many of the areas that you mention in your review. All of our client’s comments are welcomed and taken into consideration in order to better our service.

As you can tell we are just starting to go over the Trip Advisor responses and have seen better satisfaction of our guests as time passes.

We hope you have the chance to stop by during your next visit to Cabo to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have ALWAYS stayed at the Finisterra over the years of traveling to Cabo. We haven't gone in about 5 years and just came back. We stayed for six nights. Everything is starting to get older. The beds were HORRIBLE! Rock hard along with the pillows. Low lighting in the bathrooms, couldn't see a thing. Very disappointing. Ate at the Whale Watcher bar one time. I ordered Chicken Enchiladas, had about 3 TINY pieces of chicken in it. Food was VERY disappointing. We walked next door everyday for Breakfast at the Playa Grande Resort and sat right on the beach watching whales breach, llstening to harp music, great food. At the Finisterra only one jacuzzi was even close to warm and it was occupied ALL the time. The rest were cold. Staff at the desk and door were friendly and kind as always. No gym/spa faciliities. It was just sold to new ownership, time will tell. Its going to take alot of money to compete with all the new resorts. We will definitely be staying elsewhere next trip to Cabo. Its sad that they haven't kept up with the demand. It used to be a four star in my book, it is now a 2, maybe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Debbie R,

Thank you very much for your comments and indeed we are aware of the points that you mention. That is why since the new company took over, changes have been made in many areas and there are still more to come.

Please take a minute to view some of the most recent comments from other guests where you can read the improvements made and the ones to come in the near future.

We hope that you make the time to stop by and see the new SANDOS FINISTERRA LOS CABOS All Inclusive Resort during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Well the owners and new managers (Sandos) have apparently decided that including the Finisterra in cruise ship tours is more important than supporting those who have supported this resort over the years. About every other day the pool and the Palapa are invaded by a bunch of freaks off of cruise ships. We have never seen the likes of this!!!! As a timeshare owner for about 20 years we are appalled.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Pacific and others have a Marina View If you don't care about w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Battman125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Gracias for your comments.

We certainly appreciate all the input we get from our valued guests and particularly from vacation owners that have been with us for many years.
One important thing to point out is that we have a raltionship with the Cruise companies for more than 6 years and regluarly on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and certain Fridays we have groups of people that want to enjoy the beach, pool and hotel facilites during their stop over at the port.

This has been monitored with guest’s surveys and comments and the majority seems to enjoy the ambiance and livelihood they bring for a few hours. Normally our resort has remained as very quiet and low key.

With the new improvements, the new SANDOS FINISTERRA LOS CABOS All Inclusive Resort will be a very appealing option especially for the former vacation members that have been patient for many years in hopes to see more funds injected to the resort.

Please take a moment to view some of the recent comments. We look forward to your next visit
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Went up to the Whale Watcher bar to see if we could catch sunset and some whales. It was happy hour so the drinks were 2 for 1. We enjoyed the view and saw a couple of whales off in the distance breaching and having a great time. Well worth the trek for happy hour with the whales!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Gatordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.5 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
928 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
0.5 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 118 in Los Cabos
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,258 reviews
17.6 km away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: ₹ 15,646 - ₹ 33,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing