We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place grows on you.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 12 August 2017

This hotel is several buildings built next to each other but is one hotel. They have several small pools as a result instead of one big main pool. There is only one swim up bar. The pool area is not ver big. However, they do have seating for hotel guests on the beach which is nice. The hotel sits on the Medano Beach where all the water activities take place along with the local vendors that walk up and down the beach selling goods. This is a busy beach so if you want something quite this is not your location. There is a bar that plays music to at least 11 pm every night that you can hear from your room. There was construction right outside our room door which was not pleasant. They are adding another building to this Hotel.Our rooms were nice and clean and no mold in the bathroom. We had an interesting set up: you had a door that opened up to two more doors. One door opened up into a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, washer and dryer, and hot tub on the balcony. The other door opened up to a room with one king bed and large sofa that was big enough to sleep comfortable in. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I found the room rate to be quite expensive. I have been traveling to Cabo for over 6 years and this time the prices were more than double than I ever had to pay and I stayed at a very nice all inclusive hotel! Cabo is under major construction i.e. building more high end hotels. I suggest NOT ordering room service, the food is awful and not as described in the in-room dining guide. We ordered a pizza and my teenage son said, "that looks like a play-dough pizza"! No joke it did. We had to return everything we ordered. The staff picked up the uneaten food and said they would remove the charges from our bill. When we checked out that did not happen so we had to go through the whole ordeal again. I think there was a bit of a language barrier which may be why the room service charge was still on the bill. You are safe to get a burger and fries from room service. They have a restaurant at the hotel that served tasty and fresh sushi. We ordered food by the pool and that menu had pork tacos which were delicious. We ate in town most of the time and could not find pork tacos anywhere oddly enough. We stayed in off-peak season but the rooms were still very expensive. I am just in shock of how much hotel rooms are in Cabo these days and the value has not changed with that rate increase. It is insane honestly. We did not like the set up of the hotel when we first arrived, our room was a hike literally, but we grew to enjoy the place. There are a lot of stairs to hike up before getting to the elevators to go to your rooms. I hope you like to walk!

Room Tip: Ask about the construction progress and how that will affect your stay and room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Savvy-Sailorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cachet Beach H, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Savvy-Sailorette,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort.

We appreciate your detailed review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

Please accept our most sincere apology for the misunderstanding with the pizza bill.

Thanks again for your comments, and thanks for choosing Cabo Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

First the good part, the rooms are well designed, modern, and comfortable. There are 4 pools that you can choose from.
Now the bad parts. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is not the place. The is very loud music all over the property that goes til 11pm at night, you can hear it inside the room with the doors closed. I had ear buds in most of the time. They nickle and dime you for a daily resort fee, a donation to Baja kids, and wifi (which we did not need but was still on the bill). There was construction noise at the resort, they are demolishing one building and add a new one, so there will be construction for a while. The narrow beach was packed with chairs, many with 'reserved' signs and never used. The first day at the beach we found a couple of chairs and were met by Louis who was disappointed we did not order a bucket of beers. You can't sit and enjoy the beach with a constant parade of hucksters selling blankets, jewelry, fruit, hats, pottery, tee shirts, and other crap. The water is warm, but there are boat entry points on either side of the beach, so there is a constant line of water taxis, jet skis, and other boats coming and going. I have stayed at beach resorts all over the world, and this is the worst we have ever seen. If you are looking for an over priced, noisy, party place with poor service, this is the place for you. When we checked out, they did not even ask if we had a good time nor ask to come back. On the second day, my wife said "I hate this place". We will not be back.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalenilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cachet Beach H, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear dalenilsson,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort. We value hearing about the items we do well, it addition to the areas we can improve.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort and contemporary room, as well as our selection of pools.

We regret you did not enjoy the bands on the beach restaurant deck, which play daily from 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m., or the bands that play at Baja Brewing on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

The beach club is first come first serve in regards to cabanas and lounge chairs, however guests are free to make a reservation if they know they are going to be at the beach club at a particular time.

Medano Beach is open to the public. Vendors offer their various products, however they are not permitted to cross the roped off area of the beach club, which we provide for privacy.

We regret to hear you did not enjoy your experience in Cabo San Lucas. The town welcome over two million visitors a year, many of whom visit year after year.

Thanks again for your review, we appreciate your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The property has gone downhill since our stay 5 years ago in the Bayview Suites section. While construction of a new building is underway, we were put in the remaining building scheduled to be demolished in less than a month - despite the fact that vacancies in other buildings were evident. Judging from the condition of the bathrooms, it probably should have been demolished or at least renovated 15 years ago. The resort is now affiliated with an Asian company and being rebranded as Cachet Beach Club. While the location is great, that’s about the only positive thing the resort has going for it at the moment. Highlights of our stay:

-We emailed ahead to let them know we’d be celebrating a special occasion and request an ocean view if possible. We were told we could have an ocean view if we attended the 90 minute promotional presentation and there would be a special “gift/surprise” in the room. Got the ocean view in the worst building on the property, but no gift.
-Apparently, a water line needed to be switched and they turned off the water from 11 pm – 5 am one night. A health and safety violation in our opinion, not to mention a complete inconvenience.
-Another day, we went without any hot water for several hours.
-Housekeeping had to be contacted on practically a daily basis. The maid would take our washcloths, despite the fact they were not left on the floor, and bath mat and never replace them.
-We were constantly asked if we attended the promotional presentation by staff. Don’t waste your time unless you want a discount card for excursions and a scolding for not wanting to buy into their vacation club. The check-in process was completely disorganized. Multiple parties were booked for the same time slot, but there was no rhyme or reason for the order in which attendees were registered. Furthermore, there was only one person registering everyone despite the numerous staff just hanging around doing nothing.
-You get charged a daily wifi fee, but the wifi didn't work at all in our room and was spotty in other spots of the resort. If the wifi is that bad, you shouldn't be charging a fee.
- When sitting by the small adult pool, there were a few days when no servers stopped by to see if anyone wanted anything. Juan, however, was awesome when he was covering that area.

The resort just lost repeat customers. We kept hearing that the rebranding as Cachet Beach Club and the expensive renovation project meant a more upscale experience. But it seems like the resort is no longer focused on the most important element – customer service. Cachet…more like Crapchet.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cachet Beach H, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Colleen S,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort / Cachet Beach Hotel. We value hearing about the items we do well, in addition to the areas we can improve.

Thank you for your compliments for serve Juan. We will be sure to forward your kind comments to him.

We regret to hear you were unhappy with our services. The demolition you mentioned is now underway on the building that had Baja Brewing on the rooftop, in order to make way for the gorgeous new expansion.

Please accept our most sincere apology regarding the confusion of your gift. We will be sure to follow up with our front desk and customer service staff family regarding procedures of such requests.

We invite all guests to a presentation tour to share the wonderful benefits of a membership to the resort.

Thanks again for your comments. We appreciate your time, and the opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We got a day pass ( for listening to a timeshare presentation ) but it was worth it . CV has an excellent spot on the beach , very close everything ! We were able to enjoy our watersports , the beach , and layout for a while right in the midst of everything. Very convenient since we made the mistake of getting a resort in Los Cabo's. I

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alaster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cachet Beach H, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Alaster83,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Cabo Villas Beach Resort.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our perfect location on Medano Beach, and had a chance to relax at the Cachet Beach Club, in addition to partaking in some activities.

Thanks again. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Ok First for the positives. I have been visiting Cabo for the past twenty years, so I know the area well. This was a last minute trip, and my favorite hotels were all booked up, so this was the only room available for us. This hotel is in an excellent location - as it is right on Medano Beach. It's very close to the Mango Deck, the Marina, and the shops there as well. The Baja Brewery on the 7th Floor has very good bar food and an outstanding view of the Sea of Cortez. Service on the Beach and at the pool was excellent. I will say the people working the front desk, the people assisting with luggage, and helping with transportation could not have been any nicer - very good, friendly and kind people!!!

As for the property itself, the pool is very old, the room was not that great either, pretty bad actually - and we even upgraded rooms. In general I did not like the lay out of this hotel with the stairs, elevator, and it's a very dated property. It just did not flow very well.

We did the breakfast meeting where they try and sell you a time share, and we have been to these before and actually even bought them before - but unlike other hotels who do the same presentations and show you respect with your decision, the two gentlemen (Saul and Ramon) there were very shady, gave us attitude when we refused to buy there - which in our mind was a no brainer given that it's a very dated hotel, poorly laid out, and the rooms were bad - and stairs were kind of a hassle as well. No matter what player from the Seattle Seahawks just bought there - we weren't having it. Basically, in summary - it became contentious and the salesman told us to just go back to our spots that we mentioned were out favorites (Villa La Estancia, and The Ridge at Playa Grande). needless to say this did not endear this property to us - and left us with a bad feeling that day.

We did have the opportunity to have brief encounters with both Meredith and Rosy, who I think manage the place - and they were both very professional, charming and a good representation of the kind, friendly and professional people that work there (except for the two - time share salesmen).

In any event, that's my two cents worth - and it may not be worth that much.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from pool area - which is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 11JohnnyP2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cachet Beach H, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear 11JohnnyP2017,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort. We value hearing about the items we do well, in addition the areas we can improve.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our ideal location in the heart of Cabo, and thank you for your compliments for our staff family.

We regret you were not happy with the layout of the resort. As you may have heard, the resort is about to begin an expansion project and construct a brand new tower. The building with Baja Brewing on the rooftop will be demolished to make way for a new 200-room tower. In addition, all of the units in two of the towers were completely renovated in the last few months.

We also regret to hear about your experience in the sales office. We certainly did not intend to offend you in any way. We apologize if you were.

Thanks again for your review, we appreciate your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,016 reviews
0.1 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,141 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
466 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: ₹ 15,632 - ₹ 33,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing