We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabo Villas getting back to normal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 3 December 2014

My wife and i spent a week at Cabo Villas the 1st week of November and were impressed with the progress the area and the resort had made after the big hurricane. There was still alot of damage to be seen and the resort had a few rooms that were still under repair. The restaurants at the resort were fully opporational and the beach front one cooked some of the fish we caught one day and it was delicious. The staff was very efficient and friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Dear William O,

Thank you for your comments regarding your November stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your praise, patience and understanding regarding the renovations that needed to be done due to Hurricane Odile. We did our best to have the resort operational as soon as we could for our members and guests.

Thank you for commending our staff. Our staff family takes pride in providing a "home away from home" environment at the resort.

Congratulations on a successful day of fishing. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy a great meal at Baja Cantina, tasting your catch!

Thanks again for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 491 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. It's right on the beach and within walking distance to the Marina and town where all the restaurants, shopping and bars are. You can't miss with this hotel. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. The views from the hotel are fantastic. There are several places to eat if you don't want to venture out of the hotel. However, there are some great eateries within walking distance. The staff is very cordial and the maids did a fantastic job in cleaning the rooms. The only drawback for me (I'm 71 years old) was all the stair climbing. Because the hotel is on the side of a hill, there are lots of stairs to go up and down to get to the various places in the hotel. The beach area in front of the hotel was perfect for us. Great lounges and the wait staff is superb, especially Victor. Lots of things going on at the beach -- parasailing, paddle boards, jet skis, kayaks, banana boats, glass bottom boat rides, etc. Just lost of things to do and all right next to the hotel, so you don't have to go far to enjoy these activities. There was very little evidence of the hurricane that hit Cabo a couple of months prior to our trip. They have done a good job in restoration. I've been to this hotel before and would go back again.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms offer great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 819sherylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Dear 819sherylp,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

Our number one amenity is our location in "The Heart of Cabo"! Our members and guests love the easy access to everything in Cabo.

We appreciate your kind words for our staff. We will be sure to pass along your praise to the housekeeping and front desk reception team members.

We are pleased you enjoyed Baja Cantina and the array of activities available on Medano Beach. And we couldn't agree more about Victor, his customer service is outstanding!

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to greeting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014

This place is awesome, great rooms,walking distance to great bars and restaurants.Big rooms, and great customer service.our room was located beachfront with a beautiful patio and jacuzzi. we had two bathrooms with a living room and kitchen. The only drawback was they were still cleaning up from the hurricane, the outside jacuzzi for all the guess was being redone. Our friends room was located on the 6th floor and because of damage from the hurricane the elevator did not work, but they are working to get that back in working order. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julu39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear Julu39,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your compliments regarding our customer service, the size of the rooms, restaurants and our location in "The Heart of Cabo".

We apologize if the renovating due to Hurricane Odile inconvenienced you. We are happy to let you know the main Jacuzzi is fully functioning and being enjoyed on a daily basis, and our elevators have also been repaired.

Thanks again for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We recently stayed at this resort, and were surprised by the new $3 daily "service" fee added to our bill at check out. We were not made aware of this in advance, and when I questioned it, the answer I rec'd was vague. Upon further questioning, it was disclosed as tip money for maids and for those "behind the scenes" (gardeners, etc.). Really? The thing I don't understand is, the room rates charged run in the $200 - $300/night range, the Mexican minimum wage is in the $3/hr. range, and yet the resort can't afford to pay their employees a decent wage? Doubt this "policy" would fly at a comparable resort in the U.S. or Canada.
Another beef I have is the pressure to sit through a timeshare presentation. We were approached at check-in, and after their hard sell, we declined. But, it didn't end there. We were approached at least 3 more times during our week stay. Come on, people. We are on vacation. We don't want your free breakfast buffet nor your $40 gift certificate to one of your restaurants in exchange for 3 hours of our time.
The negative aside, the majority of the staff was pleasant, and although we don't like the food there, bartender Francisco at the upper pool bar makes an awesome margarita.
Bottom line? I think Cabo is getting too big for its britches. Hawaii is looking better and better . . .

Room Tip: My tip for choosing a good room? Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Bettcita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear Bettcita,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa. We value hearing about the aspects we do well, as well as the items we need to improve.

We appreciate the kind words of praise for our staff, specifically bartender Francisco. Our staff family takes pride in providing a “home away from home” environment for our members and guests.

We apologize if you were offended by our “Behind the Scenes” Fund. Over the years, many of our members and guests have gotten to know our staff team members. We also know that many members and guests provide generous tips for your bartenders, servers and maids. They appreciate your kindness very much.
It does need to be remembered however, that there are many people “behind the scenes”, who work just as hard, and are sometimes forgotten, as they do not have direct contact with our guests. These loyal individuals, are of course, equally important in regards to your vacation experience.
Many Cabo Villas members have asked how they can distribute tips to these wonderful people. We have set up a fund that is paid directly to our “behind the scenes” staff, with 100% of the funds divided equally among them. This fund does not include the executive team or the “front lines” staff that you see on a daily basis.

We do invite our members to a members update and our hotel guests to a presentation tour, to share the wonderful benefits of a membership. We apologize if our communication was an inconvenience for you.

Thanks again for your comments, we appreciate your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014

We love being at the beach for the 1st of our annual two week vacation in Cabo-with access to the beach, Marina & beach shops & restaurants. We were placed in a 6 floor ocean view room ( not ocean front, as requested) and because of the storm, the elevator did not work, huff, puff...the WIFI is virtually not usable from the rooms. I found the staff to be extremely helpful, especially Gabriel at the bar & room service. The location in town is generally noisy(the room next to ours had been devastated and was being used as an office by staff),but especially so post Sandy with all of the ongoing repairs. The rooms are clean and nice, and there is a wonderful spa, but I was very happy to go out of town for our second week at Hacienda Encantada.

Room Tip: Insist on oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LVPHYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboVillas, Public Relations Manager at Cabo Villas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear LVPHYL,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for the kind words of praise for our staff. We will be sure to relay your compliments to Gabriel.

We also appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, as well as the quality of Sparitual.

We hope you enjoyed the view from your 6th floor unit. We are sorry the ocean front units were not available. Our reservations and reception staff members do everything they can to accommodate all of the room location requests, however all unit types are based on availability.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in the aftermath of Hurricane Odile. We can happily report the elevator and Wi-Fi services have been fully restored.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,164 reviews
0.3 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,175 reviews
1 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#17 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
486 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.1 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: ₹ 15,874 - ₹ 44,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing