We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible staff make Playa Grande great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Incredible staff make Playa Grande great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Resorts in Cabo are some of the most luxurious in the world; well-appointed suites, beautiful swimming pools, good food, friendly service. So what makes Playa Grande the resort we come to year after year? Waiters like Inez who remember and greet us warmly on the first day. Engaging, humorous conversations with Bruno as he whips up a delicious omelet for my leisurely breakfast. And of course the activities staff. Roberto and his staff are really extraordinary! Oh my God, Roberto is so funny as the MC at the Sunday Fiesta and somehow he manages to keep a "G" rating --maybe "PG." You have to go to Sunday's La Fiesta, which is also packed with traditional dance and music and laughs, and other fun. And this is only the first night of the week! During our last stay over mid-winter break, we went to Asian Night, expecting only some good sushi and other tastes. And there was a whole theatrical production, again MC'ed by Roberto. Plush customs, dragon dancers, martial arts, fiery swords, and a lot of tongue-in-cheek humor. The story-line was kind of obscure, but hey, it was great! Roberto and his staff are also around the pools all day, engaging us in volleyball, bingo, kids activities, and other things --a whole day of fun just hanging around the pools! I want to offer a special thanks to the resident ping-pong champ (sorry, I forgot your name) for spending so much time with my son Dylan. Now, he's on fire to play ping-pong all the time! Thanks to all the staff for making our stays so fine and memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Peter:
We thank you very much for a so fabulous comment “Incredible staff make Playa Grande great!”

Come back anytime to visit us with your family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations during your next vacations!
We are glad that your experience with us is always a very pleasant one year after year and we hope that we can be of service to you again very soon.
Thank again you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff and in particular with Roberto, Ines and Bruno.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,253
    853
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,221
1,305
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, Californie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed with my family at this resort and enjoyed the entire week! This was our second year to Cabo and it has been two great years for this trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Guests from Paso Robles, Californie:

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with our Entertainment staff.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We first went to Cabo six years ago. We ended up purchasing a timeshare on the Ridge. We consider it one of the best decisions of our lives. My wife and 2 children spend a wonderful week in a suite facing the Marina, enjoying the breath-taking views, the well appointed room, the outstanding housekeeping service, and of course the beauty of Playa Grande and Cabo. Yes, we hear the dogs. But seriously, if that's what you're dwelling on maybe you should head to Disney. Is it a hike to the beach? Uh, ya I guess. But when you spend February in NY and you have a week in paradise a stroll thru the beauty of PG is a treat. As far as getting to and from the Marina I guess it would be nice to have an escalator to the Marina, but my kids were 5 when we first started going, and my wife and I are 50. We're in average shape and have no problems whatsoever navigating the walk. Again, try and enjoy your surroundings rather than focus on what's wrong. We have a great time in Cabo - the restaurants, the people, the beauty of the Baja. We're already to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajaboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guests from Pittsford:
We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Another fantastic year at the Ridge”
It is always a great pleasure to learn that our guests have a good time here in Cabo San Lucas, the weather is always so nice and people so friendly.
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to even serve you better! this is our job and we are proud to do it!
Concerning the dogs I hope that very soon we will be able to resolve the situation with the authorities.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Playa Grande staff is courteous and attentive especially; Diana - room assignment Jesus (Chewy) and Daniel bellmen and Fredy, Theo, Flavio at the Ridge pool. We tried the all-inclusive for 3 days (minimum allowed) which was expensive I thought. We had a great room for both weeks. Playa as a facility is clean and well maintained and close to the marina area and all its activities plus a short water ride to the beaches.

Room Tip: Ask fior the Ridge avoid buildings B and E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Popper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guests:

We thank you very much for your kind comment “Another fantastic stay!!”
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Diana - room assignment Jesus (Chewy), Daniel bellmen, Fredy, Theo and Flavio at the Ridge pool.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I don’t believe I have ever written a critique of a hotel but do admit that I read them thoroughly and often find the information to be most helpful when travelling, so I hope you find this helpful, especially first time visitors to Cabo. This was our third visit over the last six years. You can always depend on beautiful weather, friendly people, a safe environment and great food.
We always have elected to stay at the resorts located on the Pacific side. If you enjoy the spring break type crowds stay on the bay side. It is easy to walk or water taxi over to the other side.
For this trip we stayed one week at Playa’s “The Ridge” facility. Travelling to Cabo for us is an all-day event, thus when we arrived at the Resort we were tired. We had no issues with check-in and were told our room number was 3050 and pointed to go through a hallway. After about 20 minutes of wondering around and asking three different people, one individual knew where our room was located. I was in Building E (would have been nice if they told us this, but none of the buildings are marked anyway) and it would be helpful if they improved the signage or gave us something upon check-in showing how you need to go up and down to navigate around The Ridge. Several different websites I have printed off information indicate “all rooms have an ocean view”. This is not true. We walked into our room to find it overlooking the hotel parking lot, the street in which buses stop all day and night picking up locals and some buildings across the street. We could see the marina and the mountains which is also nice, but could not be enjoyed over the noise. We called the front desk, were promised we would be moved on Saturday, a promise they never followed through on. Unless you have a room on the same level as the Lobby plan on getting a good dose of daily exercise going up and down.
The room itself was wonderful, the bed comfortable. They have coffee for sale in the room, but NO COFFEE MAKER. They should also explain to you how the a/c unit and automatic electric control works. Since we had no view, we ended up spending all of our time out of the room. There always is a lot of chatter about individuals selling timeshares but we found if you just tell them you are not interested they leave you alone. Same is true for when you walk around the marina. The only other item to be advised on is to get up early and put your pool towel on a chair or you may end up without a place to sit at the Ridge pool. Individuals also do this at the Playa pool. It annoys many people as this seems to be a big topic of conversation around the pool. Also, there is a key operated gate that allows you to by-pass Playa’s Lobby and exit directly outside to the street from The Ridge. Why this gate is only open from Noon to midnight is beyond any explanation. It is so convenient it should be open 24 hours a day.
On a positive note, everything else was wonderful , the food at Alexander’s on the marina was wonderful, Senior Sweets is wonderful if you tired of Mexican or love gelato, but food at Ridge pool bar was also excellent.
We picked up a copy of our hotel bill the night before we checked out when we scheduled our shuttle back to the airport. Check it carefully, we found errors. I previously read that check-in and check-out took a long time, but we did not have any issues.
Lastly, the hotel arranged our shuttle back to the airport. The driver dropped us off at the terminal, never asked what airlines any of us were on. Turns out when they remodeled the airport they have some airlines departing at one building some at the other. Well, we were at the other one. Our driver had already left and we were told we would have to hire a taxi to get to the other terminal. We had time and it was about a six block walk. If you have not been to Cabo in a while, the new departure area is fantastic!

Room Tip: I think that the hotel should let you know where your room is going to be when you book it. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guests from Indianapolis, Indiana:

On behalf of The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
we really appreciate your comments, this is very important for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.9 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.6 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,631 - ₹ 21,859
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing