We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbiased Pros and Cons!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbiased Pros and Cons!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

So WOW. Definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Absolutely stunning room, service and views! So here goes:

PROS first because they are fun:

-Views!! Our room (all rooms I might add) had an amazing view of crashing aqua blue waves onto rocky cliffs and a private balcony. About two feet from our bed was a double door that slid completely open to bring the outside in. We never closed the doors or touched the thermostat or the TV. The ocean sounds and breezes were too perfect. Also from one of the pool areas, the famous arcs were viewable.

-Privacy/Seclusion!! We also stayed at the Hilton during this trip and it felt like a touristy hotel. Sirena Del Mar (or Welk Resort) made us feel as if we were the only people there. With the private balcony, the quiet pools and the limited number of rooms we truly felt secluded in paradise.

-Service!! Literally every staff member we interacted with was amazing. Room service, check in, hotel dining, and check out were all pleasant.

-Valet Service!! Free valet service for your vehicle 24/7 (and I do recommend renting a vehicle whilst in Cabo...but don't forget to haggle! You can get the prices down a lot!)

-PRICE!! Drink and food prices at the hotel were miles below those at the Hiton. For exampe at the Hiton in Cabo, we paid on averge $60 for a meal (even their breakfast buffet.) At Sirena Del Mar, we ate a nice meal for around $40 on average. Also their drinks were much cheaper.

-Location!! Sirena Del Mar is located about 5 minutes from Walmart and about 10 to 12 from downtown Cabo and the Marina.

-Extras!! We decided to get a massage on one of their balconies and paid only $85 for an hour where as the Hilton wanted $180 for an hour. The pool are all infinity pools and open 24/7 and obviously they provided towels. Also, there was beach access. Last but not least, the beds were adorned with rose petals when we arrived! Who doesn't love rose petals!?

CONS:

-Food: The food was not top notch like the rest of the hotel was. I recommend eating at the restaurant once or twice (and/or for breakfast) but make sure to explore the food in Cabo other then Sirena's restaurant.

Long story short. Visit Sirena Del Mar! OMG you will be blown away. Try to haggle or ask for a better price when booking with them. They went down quite a bit for us b/c we weren't booking on a weekend and because we said we were students on a budge.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a sweeping up close view of the Sea of Cortez crashing upon cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    262
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
348
794
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great rooms with amazing view but not "all inclusive" , is a little far from downtown so we needed to rent a car, and they never cleaned the room. Otherwise, no complaints

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

This resort is a little isolated, which made it ideal for our family to use it as a home base for seeing Cabo. Five minutes and we were in the craziness of downtown, but here it was peaceful, tranquil, and restful. We went from here to see the whales and dolphins, and we picked up groceries at Costco and Walmart. The beautiful kitchen allowed us to decide when and what to eat, which was nice.

The resort is a little unfinished, since the restaurant isn't finished yet, but the staff was great. Shout outs for Antonio, Domingo, y Francisco! We loved the quietness and can't wait to go back next year. We did experience one incident of some drunks at the hot tub, but it was handled and probably happens a lot more at the downtown hotels than here. It was Spring Break, after all.

Loved the private beach, and the place was clean and efficient. Loved it.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We LOVED this hotel! Gorgeous view, ocean-front rooms, and located halfway between downtown Cabo and San Jose del Cabo (so you're a little bit removed from the downtown Cabo chaos). We stayed here for our "Babymoon" and the hotel couldn't have been more perfect or romantic. Great for us as a couple but also appeared excellent for families (we're already talking about going back with our baby once he arrives!). We've been to Mexico many times and usually rent homes or condos through VRBO. We loved this place because it has hotel amenities (pool, restaurant) but rooms also have kitchenettes so you can cook some meals at home (we do breakfasts in and splurge on dinners at fantastic nearby restaurants). We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsayerscullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Cynical by nature, our stay at the Welks Resort Sirena Del Mar quickly and thoroughly put even my inherent doubts of staying at an unfamiliar hotel to rest and far exceeded any hopes I deigned to conceive of what I wanted our Mexican vacation to be. The list of compliments is extensive, so let's start with the location. Situated a mere five minutes from downtown Cabo San Lucas, Welks was close enough to get to Cabo's restaurants, water sports, flea markets, and clubs quickly and easily, but distant enough to be secluded and serene. (To our delight, the only sound we heard at night through our open doors was the blissfully-soothing sound of the waves.) That being said, we strongly recommend renting your own car so that taxi fees do not add up and you can make day-trips to places like Todos Santos and San Jose del Cabo (as we absolutely recommend doing, too). In addition, San Jose del Cabo is only a quick, 20-minute drive east. Appearance: the front of the hotel and lobby area are stunning without trying too hard or being gaudy. The entire property is kept immaculately clean, from the exterior, to the rooms, to the pool area, and even to the private beach cove. We stayed in a deluxe room and the decor was modern and understated with simple touches of local color and art. The room's kitchen was also amply supplied with every cooking tool needed. And the view was breathtaking. All from the privacy and comfort of our own balcony, we had unobstructed views of the Arch, the beach, and the whale-filled ocean waters. Comfort: comfortableness abounded, from the king-size bed to the patio chairs to the lounge chaises at the pool. Even the water pressure in the shower was great. Beach: the hotel has a small, private beach that's about a two-minute walk down from the pool. The sand is not that soft, but there are palapas and lounge chairs on the beach and, because it is private, vendors are prohibited, so one may sit undisturbed for as long as their drink and book last. The beach also has fantastic snorkeling, so using the hotel's snorkel gear (free, but without flippers) is highly recommended. Food and beverages: The drinks were okay, though perhaps on the lighter-end with the alcohol. We ate dinner once at the hotel and were pretty disappointed. They seemed to have too few wait staff, making the wait for our meal extensive and the quality and originality of the food left much to be desired. This was not a huge deal, but due to other similar complaints by other guests and the cost to stay at the hotel are ample reasons that this area should, without question, be remedied. In addition, each room only gets one 'serving' of coffee, so if you are coffee drinkers, bring your own as we did and you can enjoy as much coffee as you want without accruing costs just for coffee. Staff: we cannot say enough positive things about the staff who came to feel like family and friends. From being greeted upon arrival with ice-cold Coronas (an outstanding surprise and treat) to the promptness of the the bellhops and the helpfulness (for requests, suggestions, etc.) of everyone, the friendliness and efforts of the staff were what - even with all the other pluses our experience - made our stay. In particular, Domingo and Antonio, you are fantastic and hope that, whenever you come to Portland, OR, you will look us up and let us extend equal hospitality and kindnesses. Welks, you are incredibly lucky to have someone as hard-working and genuine as Domingo. We had the most spectacular stay and eagerly look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Corner suites afford more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
3.6 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.1 km away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.6 km away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
5.3 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Property: Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,661 - ₹ 48,834
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing