We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
287
244
79
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
244
79
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabo wabo nice pool rooms are very basic secure parking quaint hotel purified water mexican hotel extra days walking distance to everything watch tv central location two blocks free breakfast location is great taco air conditioner el squid roe
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We are only staying one night. We have been here years ago and wanted to re-live our first visit. What came as a wonderful surprise is the quality of the food at dinner! I would never have known that they had a dinner menu. I had the special which included a glass of wine, flavourful tortilla soup and a main course of which you had a list of choices from which I chose the prawns wrapped in bacon in what they call a cream cheese sauce. This was for 25.00 US. Which for a better meal in Cabos is a good deal! And this was definitely one of the better meals I have had on my numerous trips to Cabos. The prawns were baked perfectly. My only minor negative comment was that the vegetables, which were the side, were overcooked. I also had their freshly made dessert which was equivalent to A creme brûlée -Mexican style. It melt in your mouth! My husband had a chicken quesadilla as he claimed he was not that hungry. The quesadilla was large enough to feed 2 people and according to him, “very good!” Regardless if we stay here in the future, we are definitely coming back for the food and the very cozy and welcoming atmosphere in the dining room. And clearly from the number Of people coming in and out of the dining area, others have the same feeling about the good food here. Apparently they also have a very well priced happy hour which runs from 5 to 6 so you can eat and drink to your delight.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smilinggrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you, smilinggrace, for your recent review. And especially thank you for your elaborate review of our El Cortez Restaurant. We have been getting many favorable comments about our restaurant and seeing it here on Trip Advisor is great. Thank you for sharing your cuisine experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

My husband & I visit this property 3-4 time per year. It was originally recommended to us by an expat friend who lives in Cabo. The poolside rooms we have stayed in are large & comfortable but simple. No TVs. Beds are firm but we always sleep well. The bar & wait staff are wonderfully friendly & breakfast is very good. We love the location & have introduced more of our friends to the property. Every time we come they have made some improvements - AC units, pool loungers, railing near pool etc... We can't wait to come back to our home away from home again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms away from main entrance are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cascole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you, cascole, for your recent review. With all of your visits you are definitely family to us. And we have many guests who return two or three times a year. We like to think of all of our guests as family... our motto is 'Mi Casa es Su Casa'. My house is your house. Your detailed input will help others as well. Thanks again, and we'll see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

A great value in the heart of downtown.
Shopping, restaurants, bars, & the marina are all less than a 10 minute walk away.
Very friendly staff, clean rooms, prompt maid service.
Small peeve: Not all of the mattresses are of the same firmness. Fortunately, each of us did have one that suited us.
The food in their restaurant is surprising good, we could have happily eaten every meal there, but we wanted to explore other restaurants.
Even during the weekends when the whole of downtown is one loud party, this hotel is an oasis of calm.

Room Tip: Room 404 (2nd floor) has the best view of the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank touchup2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you, touchup2017, for your recent review. We are so glad you had a great experience staying with us and thanks for your upbeat review of our restaurant as well. Re the mattresses, it's interesting... we just had a guest contact us wanting to know where they could purchase a mattress like the one they had staying with us. They loved theirs. All of your information is helpful to those looking for a comfortable, quiet, unique place to stay in downtown Cabo. We look forward to your return, and thanks again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Spent a week at Mar de Cortez. It has a great atmosphere and you won't get a better place for the cost. The pool/bar is a nice touch. The location is excellent and close to everything you'd need in Cabo. I'll definitely be booking there again.

Room Tip: End of the hotel overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank murraywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you, murraywright, for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to your return. We do believe you get bargain rates for a whole lot... pool, restaurant, bar, air conditioning, TV's in some rooms, centrally located in downdown Cabo AND... good ole warm Mexican hospitality and service. Thanks again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This beautifully manicured, quaint little hotel , is a refreshing place to stay! The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the pool and grounds are beautiful. Thank you for the new comfy loungers, too! The restaurant has amazing food ( we've stopped by for breakfasts when staying at other hotels!). But the staff tops it all off! I need to mention some special people (sorry in advance, if I forget anyone) Martha and Ana at reception are so friendly and accommodating. My husband had business to do while in Mexico and I phoned Ana in advance and she had researched places for him. Much appreciated! Also, thanks to Daniel, our bell man, and Alex who always tries to have conversation with us.The other Ana keeps the grounds impeccable, with a smile every day and a hug for us. The great team of Reggie, Janet,Carlos, Jorge, Giovanni, Gerardo kept the restaurant running smoothly, with it's awesome breakfasts and happy hours! Thanks to Lucia for keeping our room lovely every day. And a final thanks to Nat, who has always made our reservation with every detail in place when we arrive.
We always stay at an lovely AI for 1 week , but I would recommend this hotel for a welcome change! We're already booked for January and looking forward to seeing everyone again!
Cheers, Pat and Shannon!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you, patshan, for your review after your most recent stay with us. And thank you, too, for mentioning all the names of the staff who seldom get recognized for all that they do. We so appreciate you and it's folks like you who put smiles on our faces for all. Your message has been forwarded to management. See you in January and thanks so much... again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews