We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction not so Bad”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver,WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Construction not so Bad”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Most of what I read about this hotel before leaving PDX referred to the loud construction going on all day. Well, I can't see that as a problem if you are out enjoying the day with all there is to do in Cabo. I think most these trip advisors are pretty jaded and tend to snivel too much. True there is construction and will be for another year but get out of the hotel and enjoy. The hotel was just fine and had all one could ask for.
until next time.
B

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b8teee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    525
    196
    98
    56
See reviews for
336
825
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Traveler beware. The photos that are still being shown on the web-site are PRE-CONSTRUCTION. Gone are the two story units all facing the ocean. Gone is the quiet, secluded, intimate vacation experience. My husband and I lucked out on finding this resort and had returned for three years from 2006. We made friends each visit from next door neighbors and pool buddies. Wasn't pretentious and what some may have considered lack of amenities was more than made up for by waking up and watching the sunrise each morning, watching sunset from our balcony, and falling asleep to the sound of the waves To our dismay and disappointment the mighty dollar won out and this tranquil, beautiful laid back resort is no more, If you are the type of person who likes BIG and BUSY, then the new Solmar will be right up your alley.
My rating for the hotel is based on what WAS, not what is. We can't go back., Farewell dear Solmar. We loved you.
Esto girl

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Our first time to Cabo and what a great place to stay as an introduction. We had a private beach - yeah, no venders! The staff was very friendly, nice and accomodating. We knew going that the hotel in undergoing construction, so we were forewarned. Our room faced right on to the beach and was a very short walk to the hotel, outdoor, Tejabol Bar. Our patio opened on to the sand, so we could walk the 100 yards of beach to the water's edge.

We enjoyed the 3/4 mile walk into town. It was not vigorous, but was good for us to walk off all the food and rink we had! And as we went over the small rise on the walk, we had a view of the marina and town.

Inside our room we did not hear the construction. There was construction in front our room, but not a big deal. It is a huge beach!

The hotel food was expensive, but aren't most hotel restaurants?

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkenn1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I've visted a couple of different places in Cabo, but I can still say that I love Solmar the best. The people are so nice, warm, and are always at your beck and call. You can tell they want you to have a great experience They keep the place clean, beautiful, and meticulous; from the beautiful foliage to the pools. The location is just amazing. It's perfect to me. From your balcony you can hear the waves crashing, and your sitting right by a quiet, sparkling beach all to yourself. You are a 5 minute walk to great restaurants, the harbour and markets. Solamar's simplicity doesn't take away from the beauty of Cabo, it complements it. I stay there every time I go and wouldn't ever have it any other way.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Although I have been to Mexico many times and stayed at many resorts, Solmar Resort in Cabo is my favorite. This is a gracious, luxurious and exclusive resort where guests (timeshare owners) are treated especially well. After the long plane rides, the usual indignities of the airport and the hot shuttle ride, you are welcomed in the lobby with a sincere greeting and offered a cold towel. Instead of waiting in a long line to check in, you are invited to sit at the bar and enjoy a drink, and soak in the incomparable view of the ocean, while your bags are whisked away to your suite, and you are handed your room key.

The service is outstanding – friendly, attentive, and the staff remembers your name - year after year (I have been coming to this resort for the past 10 years). The pools are uncrowded, the sun warm, the pace leisurely. The grounds are meticulously groomed and there are flowering bougainvillea and hibiscus wherever you look. The sun baked, sandy beach is secluded and ends at huge rocky cliffs at the far left, the white-capped waves of the ocean extending on forever – it makes you feel like you were in a postcard.

Everyone here went out of their way to make our vacation special – our suite was a large, elegantly furnished one bedroom apartment with traditional Mexican white walls, touched with vibrant aqua and green friezes, folk art, comfortable furnishings, two bathrooms and a complete kitchen. The views of the ocean, both from our room and the pools were breathtaking. There is a lap pool with a marlin mosaic worked into the tiling on the bottom where we lazed away the days. We then enjoyed the sunset at the pool bar with a tasty drink. The food at the restaurant was excellent, the drinks “fully loaded”, and the hotel manager sent a lovely gift basket up to our room.

Whereas many beaches are over-run by the ever-present locals peddling cigars, fishing, jewelry,etc., the Solmar beach is very private and stretches on unbroken, so one can enjoy the sunset or the waves in peace. Although there was construction going on – it was unobtrusive and did not impact us in the slightest. We were concerned about the noise, but it simply was not an issue.

Although there is the “encouragement” to attend a timeshare presentation, there is no pressure. In fact, our timeshare host, Johnny, was entertaining and charming, and seemed to know everyone and everything in Cabo. He acted as our host at the cocktail party, and generally made sure everyone at the resort was having fun.

If you don’t want to be jostled into a crowded, noisy, cluttered, harried Mexican monstrosity, come to Solmar, where you will be treated like a VIP. I would definitely recommend it as a top resort destination to families, young couples, older couples and people seeking a relaxing get away. (In fact, I have already made plans to return in April!)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartshopper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.4 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,117 reviews
1.5 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
840 reviews
1.1 km away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,705 reviews
6.9 km away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
2.2 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,866 - ₹ 18,440
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing