We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lots of food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar

Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar
Ranked #18 of 533 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mexican, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Desperados Tex-Mex BBQ Restaurant, also known as Desperados Restaurant & Cantina specializes in Sports & Food! We are a family friendly BBQ Tex-Mex Restaurant and Sports Bar. Our menu includes something for everyone, including Homemade Tortilla Soup, Fall Off The Bone BBQ Pork Ribs, Sizzling Tequila Fajitas served on a hot plate, Fried Ice Cream that's freshly fried in the kitchen and decorated with your favorite toppings table side and much more. We have 10 flat screen TV's that you can enjoy your favorite sports on, and YES, we will have your game! Indoor and outdoor dining available, full bar with an extensive Margarita list, free WiFi, and a boutique to purchase your Desperados T Shirt before heading home. Our house Margarita is made with fresh squezzed lime juice from organic limes and the Gran Jurado Tequila, the best Margaritas in Cabo. We have daily Happy Hour Specials 12-5pm like $1 Mimosas. Live music every Tuesday Evening. Reservations accepted daily and walk ins welcome. Make yourself at home at Desperados and bring your friends with you! We look forward to your visit.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We orderd nachos and wow they were huge. It was our appetizer and could of been our dinner for us and the people next to us. The food was good and the service was excellent. Not to pricey.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chan_Marissa-Peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    143
    59
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Bernard, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great nachos & big-screened TVs for sporting events”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stopped in here for a mid-afternoon snack & to catch the Belmont horse race on the many big-screen TVs. The place was large, easy-to-find, very clean, & had a nice atmosphere. The tower of nachos was almost too pretty to break into, & would easily serve 4 people. Also had some good calamari & drinks. Best of all -- we got to meet The Man -- the unofficial CSL ambassador & welcomer to all things Cabo -- tacCabo! All-in-all, it was a great experience & we'd recommend this place. We'll be back! Next time, we want to definitely try the table-side guacamole & bananas foster!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ByTheSea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but Touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This restaurant does an EXCELLENT margarita, but we found the food to be average/good. The atmosphere is a bit dark, but is nice that there is live music there. We preferred a more authentic mexican restaurant, so that was the part of Desperados that disappointed us.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing All-Around!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I don't even know where to begin with this place. The food, location, atmosphere inside, drinks, prices, & service were all out-standing!!!

We started with the nachos, and let's just say they had to come home with us. There is no-way 2 people are finishing that plate. Soooooo good!!! My girlfriend ordered the chicken enchiladas which she really didn’t each much of, because she was so stuffed from the nachos. I got the beef chimi-changa and O-M-G! Get it, get two of them and bring one home. It was delicious. We then split their fried ice-cream and I don’t think I could ever make my own GF as happy as that fried ice-cream did!!!

The drinks were very good as well and reasonably priced. The service was very good, but the cherry on top was the live guitar music. I don’t know who he was, but he just started jamming some classic rock acoustic instrumentals that were both soothing and amazing!!!

I recommend this place to everyone and anyone!!! I will 150% go back here when in Cabo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nachos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and ordered the nachos. People aren't kidding when they say these will feed 4, it would easily feed more! There were only 2 of us and we barely made a dent but they were fantastic!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGJSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing