We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge
Main bedroom The side terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The lounge
Main bedroom
The side terrace
The dining area of the kitchen
Front View
The rear terrace
The lounge 2
Bedroom 2
The snug(living room)
Looking out from the snug over the hills
Our back garden
Falcon range
Front elevation
Lounge newly refurbished
The Hall(splash of of tartan)
The parking area(plenty space for your porsche)
view from the deck over rear garden
the lochside 2miles away
rear garden view down the valley
View from the front garden
our front garden
The lochside 2 miles away.
canoe on the loch
end of another lovely day
Log Burner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strachur, Cairndow, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GizmoGilb...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in a stunning location”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a great place (and its dog friendly)! Everything you could possibly want or need was there.
Very clean, very comfortable and very tastefully decorated; no stairs for Grandad, so he was happy. Snug with PS3 and huge loft bedroom for 11 year old Son ; he was even happier!
Great position, tranquil location with excellent amenities and eateries close by.
Inver Cottage restaurant / tea room, a comfortable walk / short drive from Lodge; we ate there twice, great food and even better service.
So many walks, for all abilities, on the doorstep and further afield; each different, each beautiful but by far our favourite was Pucks Glen ..... it was simply magical (not a walk for Grandad though).
We stay at a number of self catering properties each year, in Europe and the UK and we all agreed that Strathlachlan Lodge was the one of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, including the week of sunshine !
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jbass1
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure chillout!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a lovely week here in July, admittedly helped by fabulous weather. Pure pleasure sitting on the decking in the sunshine enjoying peace and quiet and watching the wildlife. Area is amazing, with stunning scenery. Good places to eat within a short drive. Lodge very comfortable - even with 8 adults there some times - and well equipped. When everyone was there we could have done with an extra loo in the mornings, but that's about the only downside we came across, and we knew to expect that. Would definitely like to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - perfect for what we wanted, but car essential
Liked least: Very little - maybe lack of ensuites or the Scottish midges!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubble4
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable Lodge”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeklong stay, just wish it was more! Holidaying, were our family of four, sister and our parents. Dad has very limited mobility and was able to access all areas of the lodge, which made everyone’s time here more pleasant! The lodge is well designed, with 3 bedrooms and 2 sitting rooms, which meant we were all able to have our own space. Each room is bright, tastefully decorated and comfortable. Although dogs are allowed, it is very hard to tell, as the decoration and furnishings are beautifully maintained. The team here clearly work hard. I cannot think of anything we were in need of; the lodge is definitely a “home from home” and has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including views and peace and quiet! The teenagers were kept entertained of an evening with access to wi-fi and PS3.
The lodge is situated ideally for hiking and exploring this beautiful area of Scotland. We had some lovely days out and a number of long and short walks, both from the doorstep and a car ride away. We spotted a number of deer from the windows and plenty of the local birdlife.
Locally, there a number of small eateries and a small store selling necessities, but it can be expensive . I would therefore recommend taking as much of your weekly grocery shop with you, especially if arriving later in the day, as restaurants book up quickly and/or are closed on certain days and the shop closes at 6.00pm.
I would recommend this lodge to anyone and would not hesitate to stay again, should we return to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, clean living accomodation
Liked least: lack of local amenities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorryD007
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in stunning location, if it had snowed it would have been perfect!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rent a different house every year for our New Year break and this house was one of the best. The furniture, fixtures and fittings were of a high standard and the house was very clean. The views to the front and back were stunning during the day and also on a clear night, a blanket of stars all around us with an occasional shooting star to be seen. Great place for lovely walks and well as rest and relaxation. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, deceptively spacious property in quiet yet easily accessable location...”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Spacious with superb furnishings and very comfortable. Loved the balcony which is ideal for sun downers as well as firing up the BBQ. The mosquito eater did a good job of keeping the pests at bay.... Location off the beaten track which forces a change of pace. An easy drive down to picturesque Inver Cottage and Otter Ferry which are both a must... Village shop at Strachur supplies awesome fresh baked bread roles and has reasonable selection of fresh and frozen foods to keep you going. The Lodge seems to be a new property for holiday lets and the owners are very accommodating and very helpful... A lovely holiday cottage which we would really recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comformtable furnishings and balcony...
Liked least: Was not made aware of difficult access to the twin room upstairs. Would be impossible for any physically handicap person or dangerous for young children...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing