We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
60
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room cabot trail family room nice deck the kitchen great recommendations the owner great place to stay cape breton island dawn groceries canada guitar cheticamp washroom stories queen
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I stayed here for 5 days and it felt like home away from home and home was 18 hours away. As soon as we arrived we felt at home. Very comfortable. Felt like visiting family, a warm home quality. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. I would absolutely recommend this accommodation and would stay here again on our next trip through the cabot trail. Thank you for adding to our wonderful memories of the Cabot Trail.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We are both 55 years old and stayed here with our son who is 21. When we got there we weren't too sure as to what we got ourselves into but once booked we were pleased. We rented a family room that came with two doubles with a regular twin bunk on top. The furnishings are older but were fine for us. This is a hostel not a five star hotel.
The hostel has two bathrooms with showers and two kitchens (one peanut free) in the main lodge. There is a separate building for the shared rooms. This one also had a bathroom with shower. Upon check-in you are given your linens. Towels and face cloths can be rented for 1$. They have books you can borrow and lots of games to play. There's even a guitar if you wanted to play a tune.
We never had an issue with noise, use of the kitchen or washroom and parking. There were some spiders but those were cleaned up the next day. There are many nearby hiking trails. Our favorite by far was the Jack Pine trail. We picked up groceries in a little town before the hostel. I would recommend this since there's no grocery store there.
The owner was very pleasant and helpful if you had any questions. Being our first time staying at a hostel I was apprehensive about our food in the fridge but no need to worry. All was good. There was even an area that said free where you can leave the food you don't want to take back with you.
This hostel books very fast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank blaro2NiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

A great hostel located in a central area for those wanting to explore the cabot trail and the Cape Breton highlands national park. The hostel isn't staffed during the day so it was a little tricky to confirm our booking however the staff answer their phone messages promptly and record a new message advising of availability every day.
There are two kitchens, one which is peanut free and the room we stayed in (a family room which was a bunk bed and a queen) was very roomy, clean and bright.
They have outdoor BBQ facilities abd a nice deck to enjoy your meal on as well.
Lots of boardgames were available and reliable fast wifi connection was provided as well.
All in all, great place to stay while in Cape Breton Island

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Quinn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The hostel is located on the tip of the Cabot Trail, far away from Cheticamp where there are an abundance of food places. Take note that there are very few amenities near the hostel and its a 20 minute drive to the Skyline trail. Pretty sketchy location because its quite isolated (there is no cell reception there but there is wifi), and there is a cemetary a few metres from the hostel. Nonetheless, its a clean and decent place but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chelsc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The hostel is great. Dawn, the lady that runs the show is incredibly friendly, and exceptionally knowledgeable about the area. She was able to answer all of our questions and make a few really great recommendations that made our trip excellent. The room was clean, comfortable and the hostel itself was the same. I would definitely recommend the Cabot Trail Hostel for any budget conscientious traveller.

Room Tip: Bring your own food if you arrive after 7. Everything will be closed ; )
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews