We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
60
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room cabot trail family room nice deck the kitchen great recommendations the owner great place to stay cape breton island dawn groceries canada guitar cheticamp stories washroom queen
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I ended up staying at the hostel toward the end of their season. Dawn was a great host! She is friendly and helpful host. She was full of great recommendations on hikes and picturesque locations. The hostel has a great set up with 2 sets of kitchens and good common areas. She encourages the guests to interact by hosting games or activities or campfires. This is especially helpful because there is not much from a nightlife perspective in this area except for the fun you create yourself.

Room Tip: The private rooms are very good for a hostel
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLTraveler98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I had an excellent experience staying at the HI Cabot Trail. Dawn and Shane are very friendly and offer knowledgable insight into local events and activities. The hostel is kept very clean, is spacious and offers home like amenities. Overall a well run place and very affordable!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Good hostel which was very clean! Bunkhouse was good and cleaned regularly
Friendly host and great location. Two separate kitchen areas and enough space to be out of people's way.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is a wonderful hostel - there's a big bunkhouse as well as smaller dorms and private rooms. There are two fully-equipped kitchens and a bbq on a deck. There's also a fire pit which everyone is welcome to use! Dawn at the hostel is the most wonderful host you could ever have - so friendly, welcoming, and has a wealth of knowledge about the area which she is very happy to share. I highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bethea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Cabot Trail hostel! It exceeded our expectations, and we would happily go back! :-) the host was incredible, she helped us along the way and was very service minded. Location is nice as well, close to the hiking trails, Rusty Anchor (with incredible lobster rolls!) and whale watching that guarantee whales ;-)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jenny Emilie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews