We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
60
26
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
26
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room enjoyed my stay bunk house whale watching cabot trail family room rusty anchor nice deck the owner the kitchen local knowledge great place to stay cape breton island free wifi dawn bunkhouse groceries
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I had an excellent experience staying at the HI Cabot Trail. Dawn and Shane are very friendly and offer knowledgable insight into local events and activities. The hostel is kept very clean, is spacious and offers home like amenities. Overall a well run place and very affordable!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Good hostel which was very clean! Bunkhouse was good and cleaned regularly
Friendly host and great location. Two separate kitchen areas and enough space to be out of people's way.
Would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is a wonderful hostel - there's a big bunkhouse as well as smaller dorms and private rooms. There are two fully-equipped kitchens and a bbq on a deck. There's also a fire pit which everyone is welcome to use! Dawn at the hostel is the most wonderful host you could ever have - so friendly, welcoming, and has a wealth of knowledge about the area which she is very happy to share. I highly recommend staying here!!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bethea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at Cabot Trail hostel! It exceeded our expectations, and we would happily go back! :-) the host was incredible, she helped us along the way and was very service minded. Location is nice as well, close to the hiking trails, Rusty Anchor (with incredible lobster rolls!) and whale watching that guarantee whales ;-)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jenny Emilie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stay there for one night in a private room. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room is quiet cozy and clean. The washroom and kitchen are tidy as well. What you can feel in the hostel is comfortable and relaxation.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ying-Hsun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews