We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
60
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room cabot trail family room nice deck the kitchen great recommendations the owner great place to stay cape breton island dawn groceries canada guitar cheticamp washroom stories queen
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hostel on our August trip. Me, my wife and my two girls, one just turned to 3, one was only 7-month old at the time we travelled. The place was very clean, comfortable, welcoming. Dawn even prepared toys and storybooks, even a crib for my little girls. We very much appreciated. The kitchen has a lots of utensils and we only need to bring foods for cooking. We had a great time during the stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ak49jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I spent two nights at the hostel in September 2012. I stayed in the four person dorm off the back kitchen. The facilities are easy to use (the kitchen cupboards are all labeled), incredibly clean, and the company was very friendly. Dawn, who manages the hostel, is welcoming, funny, and, most of all, full of good ideas of how to spend your time in Pleasant Bay and beyond. I'd consider this a relaxing base for all sorts of Cape Breton NP adventures.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buen_Viaje1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

had a wonderful time, place is very nice, but the company is even better! having nothing bad to say! only great things !!! suggest it 100 out of 10! they even had fresh herbs out back that you can use if you would like, thought that was pretty cool

Room Tip: its a hostel so doesnt matter...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at HI Cabot Trail for 2 nights as part of our Salty Bear Tour. We loved it - clean, welcoming and a country home feel to the place. The hostel's manager, Dawn, was helpful and extremely hospitable. Not to mention the resident hummingbirds on the back porch. Short stroll to the beach! We had a great time with Salty Bear Tour: Mike (guide) and Allison (manager) were professional, humorous and made our tour so comfortable. Allison made a lovely lobster dinner (everything was home made!). Mike accommodated our requests & made us a bonfire. We spotted 6 mooses, 2 of them were up close and personal. Cabot Trail was indeed unforgettable!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This place was booked ot the rafters and I was relieved we had reserved the family room a month in advance! The manager is so friendly and helpful, even in helpnig us find accommodations for other nights when the weather ruined our next night's camping plans in another region. Wold have stayed here but they were booked!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siulaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews