We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Cycling Trail with great views.

My wife and I feel very fortunate to have enjoyed cycling most of the trail. It is well maintained... read more

Reviewed 15 July 2016
John E
via mobile
Bike the Crescent Valley to Passmore section!

My family of four biked this trail, including two daughters aged 4 & 8 (little one was on a... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2016
elana74
,
Vancouver, Canada
via mobile
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is a very well maintained and easy trail to ride one way from South Slocan to Slocan with car shuttle. We thought it very scenic from South Slocan to Winlaw or a little beyond but became bored riding thru corridors of trees in the heat for roughly the last third of the ride. The experience is very different than the KVR and Columbia & Western and definitely not rural. It's a good complement for a week of rail trail riding.

Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I feel very fortunate to have enjoyed cycling most of the trail. It is well maintained and signed and has several spots to stop in and enjoy the hospitality of the local restaurants. We applaud the communities and the BC government that have supported the trail. Definately a highlight for us on this adventure.

1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

My family of four biked this trail, including two daughters aged 4 & 8 (little one was on a trail-a-bike). This section offered beautiful vistas of the Slocan river and the the lush landscape. It was truly stunning, and one of the highlights of our visit to the West Kootenays.

3  Thank elana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Trail is in excellent condition. We towed out little guy in the chariot and the trail wasn't too bumpy. We parked and then rode 23 km. My husband hitch hiked back to get our vehicle.

2  Thank keen72762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Walking, bicycling, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing from Crescent Valley to Slocan. Spectacular forest and river views all year round, Trumpeter swans from December to March up between Lemon Creek and Slocan. Cross-Country ski trails groomed so well and regularly by the wonderful Rail Trail Society volunteers. Check the website for 'Days on the Trail' when company and hot chocolate abound and you can even become a member! (Not necessary for using the trail) It is public and open to all. Well worth a trip to the Slocan Valley!

Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Friends and I trail run during the summer and cross country ski during the winter along the rail trail. The trails are well maintained and beautiful every season. Perfect for a walk or ski and then lunch at Frog Peak Cafe.

1  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

If you enjoy trail riding or geocaching this is a great trail. We stayed at Slocan at a B&B and had a fantastic time on the trail. A good ride is Slocan to Winlaw and back.

Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The Slocan Valley Rail Trail has no more than a 3% grade from Crescent Valley to Slocan, is groomed well during the snow season by volunteers with a great packing and cross-country ski tracking machine. It is great for walking and bicycle and horseback riding at all other times of year. The Trail runs along the Slocan River and through wonderful forests and have vistas and viewpoints all along, with benches on occasion to rest and watch fish,birds and in the winter, the Trumpeter Swans who come to winter north of Lemon Creek.

2  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

We live right beside it, however the views along the river and fields are great. They track set the trail in winter for the x country skiers, summer is great for bikes, horses, walking, our section is non motorized. I am referring to the section from Winlaw North.

Thank RobynG178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Running along the river, there are only a few sections where you cannot see the water with the soaring mountains behind it. It is an old railway, so the grade is very gradual and the curves very wide. Perfectly safe for children. I rode my road bike on it. A hybrid or mountain bike would be preferable, but a bumpy ride on a road bike works too.

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews