We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Perfect escape for six"”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the Cottage with village location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the Cottage with village location
Sitting room Sitting room with open fire. Initial basket of logs provided
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Front of the Cottage with village location
Sitting room
Sitting room with open fire. Initial basket of logs provided
Kitchen with Aga cooker, fridge freezer and dishwasher
Dining room
Main bedroom with ensuite bathroom - all recently refurbished
Twin bedroom
Main bathroom with shower over bath. All recently refurbished
Twin bedroom
Court yard at back of cottage with parking for up to two cars
Lawned area at the rear. Great for children to play in
Village location
Ripon Market place 7 miles away
Fountains Abbey 5 miles away
Bettys Cafe Harrogate 15 miles away
Village Pub with food
Front garden of the cottage
Tour de France going through Yorkshire 2014
Black Sheep brewery Masham
York 33 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnedwar...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Perfect escape for six"”
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Hillcrest Cottage is in a ideal location for exploring the beautiful and stunning scenery of North Yorkshire. Spacious and comfortable accommodation which was spotlessly clean throughout . Nice quiet village location with all amenities within easy walking distance....definitely recommend a visit to the butchers. All in all a lovely stay that fully warrants another visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2018
So glad to know you had a good stay and enjoyed the local area. We would love to have you to stay again.
Ilona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonp534
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely fully equipped Yorkshire Cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed over christmas 2018 and the cottage was perfect. The cottage is in a great location with parking. It is large and beautifully appointed.The kitchen had all you'd need for a family stay. The butchers is fantastic and <5 minutes walk. The pub and shop are not so good, but useful ammenities.
Great walking from the house and washing machine very useful for cleaning those dirty socks and trousers.
Only drawbacks are the pump in en-suite (we closed the door and used main bathroom then it stopped going all night) and fire in dining room which fills house with smoke.
Neither of these are major problems and this is one of the nicest cottages we've stayed in!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Glad to hear that you enjoyed Christmas in my cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie M
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming,delightful house with all you could ask for!”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Friends and I stayed at Hillcrest House and fell in love with it! It is the quintessential English cottage from a storybook BUT with all the modern conveniences! It has a lovely updated charming kitchen, large bedrooms and beautiful very updated bathrooms, a cozy sitting room and dining room that we enjoyed so much. It is furnished with interesting antiques and beautiful drapes. Kitchen has a fabulous Aga (and microwave) and the the laundry room has a washer and extra toilet room on first floor. The house is immaculately clean. Location is perfect for touring the Yorkshire Dales and Moors, Harrogate, York and even the coast.
We hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you Valerie, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to have you back.
Ilona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanny6065...
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most excellent rental ever”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We found the rental delightfully homelike and filled with surprising and engaging features. The mouse man furniture Crafted of real oak was simply beautiful and something not found in America. The woodworking skills and art took my breath away. The counter tops likewise were everywhere a feast for the eye and touch. The oven was a central thrill of the kitchen, recovering fond memories of life in a home where the kitchen was cost and central. We spent hours together in the living room snuggled, conversing and drinking in the spaces.
Nothing was left to chance, everything we would possibly want or need was provided. Even the dinnerware was expensive and beautiful.
Bedrooms and baths were as wonderful, if not more so than the floors below. Modern, beautiful and with wonderful hot water for shower or bath after the nippy Yorkshire outings. Only warning given is of the short doorways which tend to strike a six footer in the forehead if not attentive.
We plan to return to York as it seems truly a heavenly part of England. Pubs everywhere serve meals that are without equal. And the people about are about the most charming I have met anywhere in the world. I have been dragged away from some of most engaging of conversation and options.
We are from Hawaii and Yorkshire and this cottage is our paradise.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you very much for your very complementary review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Hillcrest and the surrounding area. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and thank you for leaving it so clean and tidy.
Ilona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin T
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hillcrest is a tastefully decorated and well equipped cottage and a real home from home. Kirkby Malzeard is a lovely friendly village with an excellent butchers and store. An ideal base for visiting all the best places in North Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homely atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in my cottage, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Do hope you might come again sometime.
Ilona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing