We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Miguel's best kept secret.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“San Miguel's best kept secret.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel is to me one of those cherished charming places that remain in your heart and memory for many reasons...spectacular views, magical gardens, stylish yet cozy interiors, but above all the warmth, familiarity and attention to details that the Cordelli family and the always friendly staff have to offer. If in San Miguel for the first time, or a recurrent visitor,alone ,in a honey moon or with family Casa Chuck it's simply a place not to miss experiencing. It represents the best of what this legendary town has to offer.

Room Tip: Second floor are always my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    58
    14
    15
    3
See reviews for
50
191
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I booked this Hotel for the pool, (and paid extra) I heard it was hot in the afternoon in San Miguel and thought it would be awesome to jump in the pool after a morning of walking through this magical little town, but the water was freezing!!! My friend ventured and jumped in and was out after five minutes, needless to say she got a little cold.
Other than that the place is beautiful our room was incredible, the staff was excellent, the views from the roof top were incredible!!!
The fact that is only ten rooms made it more intimate, we got to meet other fellow travelers, and talked about our adventures of the day before at breakfast time. That was fabulous.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: La Biblioteca is the only one with an extra bed in case you are traveling with 2 others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaSchuck1, Owner at Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Unfortunately these lovely guests arrived when our pool heating system was broken, as we are awaiting our new Solar solution for the pool and the entire hacienda. We are in the midst of changing our hotel to a " Green Hotel " , striving to reduce our " Carbon Footprint " by creating a carbon neutral hotel with high quality carbon offsets. Again, sorry for the inconvenience and we hope that you will come back and visit us at Casa Schuck boutique hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Where do I begin? Our experience with Casa Schuck, its owners Susan and Chuck, and all of CS's staff was top notch and flawless! I've traveled a lot and I can say with a certainty that our experience with Casa Schuck and owners and staff will never be forgotten!

My husband and I fell in love with San Miguel and with Casa Schuck and held our wedding there months after our initial visit to both city and hotel. We were looking for an intimate setting with an authentic Mexican feel and we were not disappointed! The hotel is a converted colonial Spanish home that is a feast for the eyes - rich colors, beautiful detailing, lots of character and heaps of charm. Casa Schuck retains a lot of its old Mexican charm but is as comfortable and clean as any 5 star corporate stay. Its location is also key, it is well situated far enough on a hill that you can avail yourself of the incredible view of the city but close enough that you can still walk to the city center in about 6 minutes.

Staff and owners alike are incredible. Owners Susan and Chuck love what they do and it shows. They are naturally affable folks who are incredibly hospitable and open both their hotel and hearts to you. Even though we were staying in a beautiful boutique hotel, we felt as if we were staying with old friends. They literally bent over backwards (seriously, Chuck did a back bend ;)) to make sure that all of our needs were met. Having hosted weddings for many years, Susan and Chuck helped guide us through all the bumps and last minute craziness inherent in all weddings.

Casa Schuck's hotel staff was just as amazing. Such kind and warm staff with great hearts who went the extra mile each time to ensure that our needs were tended to (as well as our non-hotel wedding guests).

If you're considering a wedding of less than 100 guests, I highly recommend Casa Schuck. If you're fortunate, Susan will be available to help streamline your wedding planning (simultaneously shaving years off of your life)! We had an incredible wedding planner (Guadalupe of Penzi Weddings) and Susan worked with Guadalupe with some odds and ends for our planning and as mentioned, both Susan and Chuck helped with the wedding coordination, day of, before and after. We held our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception at Casa Schuck (originally planned to have the rehearsal at their sister hotel Casa Cordelli but had it moved to Schuck last minute due to last minute weather) and even though both events were in the same courtyard, it was transformed to look completely different each time. Point being, you could easily have your entire wedding at Casa Schuck and you would not be disappointed!

Our wedding guests have not stopped commenting on the incredible time they had in San Miguel, Casa Schuck, and their experience with owners and staff!

In short, whether you're looking for a place to stay or to host any event, I highly recommend Casa Schuck for any occasion. Great service, gorgeous accommodations, beautiful views, perfect location and best of all, all the people of Casa Schuck made our stay, our wedding and our guests' experiences a memory of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Website is very accurate and feel free to email the hotel to expound upon details. Do yourself a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishnishsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is the best B&B we have ever been to. Perfect service, gorgeous room, spectacular views, stunning property in the heart of San Miguel all within walking distance to all the best restaurants and shops, plus El Jardin the historic center of town. This was truly an unforgettable experience. We spent a week at Casa Schuck and immediately felt right at home, in fact we acted like it was our home!! Our room El Royal was spacious and had a private balcony that provided the best view of San Miguel. The warm, charming manner of the staff - Guillermo, Alicia, and Alfredo will make your visit at Casa Schuck beyond expectations. We would not hesitate to recommend Casa Schuck to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in El Royal the very best room at Casa Schuck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbielally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Mu husband and I spent 6 nights at Casa Schuck. In San Miguel de Allende, location is key - you should be far enough up the hill to have a view, but not so far as to require cabs everyday. By that measure, Casa Schuck is perhaps the best-located hotel in the city. It is also very safe - we had not a moment's worry walking back at night.

We initially stayed in El Cielo, a bright room at the top of the inn, with an outstanding view of the city of San Miguel de Allende. Just outside the door was an almost-private extended terrace with tables and chairs where one could have a drink and take in the extraordinary view.

Later, when an unexpected plumbing problem arose, in order not to inconvenience us, we were moved to El Royal, a large suite just below El Cielo. This room also had fabulous views, as well as a totally private balcony with seating. At night, the view of the city, with its twinkling lights, stars and moon above, was just magical.

The beds were all very comfortable and the inn provides a decanter of purified water for every room. I should add that all of the restaurants we visited were very careful to provide bottled or purified water, as well as pure ice.

But the best part of our stay was the gracious service provided by the staff. Guillermo, manning the front desk on most days, was the key to solving all problems and obtaining helpful information about the town. When he was away, you could rely on Alicia to take care of you. In the evenings, the charming Alfredo took over, and if you ask, he will make you the town's best Margarita.

Breakfast was served in either a stunning dining room or out in the beautiful, flower-filled courtyard. The servers were cheerful and accommodating. One could choose from a menu with many options, and the meal was generally satisfactory. However, the quality was not quite the gourmet and varied fare that the best B&B's are known for. It would be nice to have something special each day that showed a real chef's flair, especially when one is staying for more than a few days. (Caveats: Where the menu says "maple syrup," it is just maple-flavored sugar syrup. Also, when you eat in the dining room, you are joined at one table by other guests who may or may not share your sense of appropriate behavior. We were forced to endure two seemingly endless and very loud telephone conversations (by a Mexican visitor from Mexico City) that prevented either a quiet breakfast or other conversation. Perhaps the management could somehow preclude cell phone use in the dining room?)

But these are small quibbles about a hotel that will provide you with what may be the best lodging experience in SMA.

Room Tip: The higher rooms with a view of the city are best for those who have no problem with stairs. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 km away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 km away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#10 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Address: Garita No. 3 Centro C. P. | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,024 - ₹ 27,032
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Schuck boutique hotel, just 3 blocks to the Main Square (Jardin) and the famous Parrochia cathedral. You are minutes away from shopping, restaurants and galleries. This special boutique hotel offers the chance to live like a king or queen, right in the middle of town and enjoy the local cafes and art world culture. You may not want to leave the house much though, as the rooftop deck may beckon,or you might find a cozy spot to relax in the shaded landscaped courtyard or the heated pool. Rated Tripadvisor's best Hotel", enjoy the traditional Spanish Colonial architecture and comfortable bedrooms, most with outdoor living areas and terraces. Our personal attention along with the atmosphere makes this spot a favorite choice in San Miguel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Schuck Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing