We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than ever! Lover's Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
357 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better than ever! Lover's Paradise”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We once again came back to Casa Sierra Nevada for our anniversary and were not disappointed. With greater competition from the Rosewood, Casa Sierra Nevada has only improved. The atmosphere is as always as romantic as it gets and the food has never been better. You cannot go wrong ordering the gnocchi with a tart tomatoe sauce, to die for, or the braised spare rib on a bed of risotto and for desert the basil sorbet with strawberries. The restaurant is at its best this year and with live music at night there is no reason to go anywhere else.
If you want to relax for 3 days and feel pampered you have to visit San Miguel and stay at the Casa Sierra Nevada, preferably in suite 445 with a roof terrace with what has to be the best view in town. And the service, as good as it gets. Everyone knew your name and was attentive to your every need. I can only say they really spoiled us!

Room Tip: 445, a little more expensive but the roof terrace is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear aphillips61,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to celebrate your anniversary at Casa de Sierra Nevada. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our enchanting romance ambiance. Thanks for your great recommendations of our Andanza Restaurant and the room, we are sure this will be very helpful for other travelers. We look forward to hosting your special celebration next year!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    81
    27
    24
    7
See reviews for
96
316
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel from the outside looks nothing very special at all, BUT when you walk through the doors everything is revealed. It is quaint authentic and quite special. You must must remember to book a Junior Colonial Suite as some of the rooms are a little difficult to get to. At night the area is cold but in the morning it soon warms up. The town can only be described as boutique like, loads & loads of small shops – the food is excellent virtually everywhere you go, the tequila is fabulous; the people everywhere are so friendly and very helpful – highly recommend the town & hotel

Room Tip: Junior Colonial Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear David J,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are grateful to know that you liked our Junior Colonial Suites, and the overall quaint ambiance of Casa de Sierra Nevada and San Miguel de Allende. We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad de México, México
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Last time I was in San Miguel de Allende was... too long ago and driving back to the city made me realize I have to go back...again & again. Loved the Hotel, it was described to me "with a sense of place" and that is what you take back.... . Having experienced the culture, the local flavours, the people.... I am Mexican and absolutely loved this place. Great service, attention to detail and beautiful rooms!

Room Tip: The rooms with your private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Kcm69,

Thank you for let us be your hosts at San Miguel de Allende! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the charm of our Hotel, and that you discovered what this beautiful destination offer to its visitors! We are honored to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at Casa de Sierra Nevada for 5 nights last week. It is truly a magical place located within easy walking distance of everything you'll want to see during your visit. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I'd strongly recommend taking a class at the Sazon cooking school and definitely try out the Andanza restaurant, both part of the hotel. There are many other great places to eat throughout San Miguel and lots to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear javerick,

We were delighted to welcome you both last week! As you said, Casa de Sierra Nevada has a privileged location in San Miguel, it’s also good to hear that you enjoyed our cooking classes and Andanza. Thank you for your kind comments, we will share them with our staff. There is no better motivation for our team than that of a job well done.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Beautiful Hacienda Style Hotel in fabulous location in centre of town. An easy walk to huge variety of attractions, restaurants,shops and galleries. We stayed three nights over our 20th Wedding Anniversary and the staff decorated our room in rose petals! Our room was accessed through a private courtyard, it didn't feel like a hotel at all, more like a private apartment. A quiet oasis....but be prepared for those church bells. All the staff were great but special mention to Israel who makes an awesome margarita, and really knows his Tequilas. Breakfast was fabulous, Try the Huevos Rancheros! Number one must do in town is to go to Rancho Xotolar, don't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Lisa J,

We are grateful to know that you liked our Colonial Style “Casas”; most of our rooms are distributed in a way that gives this feeling of intimacy. We will pass on your kind comments to Israel. Thank you for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada to celebrate your 20th Anniversary, and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 km away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#16 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 km away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,984 - ₹ 31,712
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing