We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place! A few glitches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place! A few glitches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

All in all, this is a fantastic hotel!! The rooms are spacious, very high ceilings and beautifully decorated. Staff are extremelly kind and efficient. The Luna terrace bar offers a great view of San Miguel. Two comments, initially we were given a room (209) in which a constant noise was present, when we complained we where upgraded to a much larger room which was absolutelly quiet. Second, we were attending a meeting at the Rosewood ballroom it was close to 40 decgrees outside (100 f) and the air-conditioning was broken. This was later fixed.

Overall, very good, two details not unheard of in a new building

Room Tip: Avoid room 209,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear PacoFer,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, your observations are highly appreciated and we are working on the issues that you have mentioned to guarantee that the service we provide will exceed your expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Miguel de Allende.

Sincereley,

Alfredo Rentería
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    103
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
184
297
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

First of all let me tell you that we were undecided where to stay, between the Rosewood and Matilda. Finally I decided to reserved in in the rosewood and turned out to be the right decition! The place is absolutely beautiful especially the upgraded room that we got. Extra high ceilings, comfortable bed and our own private terrace. The service is amazing from the moment I made the reservations with Alexandrina up until our arrival and through all our stay. We enjoyed the beautifully gardened pool and the cabanas. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of Mexican dishes ti chose from. We also visited had massages at Sense Spa, which is among the nices spas we have ever been. Walking to the city center is only 10 min away and we passed and briefly visited Matilda's grounds... For us, Rosewood was truly the right place to come.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrovero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Jrovero,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for sharing your kind comments, I am very happy to know that you truly enjoyed your stay, and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Christian Tavelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed for one night at the Rosewood in San Miguel. It's a beautiful property with large, luxurious rooms and suites, beautiful grounds, a lovely pool area, roof top bar, excellent food and wonderful service.
My complaint is that I was double charged for spa services and one charge is still pending on my Bank of America credit card. The hotel claims that I wasn't double charged, the bank says their hands are tied, and I'm very frustrated at this point. I wouldn't have expected that this situation would arise in a hotel of this caliber. We also stayed at a smaller, charming, less expensive and luxurious hotel for one night and there was no problem at all.
So my advice would be to check carefully to make sure that the final invoice is correct. Other than that, I would highly recommend Rosewood.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kksgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, Director General at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear kksgram,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, after extensive research both in the spa and at the bank, the bank has accepted the error. However, we will continue working to ensure that in the future these problems will not arise again.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Miguel de Allende.

Sincereley,

Alfredo Rentería
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Almost finished with a weeklong stay at this fabulous resort. The facilities are extensive and top notch. Large, beautiful pool area, great spa, decent gym, outstanding restaurant and a rooftop bar with spectacular views, great tapas and cocktails. Our room has a huge, furnished outdoor patio overlooking the city, and the room itself is huge with a fireplace and a wonderful bathroom with a large shower and separate soaking tub. The furnishings and artwork in our room and throughout the resort are top quality. What really makes this resort a step above, however, is the staff. From the front desk/concierges, wait staff, housekeeping, pool and spa attendants, everyone is very well trained, professional and extremely friendly and helpful. Not only do they know us by name, we know them by name and they are more like friends than staff. Need a little help with your Spanish? They take their time and coax you along...it's almost like having a little language course and lots of fun. Of course, you can spend a week here and speak nothing but English and have no problems, but what's the point? This is truly a wonderful resort in a magical setting and we highly recommend it!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear QuakerBoy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your lovely experience at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende. Needless to say, I am delighted to learn that you departed with a favorable impression of your stay. I would like to assure you that we pride ourselves on extending only the highest levels of quality, service and hospitality.

If your future trips bring you back to San Miguel, I would be honored to have the opportunity to welcome you personally.

Sincerely,

Christian Tavelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Luna Rooftop Tapa Bar in the Rosewood Hotel is a must stop for a great sunset and a nice choice of tapas. The panoramic view of the city, live music and a gorgeous sunset was the perfect end to a wonderful day of sightseeing and shopping in SMA. Not the cheapest venue in town but everything considered a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rff000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosewoodSanMiguel, General Manager at Rosewood San Miguel de Allende, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dearrff000,

Thank you for your kind comments, I agree with you because Luna is a “destination in itself.”
If your future trips bring you back to San Miguel de Allende, I would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Christian Tavelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 km away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#3 of 64 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 64 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 64 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#14 of 64 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 km away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 64 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#5 of 64 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood San Miguel de Allende? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood San Miguel de Allende

Property: Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Address: Calle Nemesio Diez 11, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,022 - ₹ 55,279
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood San Miguel de Allende 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rosewood San Miguel de Allende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood San Miguel De Allende Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing