We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mornings at Santa Caterina were like a dream come...”
other traveller has booked this property
Santa Caterina  - stunning position and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Santa Caterina  - stunning position and swimming pool
View through to the living from the patio Spacious and well equipped kitchen and dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Santa Caterina  - stunning position and swimming pool
View through to the living from the patio
Spacious and well equipped kitchen and dining room
Main Terrace - perfect spot for evening drink watching the sunset
Stunning views throughout the property
Light and Spacious living room
Master Bedroom
First floor guests double bedroom
Ground floor twin bedroom
Cosy upstairs sitting room / TV room
Kitchen Terrace
Shi's Cottage
Lavendar in bloom and the cottage terrance
Shi's Cottage living room and kitchen
Cottage double bedroom
Stunning views from the swimming pool to Antognolla Castle
Beautiful gardens
Approaching view of Santa Caterina
Relaxing in the shade
Swimming pool Terrace
Pizza Oven
Marga and Vic Santa Caterina Caretaker
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Giovanni del Pantano, Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gretchen...
2 reviews
“Mornings at Santa Caterina were like a dream come true.”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Villa Santa Caterina with my husband and toddler this past June. We had a magnificent time and we intend to return! The villa is close to several towns and we easily planned day trips for shopping, site seeing, wine tasting, etc. The villa offers an unparalleled sense of serenity and beauty...so much so that we were very happy to stay home some days, lounging by the pool and hiking the nearby trails. Mornings were the best part of the day...we sat on the terrace adjacent to the kitchen, taking in the mountain views, sipping coffee, eating fruit and fresh cheese with bread. Staying at the villa was the prefect way to enjoy Umbria and truly relax. We traveled with our toddler and we were pleased to find a travel crib and toys waiting for us--so helpful! I can't recommend this villa highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arava2015
Aventura, Florida
1 review
“Nothing compares to it!”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in Vila Caterina with some friends for several days and I can not describe how amazing this experience has been. I have traveled in various places throughout the world and in Italy and never encountered such an AMAZING place! The viewed are breathtaking, the house is so tasteful, comfortable, inviting, relaxing. This experience has been one of the best traveling experience I have had in my life. We all had such an amazing time and none of us wanted to leave! I can not stress enough how perfect it all was and how highly recommended this place is. I loved every second of my trip there and if I want to think about something positive or just relax all I need to do is close my eyes and think about this amazing place and that will do the trick. Highly, highly recommended!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry M
1 review
“A pied a terre in Paradise”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Visiting Santa Catarina, I was relieved to discover that there remains a little bit of this world that is impervious to hotel chains, fast food, mall shopping and the onslaught of sameness and impersonality. Santa Caterina epitomizes the alternative to the humdrum boredom of cold and non-distinct surroundings and upon arriving at the property, tired travelers re-learn the meaning of delightful. From the breathtaking views atop its own little hill to the little perks that accompany a chef's kitchen, this property has something for everyone in any family. We took advantage of the villa's close proximity to Perugia, Assisi, Montefalco, Florence and Gubbio and eased in and out of the property for multiple day trips, happy to return to the luxury of a beautifully appointed Italian country villa. Days by the pool were every bit as fun as expeditions to churches and restaurants and shopping. The villa is large enough to accommodate 3 couples in the main house and another in the guest cottage. Families or friends wanting to vacation together will find it ideal. We could not have found a more ideal spot for our extended vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I felt like I was part of Italy rather than a visitor.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin P
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth or anywhere else...”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Some places invoke a sense of beauty, some a sense of tranquility, some a sense of history, rarely do you ever receive the honor of them all. This is the place! We stayed for 6 days, with the perfect blend of charm, relaxation and truly breathtaking location. The grounds are incredible, with the pool area and dinner table as the highlights. The dinner table is a place your soul will love...

The stunningly converted and clearly exhaustive rehab of the buildings is worth the trip, but the view and gardens will be in your memories forever.

Everything was easy, and as it should be during a vacation. A hike of the "neighborhood" was astounding, refreshing and not too long that you get bored. Seeing the company you keep, as in the Four Seasons castle just up the road reminds you that you are really stealing the better vacation for the right price.

Also, a day trip to Tuscany was not stressful, just the right mix of not too far, and close enough not to be exhausted. The roads are typical Italian, so if you get stuck behind a truck, enjoy the scenery! This place is amazingly set in the mountains but so close to the beautiful lakes, just too cool.

Make sure you get the right info from the owners as they know the little gems nearby to enjoy a great meal.

We cannot recommend this place highly enough, but please book with caution, as we will be back next year, and don't want all the reservations taken.

The really really great:

Almost everything actually

The not so great:

Train is a bit far, but quickly forgotten when you arrive

Five stars, six if we could

Also, for those who cook, the local markets are out of a movie, just unreal :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gershon z
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
“vacations in paradise”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in May 2013

I am very happy to recommend Villa Santa Caterina to worldwide vacationers. It is fabulously located in central Italy, in the heart of rustic and picturesque province of Umbria ('competitive' to Toscana) and within convenient outreach from Rome, Siena and Firenze. Its great location allows easy exploration of neighbouring places like Assisi, Gubbio and Spoleto, and other 'jewels in the crown' of the unique Umbria scenery.
But, the ' crux of the matter ' is its heavenly, particular, location, in seclusion of a small valley , 'patronized' by adjourning mountains. Looking out of your window (at the breathtaking and picturesque scenery), swimming in the villa's pool , or conversing with Marga and Vic (the property devoted and friendly caretakers) you feel that you have reached, and are ultimately part of paradise in heavens , and in Italy, at the same time.
Go for it :if you look for location for ' 'painting session' , intimacy in spending inspiring time with family/friends, or a base to explore in depth the unique Italian spirit and atmosphere.
Gershon Zohar / Israel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing