We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Algotels
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Karlheinz F
München
87
Lovely hotel. Highly recommendation!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jan 2020
The Old Court Card is an old heritage hotel in the colonial-style. It is located in the center of Fort Kochin and is a very nice hotel. You should be aware, however, that you can hear almost everything through the walls. But we had very quiet neighbors so this wasn't a problem for us. There is a little pool in the inner courtyard, but unfortunately, there is no longer a tree in the patio.

The most notable feature is the wonderful staff. Everybody is super friendly and always extremely helpful. Especially Thomas, the receptionist and night porter, was always ready with a smile, and his dedication to the customer was absolutely amazing. He was there around the clock for us, so much so that we really wondered when he ever had a chance to sleep. He helped us in so many ways both large and small that we want to send him our sincere thanks for his extraordinary and charming support. He is truly a gem.

We highly recommend this nice hotel and its fantastic staff.
Date of stay: January 2020
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₹20,061
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹20,061
0.0 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
₹12,324
₹11,769
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
DELUXE SUITE ROOM AC Room View
Tripadvisor
₹2,273
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    ₹2,273
0.4 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Lol.travel
    0.5 km from The Old Courtyard Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Fort Kochi
    Reviews (381)
    Filter reviews
    381 results
    Traveller rating
    156
    151
    48
    14
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    156
    151
    48
    14
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews princess street the chinese fishing nets wooden flooring heritage hotel tuk tuk hot water character cochin fort driver
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 381 reviews
    Reviewed 6 January 2020

    What a special place! We stayed here for several nights and found the staff to be charming and helpful, our room was clean and full of character with wooden floors, lovely furniture and comfortble beds (covered with mosquito nets). This was my first visit to India and although we went on to stay in several places, it was hard to beat this hotel. Brekfast also really good with chef who is flexible and will cook according to needs (recommend the omelette). Lots to do and see nearby including crafts shops, beer and wine bar, good restaurants and walks near the beach. Staff recommended an early morning walk to see the local fishermen bring in their catches on the beach, very worthwhile.

    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 166Jane952
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

    Dear Madam,
    Thank you for your great feedback. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our property during your stay. We hope to see you again at the Old Courtyard Hotel.
    Sincerely, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

    We stayed here at the start and end of our Kerala trip and both stays were great. The staff are all so lovely, smiley and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay special. The rooms are gorgeous and we thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday which was always clean. Breakfasts were also lovely. Special thanks to Thomas and Suhas :-)

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank megangoldblyth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

    Dear Madam,
    Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always great for the team to hear positive and good reviews. The whole team works towards making every guests' stay as memorable as possible.
    We hope to see you again!
    Sincerely, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

    Ordered 2 x set dinners on New Years Eve, only one other customer in. Had veg and non veg option - non veg (prawn curry) was very tasty - but only 3 small prawns in the meal, dhall and side veg and rice were all luke warm, which did not go down well, cold rice is not that palatable.
    In a prime position but could not get any alcohol from in site hotel ...? - went to bar around the corner for that, in a prime position but not customer friendly...

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank bandanaman_knights
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for your review. We apologize for the lukewarm food. It will be advised to our staff.
    Regarding the beer and alcohol license, Kerala has peculiar laws , as each and every state and country would have . So for not serving alcohol on the premises we do not apologize for. One has to live in that country to understand and this is not the correct platform.
    There are many hotels in Kerala that do not serve alcohol. Unusual, for a foreigner to understand would be difficult.
    We hope you do stay with us in the rooms and would see and appreciate what we offer instead of just the restaurant.
    Sincerely,
    Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 December 2019 via mobile

    This place has colonial style with colonial service. The quality of the wooden doors, floors, ceilings, staircases, have not only stood the test of time, but are exceptional in this day and age. Even the toilet roll holder in our bathroom (modern walk in shower in a party sized space) was made of wood. It's a shame they don't do breakfast but there are innumerable places to eat in this holiday town. I hope to come back one day for a longer stay.

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank XXX283
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    Thank you for your great review. We at Old Courtyard Hotel are happy to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Yes, we do our best to protect and maintain this heritage property even if it entails a lot of maintenance.
    We do have breakfast complimentary if you book through our website. Perhaps next time you book the room, we would advise that you book directly with us through our website.
    Sincerely, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2019

    On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly.The rooms are about average with the electric sockets looking somewhat dangerous. In our room the plaster was flaking off the walls by the bed which was not pleasant to look at. The chef is really friendly the food is good. The hotel is only a short walk to the market and Chinese fishing nets.One of the highlights was a visit to the laundry.

    Date of stay: February 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank john F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2019

    Dear John,
    Thank you for y our feedback. We are happy that the staff looked after you well.
    Since we have limestone walls, they have to be maintained yearly. And now with the off season coming in, the renovation will start. We have taken into consideration all your points.
    Best, Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews