We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly special place”
Review of Gloria's Shambhala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zipolite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria's Shambhala
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The views and the staff and accommodation and the meditation hill are just a few of the endearing features of Shambhala. The detail in the pathways and adorable buildings speaks of love and attention. You must make this a stay on your journey into Mexicos most southern and small villages.

Room Tip: ask for the hobbit houses ;)
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaBonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Probably the best view from a hostel I've ever had. We've met Pablo, a brazilian guy, and chat, very friendly guy fro iowa. Definitely one of the best experience we've had in Mexico, straight on the beach.Amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at Shambhala a few years ago and were excited to return. Sadly Shambhala has faded and I wouldn't recommend staying here. The place is empty and appears to no longer be maintained. The restaurant only offers a limited menu. On arrival we were shown very poor room options despite many better rooms sitting vacant. I'm not sure what is happening at Shambhala but I suggest staying at better options down on the beachfront.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
7  Thank SpokeyDokeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I really like Shambhala for various reasons. The views from the restaurant and the rooms are great. Shambhala is situated on the side of a hill just above the west end of the beach and provides a wonderful vantage point to watch the ocean, the entire Zipolite beach, and surfers. There are a variety of rooms ranging in price and design. From shared dorms to very artistically constructed "hobbitish" huts to nice large rooms with private bathrooms. The rooms were clean and had the nicest views of all the places I stayed during my 2 month vacation on the Oaxacan coast. The staff here was always friendly, the food was consistently good and it was my favorite place to enjoy a cold fruit drink while laying in a hammock or sitting at a table while enjoying the beautiful view. Of all the places I visited along the coast of Oaxaca, Shambhala was my favorite. I wish I was there right now.

Room Tip: Ask someone there to show you the different options
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It's dirty, uncomfortable, but the worst part is the terrible service they have, you couldn't pay me to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pelu_juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gottakeepup, Public Relations Manager at Gloria's Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

We're sorry you had a less than pleasant experience at Shambhala. During your visit we were recovering from Hurrican Carlotta, which struck Playa Zipolite in June of 2012. We continue to recover from the property damage the hurricane brought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zipolite
3.3 km away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 5 in Zipolite
198 reviews
2.0 km away
Posada Castillo Oasis
Posada Castillo Oasis
#4 of 5 in Zipolite
39 reviews
3.5 km away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
136 reviews
3.4 km away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
315 reviews
0.1 km away
La Cabana de Puerto Angel
La Cabana de Puerto Angel
#3 of 7 in Puerto Angel
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria's Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria's Shambhala

Address: Playa Zipolite | Apto. Postal 68, Pochutla, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Zipolite
Price Range: ₹ 260 - ₹ 1,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shambhala Vision is a rustic spiritual retreat center with basic accomodations, dorms and cabanas, and a vegetarian restaurant serving fresh food. Shambhala has thrived on the Western edge of Zipolite beach in Oaxaca for over 40 years, providing a tranquil and meditative atmosphere as well as breathtaking views of Zipolite beach and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing