We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place.”
Review of Gloria's Shambhala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zipolite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria's Shambhala
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It's dirty, uncomfortable, but the worst part is the terrible service they have, you couldn't pay me to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pelu_juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gottakeepup, Public Relations Manager at Gloria's Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

We're sorry you had a less than pleasant experience at Shambhala. During your visit we were recovering from Hurrican Carlotta, which struck Playa Zipolite in June of 2012. We continue to recover from the property damage the hurricane brought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Gloria's Shambhala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are traveling on motorcycles for 8 months and normally stay in cheap places, but we fell for the location of Shambala and the view over the entire Zipolite beach. We loved the crazy stairs leading to our house, which was at the very top and the amazing view from our balcony.
The beds were clean but not super comfortable and the mosquito net didn't really fit.
The room was not too big, but sinces there was a double bed and an extra single bed, we could use the other bed for our luggage. We paid 500 pesos for the room.
We had breakfast at the restaurant. It wasn't cheap, but it was really good (not included in the price for the room)
The fact that the place is located up on the hill, decreases the noise from the enormous waves and makes it easier to sleep at night.
We really enjoyed it here, and would gladly stay here another time. Nice relaxed atmosphere, and a different experience than what you usually get.

Room Tip: Get the one with the best view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Henriette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Shambala is primary a spiritual place where monks from Tibet and people everywhere around the world comes for the Karma celebration on evrery new year`s eve. Gloria went tru so many hurricane recovery during her 38 years there, you can feel the energy walking on the land, every thing is relative for the eye or mind looking at it, every one is a world by itself ,an article about a bed has not a lot of importance for me, you have to know the inside Shambahla to understand.the living , Paulina took 10 years to rebuilt, and she did not need Frank in august 2010 to destroy again a part of Shambahla in Zipolite
Just wanted to restablish heart of Shambhala and it`s creator...Gloria
I`ll be there for the celebration and probably sleep in a hamac, where i fell the best with nature and it`s surrounding.....on the top of the hill at the meditation center .
There is also a place for every bubget from dormitory to bungalow with kitchen.
Hope everyone will gather for celebration.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sidddhartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We actually didn't stay at Shambala because it was so disgusting. We left feeling like we needed a shower. My friend and I aren't the fancy kind of travelers who need things like air conditioning and daily maid service, but neither are we the kind who like to sleep on FILTHY DIRT-COVERED MATTRESSES!! Tiny, cramped rooms on the side of the hill with lots of steep, rickety stairs for -- wait for it -- $900 USD/month!! Yes, I'm staying for three months, and I went down the hill to the "main drag" (such as it is, it's about a dozen or so little shops on a street that runs behind the beach) and found a lovely, clean cabana right on the water for $300/month (the place is called Mar Abierto, is run by a great Italian couple named Juliano y Juliana, and has a good restaurant as well.)

In short, there is no reason whatsoever to stay at Shambala. Just show up in Zipolite, stroll the beach for a while checking out cabanas, and negotiate a good rate with a place you like. They all have vacancies. The San Cristobal is right next door and also has clean, cheap rooms and a great garden. Pretty much anyplace in town is better than Shambala.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank carboncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zipolite
3.3 km away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 5 in Zipolite
197 reviews
3.5 km away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
3.0 km away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Posada Castillo Oasis
Posada Castillo Oasis
#4 of 5 in Zipolite
39 reviews
0.1 km away
La Cabana de Puerto Angel
La Cabana de Puerto Angel
#3 of 7 in Puerto Angel
51 reviews
3.4 km away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria's Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria's Shambhala

Address: Playa Zipolite | Apto. Postal 68, Pochutla, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Zipolite
Price Range: ₹ 258 - ₹ 1,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shambhala Vision is a rustic spiritual retreat center with basic accomodations, dorms and cabanas, and a vegetarian restaurant serving fresh food. Shambhala has thrived on the Western edge of Zipolite beach in Oaxaca for over 40 years, providing a tranquil and meditative atmosphere as well as breathtaking views of Zipolite beach and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing