We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Skye haven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aurora Cottage

Aurora Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aurora Cottage
Arriving at Aurora The cottage and view to the sea.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Aurora Cottage
Arriving at Aurora
The cottage and view to the sea.
The newly refurbished lounge, with reclining leather sofas.
The view from the lounge window.
The new TV including Free Sat and Netflix
The brand new kitchen, all appliances, crockery and utensils are new for 2017.
The dining area
The dining table
Why not enjoy a home cooked meal at Aurora.
The entrance hall
The ground floor king size bedroom
The upstairs double bedroom
Family bathroom
The upstairs twin room
Our new custom built window seat with reading light. Enjoy the view!
View from the upstairs twin room.
A few of the neighbours!
New neighbours in April
Sunset
One of the local hares which visit Aurora almost daily
The Fairy Glen
The iconic Eilean Donan Castle
The Fairy Pools
Portree Harbour
Spring sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmuir, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek S
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Skye haven”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday was booked primarily for my father-in-law who was recuperating from a heart attack and we could nt have chosen better.
From the very start we were treated to generous hospitality when we arrived 2 hours early after driving 6 hrs from Glasgow- the owner Karen went outta her way to ensure we could get in early. A special mention to the owners who from the booking process were extremely helpful with all enquires and even posted back items we had left in the house free of charge- many thanks again.
West View is located in a beautifully tranquil area of the world with spectacular views all around- if you like scenery you wont be disappointed and a short trip to nearby Bornesktaig Bay is essential.
Upon entering the house, we were delighted to find a complimentary hamper full of goodies which was also very welcome. The house itself could not be faulted, it was spotlessly clean and spacious with 4 generous bedrooms and an extra bathroom which was also handy. The lounge was large enough for all 6 of us to have our own space to lounge about and we were also spoilt with great views out towards the Outer Hebrides. The kitchen reflected the nature of the property also as it was large and very well equipped.
everyone who shared this fantastically relaxed week agreed that we would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and peacefulness
Liked least: Cant find fault with anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missbrown...
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great comfortable cottage with wonderful views out to sea. Loved it.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Comfortable cottage in a location that worked well for us as we took a trip to Harris and Lewis on the very early ferry from Uig. Lovely walks right outside the front door especially down to the bay. Great secure garden for our dog to safely explore which was a massive bonus. Would stay here again if we decide to return to Skye. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rschwartz...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“unplug and enjoy the view”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

West View is the perfect spot to relax and get away from it all. In the morning we woke up to the sounds of sheep baa-ing in the pasture just beyond the small back yard, and in the evening we watched the swifts chasing their dinner. The views to the water are stunning –especially at sunset.

The house itself is neat and comfortable, furnished inexpensively but attractively with a simple modern style. The pictures on the listing are accurate. The beds and linens are quite comfortable and we all slept well. There is plenty of hot water, however it is set on a timer, so if you want to shower at another time, you will need to turn it on.

There is no phone, no internet and mobile/smart phones don’t really work because of the lay of the land. However, we found that by driving a few minutes up to a cow pasture at the end of the road, we could get service (we called it the “internet cow-fe.” ) Still, it's a good idea to make bookings (for boat trips for example) in advance.

The kitchen is fully equipped, and it was nice to have breakfast and dinner at “home.” Importantly, there is a dryer, because if you are on Skye for more than a day or two you will be soaking wet sooner or later!

The house is about a 10 minute drive from Uig (where you can get basic groceries and gas) and 30 minutes from Portree which has a big Co-op open late. The lady who lives at the corner of Willows Road sells fresh eggs.

The roads are narrow and the bit from Uig to the house is especially twisty- I suggest trying to arrive the first time while there is still daylight.

Dealing with Karen was very easy and professional. This is my first experience doing a holiday rental rather than a B&B and she made it a wonderful experience that I am eager to try again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, location, value for money, dealing with Karen
Liked least: We had trouble finding the place the first night - even though we were using an OS map. Directions would be improved by time or milage indicators
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but the customer service was excellent
Liked least: nothing everything was excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brenda694...
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at West View for a week and had a fantastic holiday. The house was very clean, spacious and had everything that we needed for our stay and the views from the house are just stunning. The bed was also very comfortable, cosy and warm.. The garden was huge and our dog loved it, she was able to just wander outside and as it was all secure so we had no worries that she would go near the sheep etc. There is also a museum very near the house that is worth a visit...so interesting. I would definately recommend this property if you are looking to get away, relax and do lots walking in all the fresh air.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing