We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$83
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$78
View deal
Priceline
Expedia.com$83
Travelocity$83
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
202
120
51
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
202
120
51
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful palace small village jeep safari hidden gem music festival swimming pool heritage hotel semi arid world war super deluxe room puppet show antique furniture sand dunes shekhawati region old world charm rooftop restaurant lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Beautiful Mahal and had a good stay. everything was excellent. In December it was veryyyyy cold at night so if you are planning in December then do carry lots of warm cloths with you.Food was good but need to improve food quality.Staff was very helpful and very polite.

Date of stay: December 2018
3  Thank BinnyT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2019

Dear Guest,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our oldest property Alsisar Mahal. Thank you for your valuable feedback I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our staff. We shall work on improving the food quality as suggested by you.
Thank you so much for the kind words,We hope we’ll be seeing you again soon.
Regards

Dhruv Singh Alsisar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

The mahal is well spread out and grand and unlike other old structures converted into hotels, this one is equipped with luxury.
Friendly staff, quiet surroundings and good food makes this worth your while.

Take a trip to the nearby shrubby sand dunes since there isn't much to do in this town. A great place to unwind.

Room tip: The higher rooms have a good view of the town
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2019

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We have tried to recreate the era of royal Rajasthan by carefully restoring every part of Alsisar Mahal from the paintings to the furniture to provide guests with a truly authentic experience and we are so glad we succeeded to some extent. It is always wonderful to hear words of appreciation as it motivates us to work even harder.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Dhruv Singh Alsisar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

First impression through the village is a bit daunting if your not used to the sights and sounds but the Hotel looks very impressive when you reach it. The manager was extremely welcoming and helpful. My room was HUGE and looked very impressive. But the lock system for the door is a pain but for one night it was okay. Some people didn’t like their rooms thought they were oppressive! Food was average and waiting staff could have been better. In the morning mynwash basin was full of dead flies. Not to worry.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will definitely look into the areas you pointed out and ensure we provide quality service to all our guests. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to seeing you again
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2018 via mobile

I had the pleasure of spending 15 wonderful days at the Alsisar Mahal, Shekhawati earlier this month. I work as a commissioned artist and was working on a wall mural to be showcased at the Magnetic Fields Festival - one of the most vibrant electronic music festivals in the world.


Time stands still at Alsisar Mahal; the palace has an old world charm about it and it truly is a heritage site worth visiting. On touring the palace, one can see exactly how life used to be back in the old days. Hidden passages and corridors leading to private rooms; beautiful gardens and poolside to compliment the palace walls; tasteful, luxurious interiors that make you feel like you're in a different era altogether.

Alsisar Mahal has been home for the Alsisar family for generations and, still continues to be the family home to date. One can see the personal touches that have been added over decades and, the art on the palace walls alone is worth taking the trip! While you see the best of heritage artwork on the walls of banquets, corridors and dining halls, you will also notice contemporary wall murals and installations by several other artists such as myself.

The palace holds a lot of history. A beautiful display of antique and artifacts run through the palace. The World War II lounge needs a special mention; a family lounge for the Alsisar guests, showcasing weapons and gadgets from time of war. Vintage Jeeps, still in perfect condition can be spotted in the palace garage too.

For those who share my love for the great outdoors, Alsisar Mahal safaris are a must do. Alsisar landscapes offer beautiful sunrises and sunsets overlooking the dunes. Local wildlife can be spotted easily; Chinkaras running freely, Neel Gai herds under shady trees; Partridges and other beautiful birds for the bird watchers too. All that and generosly packed picnic baskets by the hotel staff make it a great experience.

What makes all the above a more luxurious experience is the staff at Alsisar Mahal. Besides pampering you with the best in regional cuisine, the staff is extremely courteous and pay close attention to guest preferences. It is a feeling of luxury with the warmth and comfort of a family home.

I strongly recommend Alsisar Mahal as it has been a truly magnetic experience for me. It is perfect for a weekend getaway as it's only a 5 hour drive from New Delhi. Another alternative would be a flight to Jaipur, followed by a 3.5 hour drive to Alsisar.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Artistonaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2019

Dear Artistonaroll,

Thank you so much for appreciating our heritage property Alsisar Mahal is the oldest of our properties and has undergone careful restoration a process that took 10 years since most of the palace was destroyed in battle centuries ago .We have tried our very best to maintain the palace's original charm and aesthetic and we are glad you enjoyed the large rooms and open spaces as well as the common areas.

The food at alsisar is prepared freshly from organic ingredients available in the farmers market we are glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for your kind appreciation we look forward to having you back.

Warm regards,
Dhruv Singh Alsisar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Such a contrast to the 4-5 hotelswith their uniform rooms. Our tour group were excited as schoolchildren ontherir first trip away from home. The rooms were so delightful and individual.awalk around the village gave us an idea what the real India outside the cities is like

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank chorfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for appreciating our heritage property Alsisar Mahal is the oldest of our properties and has undergone careful restoration , a process that took six years since most of the palace was destroyed in battle centuries ago .

We are humbled by your kind appreciation and so grateful to you for providing future guests with such a detailed and informative review.Thank you so much.

My staff and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Alsisar mahal.

Warm regards
Dhruv Singh Alsisar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews