We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
31
14
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
14
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel hotel guests fish lake district oak tree region poland park bikes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this property for 4 nights. Our room was 116, queen bed, comfortable and quiet despite being immediately next to the stairs. The staff was very pleasant, I’m not sure why there are so many reviews of unpleasant/unfriendly staff. All the staff but 1 spoke English and ALL the staff was helpful, accommodating, considerate, and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful each morning with many choices from cereals, cake, cold meats, cheeses, breads, hot dishes (2), and fruit. While we explored during the day, each night we returned to the hotel for dinner. We had a range of dishes from the fish, rabbit, cabbage soup, salads, pork, and nothing disappointed. This is more of a bed and breakfast/inn style than a hotel, for those looking for a hotel. The WiFi wasn’t great but who goes to Poland on a visit for the WiFi? Go explore!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank thejohnsons556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The hotel is located in the south-east corner of the lake district of Mazuria, Still it is a driving distance of all major attractions. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Great generous buffet breakfast with local goodies.Bikes are available for free to the hotel guests. Staff polite and instrumental. The only disadvantage is lack of air-condition in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I sometimes like to stay at some not standard, usual hotel. Sometimes it is good surprise but it can also be a trap. In this case it was neither pleasent surprise nor mistake.
Room was big with small tv and not so many channels. Some of them didn't work properly in good quality. Tv set was not in front of the bed so it was big disadvantage.
Internet was slow and mostly I couldn't use it. Spa area is very small and not so cozy. Better avoid it. Breakfast was very simple. Parking for free very close to hotel. Service was really nice.
Water from shower was too slow and there was no sign which is hot and which is cold. That is not acceptable.
The price was quite attractive so because I would like to give something between average and poor. I will decide for poor this time so maybe hotel owners will improve some things.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank pawel_hbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The hotel Dwór Kaliszki is a manor house that was built in 1830 in the Masurian village of “Kallischken”. Until the end of World War II the large estate was owned by various German families, as Kallischken was located in the province of East Prussia which was part of the German state of Prussia. Today the village belongs to Poland and is called “Kaliszki”.
During the Communist era in Poland the estate became a state farm and the manor house suffered a terrible decay. In 2005 a couple bought the property and began with the historically accurate reconstruction of the manor house. Thanks to their huge four-year-long effort, which is documented in an interesting photo album, the manor house has become a real gem of a (protected) historic hotel building.
The hotel is situated not far from the road to Pisz (14 kilometres away), but you can hardly hear cars passing by.
Our superior room No. 106 (370 Złoty), which was nicely decorated, was located right under the roof. We found it very comfortable with its 25 m2 when we checked in on a cool Sunday afternoon. What it feels like in the heat of a summer day is another question as there is no air conditioning. My back loved the mattress because it had a topper and there was a set of two different pillows. The satellite TV had foreign programs (German “Das Erste” and BBC World). The bathroom was quite large, very modern and extremely clean, with soft towels and good toiletries.
Unfortunately the very helpful hotel staff available on Sunday had only a rudimentary grasp of English. It was not possible to obtain explanations from them how to get the WiFi connection for hotel guests working in our room. To be connected with the internet we had to go down to the ground floor, notebook in hand.
The rich breakfast buffet was of high quality. It offered a variety of Polish specialities but also different kinds of bread and rolls.
The reasonably priced diner in the hotel restaurant was clearly the best that we had during our trip through East Poland. After diner you can go for walk in the magnificent park (also rebuilt by the new owners) around the mighty old oak tree – another symbol of enduring tradition that has survived the terrible vagaries of history.
We did not use the spa because of our lack of time. The outdoor swimming pool seemed not to be in use at the time of our visit (end of June).
My final judgment: A very nice place for a stay of several days to explore beautiful Masuria.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank beckmesserish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

This beautiful renovated structure at once a delightful hotel, an excellent restaurant and a relaxing spa. We only spent one night there, but the staff did speak English, and were exceptionally friendly. The room was comfortable, and each seems to be quite individual, both in size and in furnishings. The bathrooms were very modern and clean. The breakfast was also quite nice and is included in the rate. We found the restaurant to be quite a bit better than we had expected for such an isolated place. They did have fish from the local lakes, which was very fresh. The only negative comment was that my son-in-law discover a small spider in his bed, but neither he nor any of the rest of us notice any similar issues. Internet access was free and had reasonable bandwidth.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size and arrangement. Being a spa, they have tennis courts on the extensive grounds and they have rackets and balls to use...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpInTheAirProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews