We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
747
103
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
103
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food master suite every morning sea view tulum ruins view room beach bag kitchen table little touches public beach your doorstep huevos rancheros turn down service shrimp tacos hotel guests beautiful beach private deck
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My Husband and I just got back from staying here and it was great! First let me start by saying if you have never been to Tulum, expect an extremely different experience/location altogether than that of Playa Del Carmen and Cancun. Also this is a small boutique hotel only about 7-9 rooms I believe. We had taken a late flight from Texas and we rented a car as we prefer to move around on our own. By the time we got there it was almost 1am. They close their main gate after hours but there is an attendant to open it up. We went straight to the Concierge desk and Jorge greeted us and saw we were weary from our travels and told us to not worry about the check in process right away we could take care of it in the morning. His Priority was getting us to our room to rest. Hotel is situated right next to a nice beach area. In Tulum a lot of beaches are public so expect that some hotels will not offer private beaches. At this hotel this just means they cannot serve you alcohol on the beach, but they can lay out chairs and umbrella at your request, and you can buy a drink at their bar and walk off with it. At least my husband did and nobody stopped him. The beach has a good spot that is rock free which is great if you want to get in. The property a has a small pool which is nice and cool for a quick dip to cool off, and they also offer outdoor mattress with pillows and towels for laying out in both covered/uncovered areas.. There are also a hammock area that is covered. All looking out to the ocean. If you can snag a room with an ocean view do it! We had a non ocean view so it was a bit of a cave feel because it is sort of built into a semi subterranean way but it was cozy. They set you up with coffee/tea in the AM and tea in the evening both delivered to your door at specified times. They offer bikes for you use. there is a Thai restaurant at this hotel that is popular and so there are restaurant guest all day and evening. Gets busy but the environment is good, not crazy. Maggie, Gustavo, and David all were very charming, respectful, and overall offered great tips and customer service. They genuinely ask you how your doing and if everything is to our liking. We spent a lot of time out of the hotel most of the days, but we did eat a late lunch once at the Thai restaurant. It was good. Drinks to me were not overpriced for being a hotel. I would stay here again but I would try to get one with the ocean view next time!!

Room Tip: Get a room with an Ocean View!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pamvelez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Like most purveyors of fine properties in Mexico, the Mezzanine prefers to hide its beauties from the eyes of tourists racing on their way to the Ruins along the front road. Once you enter the inconspicuous archway, behold, you see the endlessly elegant, carefully manicured, interior art space of the sea-side Mezzanine. Going to Tulum is a destination vacation, and when you get to the Mezzanine, you quickly realize that you are destined to spend most of your time at the hotel itself.

The courtyard has several sun loungers overlooking the green-blue Caribbean, some above the courtyard on the terrace and some below on the cliffs above the mangrove. The sun beds are always open and refreshed with clean towels and pillows. The beach sand on the main level is swept as meticulously as a zen garden. Somehow, the head gardener was able to grow thick tufts of green carpet grass on top of limestone.

As for the pool--two main ponds that can be crossed by swimming underneath a rock footbridge--it catches a glinting turquoise light at any time of the day or night that conjures up the the subterranean maya blue of the nearby cenotes. The pool water is lightly salinated with real cenote water, not chlorinated, so you can pool-bathe all day and not worry about chemicals (other than the alcohol in your drinks!).

The restaurant and bar are open to the public, but no matter how many outsiders are there, the Mezzanine never feels crowded, and guests always have their own clearly marked off terrain. Non-guests do come for the Thai food (I know, why Thai food in the middle of the Tulum jungle?). When my wife ordered a green papaya salad, it all made sense. The climate in Tulum allows cooks access to a larder with many of the same novelties of Thailand (green papaya, and coconut for example.). I am tempted to say that little Thai salad was an emblem of the Mezzanine. A seemingly modest dish, it opened up with all the right flavors, rich and balanced--a feat of culinary art. Drinks from the bar were no less artful, with local twists such as the spicy-sweet tamarindo. I appreciated that the bartenders here didn't use simple syrup even when making the typically sugary drinks such as piña colada.

As for the rooms and room service, the owners, managers, and cleaning staff are to be commended for attention to every small effect. A straw sombrero in the local style--it looks more like a fedora--waited for me on the rack, and it even fit my small head perfectly. They provided us boutique mosquito repellant made with mayan medical plants--whatever it was, it worked! A "go bag" sat by the door, with clean beach towels and sundries. Fresh cuttings from the Riviera jungle--hibiscus, red ginger, pink orchids, varieties of aloes I'd never seen--were daily (twice a day?) refreshed in small jar vases inside. In the evening, we were given fresh tea and dark, artisanal chocolate; in the morning, fresh coffee and some kind of local seed-and-nut bar greeted you on the doorstep.

Lastly, the staff and concierges were truly professional. They were chummy when you wanted them to be, but serious when you needed fast advice. Gustavo, in particular--the head concierge who suffered my high school Spanish with great patience, until I switched back to English--Gustavo was not afraid to give me direct advice about restaurants, shops, and activities. Once I told him that I trusted his recommendations, Gustavo skipped running down all the options and gave me the best intel and the gospel truth.

In close, what sets the Mezzanine apart from some of the splendid hotels I saw along the main strip on the Tulum Riviera, is that the Mezzanine is the most elegant and serene. The property is small enough so that there is literally a hand on every single surface and detail. The property is manicured enough so that it feels like a world in itself.

Room Tip: No bad room in the house.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Matt_Farley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We had an amazing stay at the Mezzanine. We were staying in room 9, which has an unobstructed view of the beach and sea. The staff is super helpful and the restaurant is great.
The private terrace is truly private, hence no terraces next to it.
This is a place we will definitely come back to.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with sea side view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Mezzanine Hotel: Nice location and surroundings; however Buyer Beware during payment once you arrive at the Hotel as we were overcharged $80USD.

Overall we enjoyed a six night stay at the Mezzanine hotel in Tulum, however there are many other options in the area, which we strongly suggest you investigate.
The staff were reasonably helpful; with some noted inadequacies.
Communication between staff could be improved. For example on arrival we were not verbally greeted by the hotel staff, a staff gestured with her hand to walk up a steep set of steps carrying our suitcases, the staff did not suggest we leave our cases at the bottom of the stair case or carrying them for us. Once we carried our cases to the top of the stair case, a staff member then arrived to then tell actually we need to leave our suit case at the bottom of the stair case; so we carried them back down. Not a great first impression.
Once we got to the front desk, the hotel staff were having troubles with their eftpos machine. The hotel staff were unable to debit the remainder (a 50% deposit had been paid prior to arrival) of the payment, the staff member took our credit card; photocopied and wrote down the CCV number to make an offline payment. We requested that he return the photocopy to us as this is not safe practice; which he accepted, and we then offered to make a payment via internet banking which was declined by the Manager. We thought that this was unusual as we had a long stay at the hotel and plenty of time for the money to clear. The next day it became clear as to why the Hotel declined our offer. The concierge informed us that he had found our credit card details on their system and had made the debit. Of note we had a written agreement that was a quote in US dollars. He then informed us that he had given us a ‘good deal’ on the rates when he converted the US dollars into Mexican Pesos. When we questioned why he had done this, he again reiterated so he could give us a good deal. Once our credit card statement came through, the ‘good deal’ actually was for the Hotel as we were charged an extra $80 US due to the inaccurate way in which he calculated the exchange from US to Mexican Pesos. This is a deliberate miscalculation of exchange rates, a violation of our agreement and fraudulent activity. We attempted to discuss this with the management of the Hotel, and their explanation is that our credit card company is at fault. The staff made no offer to repay the overcharged amount and we left. BUYER BEWARE.

The hotel restaurant prices were expectedly over-inflated, but the food was clean and tasty. We only ate at the restaurant once as there are so many other options available in Tulum. We suggest you try Camel Junior for seafood, nachos and BBQ dinner, Breakfast Tacos at Don Honorio (order the 1L orange juice), Chiapaneca for dinner tacos, Asadero for steak and burritos. No breakfast is included in the nights stay; which seems odd; however this seems to be the norm in Tulum.

The room service was average, the sheets were only changed once in 6 nights, and there was a strange waxy substance on the sheet and pillow case for the first three nights.

And we were interested in taking tours around the area; we asked the conceierge for some tips regarding tours; we booked three excellent tours with him to Sian Kaan wildlife reserve, Chichen Itza and the Cenotes however we felt his suggestion to ‘only book tours through him’ was inappropriate. The Concierge should be providing unbiased advice for their customers.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russellg783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Staff was very accomodating and friendly-actively inquiring about out stay and offering suggestions for day trips. The restaurant food was excellent. The physical location was beautiful. The accommodations comfortable. The beach was powdery sand and the water warm with active waves for fun. This is a wonderful escape for adults to reconnect in an area with great natural beauty.

Room Tip: No bad rooms
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ray g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews