We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveller rating
588
437
126
56
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
437
126
56
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pavo real nice swimming clean property other guests snorkel gear italian food fresh fish sea grass total relaxation tulum ruins couple of nights tacos relaxing stay small pool low season ocean view pools
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I have mixed feeling about this hotel and think it is a shame they do not take better care of their clients. Beautiful beach and peaceful location. Nice concept with full board without being all-inclusive. Good variety of food. Interesting design and good facilities. But why, if you ask for a a room on upper floor and away from entertainment center do you get a room closest to the stage with loud music in the evening and a room on ground floor? The staff at front desk insisted this was a better room, but that was not what I had asked for. No manager available for the first 24 hours and later... well he simply did not care. This is poor and unprofessional management or maybe even non existing. There was no one to turn to who could handle this despite the fact I had a written confirmation from the hotel with preferred room details! This is an Italian group hotel with mostly Italian guests, which is fine, but perhaps if you are not a part of the Bravo team you come second?
No wifi in room, which is a nuisance and the wifi in lobby is lousy. Really, this is not acceptable, many of us have to stay connected to work and family. They charge you for beach towels which is so unnecessary. Friendly staff at the restaurant and housekeeping.
No need to pay extra for front row rooms... the ones facing the garden are also nice.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank fifi032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Rita_Nicoletti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Mr Fifi032,
Thank you for being our precious guest and for these suggestions. The ground floor rooms are really better than others, they are Junior Suite and not Standard. They are larger and with amazing patio right on the beach and are sold at higher prices. We checked at the front desk about your complaint. There were no upper floor rooms available at that moment of booking. The resident manager on duty told the same version of events. That’s why they offered you a free upgrading in a Junior Suite room. We’re sorry, but maybe there’s been some misunderstanding. WiFi in room is available at a fee and free WiFi in Lobby is usually perfect for any connection. On the other hand, we’re trying to extend the area without any connection, following the new growing guests’ demand of “digital detox” areas. Thank you for appreciating the warmth and professionalism of the entire team.
Our best regards,
The PavoReal Beach Resort Staff and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

This establishment is an Italian concept transplant similar to what one would encounter in a typical Rimini or south of Italy (Calabria) type of resort.

Here are top 3 annoyances coming from a Polish guy with high cultural awareness :

1. there is an Italian entertainment squad present on the premises constantly on the go trying to get people involved in all sorts of activities . Luckily they will only be insisting on you participating if you are ...Italian ;-)

2. Late night intrusive and penetrating noise if you happen to book a "cheap" ($170) room with a roof of hay.

3. Dividing doors between apartments guaranteed to make you privy of all intimate secrets of couples sharing with you next door .

Other than this food and beach are really good but the annoyances more than make up for making the stay rather unbearable ( yet again for a typical non-Italian ).

I am not trying to be culturally insensitive here, after all this place is run by Italians but management should come to their senses and rebrand themselves as a family resort with clear "warning" on their website of what potential customers get themselves into !

It's definitely NOT a place for adults who are after quiet and peaceful relaxation .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Oinklet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Rita_Nicoletti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017


Mr. Oinklet69,
thank you for being our precious Guest. We understand you are a “Polish guy with high cultural awareness” and we’re sorry if, according to you, we are not (who knows?). We’re Mexicans, we’re Italians, we’re citizens of the world, and we’re working day by day, shoulder to shoulder with people from anywhere in the world. Our staff is mainly Mexican, with Italian entertainment staff. The management is Italian, yes it is true, and any Guest is really very important to us and that’s why we accept any suggestion or complaint when constructive. The job of the Italian entertainment staff is to “entertain” our Guests with sport and fun activities, but only if and when the Guests allow or like it. This entertainment team is renowned for its professionalism and discretion: they’re always there but never intrusive. The entertainment is held in English, Mexican Spanish and Italian. For your relaxation, in the property there is a large chill out beach area, close to the Massage Centre and Jacuzzi, perfect for couples or lonely people.
The shows end at about 11 pm, so during the late night the only sound we can listen to is the nature, the sea waves or the wind through the palm leaves. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at PavoReal and will never be back. The resort itself is fine - the beach area is very nice, the rooms small but clean, and the food is average. Our main issue was with the very loud show that went on until close to midnight. They were blasting loud dance/party music along with an equally loud and disturbing announcer shouting through the speaker system. At about 10pm we were laying in our room trying to relax and read and the walls were literally shaking from the loud noise. We went to the reception to find out what was going on and we were met with hostility. We were told that we should have known about this and we would just have to deal with it. We were then told that they could move us to another room on the far side of the resort where the music wouldn't be as loud but that we would have to pay an additional price. We actually left the hotel that night and found another place to stay. What others have said about the fact that this resort caters to Italians (all activities and shows are in Italian) in a way that makes others feel unwelcome is very true. I'd recommend anyone to stay far far away if you are looking for a calm, relaxing beach holiday.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Rita_Nicoletti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Mr Jason F,
Honestly, we appreciate any suggestion or complaint when constructive. Our small Resort is really as you described: fine, with a very nice beach area, with clean rooms, and also food is fine. It’s really appreciated for its large sandy beach where you can lay relaxing or, on the opposite corner of the property, having fun with entertainment staff. The shows usually go on until 11pm. No one at the Resort is used to meet our Guests with hostility: any Guest is very important to us and we’re working to fulfill any their need. We can’t understand what really happened with you at the front desk. They offered you another room, the new room was a Superior or a Junior Suite. For the upgrading an additional price is required. You didn’t accepted the upgrading. For a calm, relaxing beach holiday you can choose this Resort staying in a room away from entertainment activities and laying on the relax side of the beach, close to the massage center and the Jacuzzi. Anyone is really warmly welcomed here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

So I stayed four days at the hotel ! I realy liked the hotel , being beachfront and for the price of the all inclusive! Manuel was really helpful he is in the front desk! I didn't like the fact that 95% of the people there are italians even the people working at the hotel are Italians! The only language you here is italian! I felt uncomftrable at times ! The food is not good I did't like it ,only the breakfast! I wish it was a more multicultural hotel; not just for italians! were in Mexico not Italy

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Russelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Rita_Nicoletti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Mr RussellyT,
Thanks for choosing us for your Mexican vacation. We appreciate your review, especially when you’re talking about the Resort with its position really on the beach and for the professionalism of our staff on duty at the front desk. We’re surprised you felt uncomfortable with Italian people. They’re travelers, going around the world as any other. Italian heritage and culture are steeped in the arts, family, architecture, music and food. Let us just say, incidentally, that Italian products are the most copied around the world and Italian cuisine has influenced food culture around the world and is loved and viewed as a form of art by many. Anyway, our team, starting with the general manager, the resident manager and all the crew, they’re speaking fluently English, French, Italian and, of course, Mexican Spanish. If you ask in English, they answer in English. If you ask in Spanish, they answer in Spanish. The workers are 99% Mexican. Buildings are typically Mexican, colorful, wooden complements, rooftops made by “Palapas” (palm leaves). Everything around is typically Mexican: the unspoiled nature, the local wildlife, the iguanas .. and so on. About food, it’s extremely well appreciated by our guests, for its wide choice among the many variety of starters, salads, pasta, rice, meat, fish, vegetables, Mexican specialties, tropical fruits, cakes and pastry, both for lunch and dinner. For dinner you can reserve a table at the Mexican Restaurant, where to eat only local Mexican specialties. Thank you, Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

This is really a very beautiful resort, on a very beautiful beach with blue ocean, but it's designed for Italians not Americans. We stayed there for one week and did not feel very welcomed. The extremely overpriced rooms were very small, nice and clean but very small. The biggest problem is the water is not portable you could not even brush your teeth with it. The all inclusive menu is designed with Italians in mind. I wish they had just had spaghetti available every night. The food was good but just not American Italian food. A little Mexican food would've been nice. I think smoking is the number one past time of the Italian culture. The place was very well-kept.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Rita_Nicoletti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017


Mrs Laurie C,
thank you so much for this review! We appreciate your suggestion but we’re a bit surprised about your note on Italian food. Italian cuisine has influenced food culture around the world and is viewed as a form of art by many, but nevertheless food at the Resort is not only Italian: you can choose among starters, finger food, rice, pasta, meat, fish, salads, vegetables, Mexican specialties at the show-cooking area, a very wide selection of cakes and pastry and a very wide choice of any kind of tropical fruit. In the evening you can reserve a table at the Mexican Restaurant where you can taste a very genuine local typical food. Any room has 2 complimentary bottles of water for any need. We’re trying to dissuade the smokers, but somewhere they’re smoking even if we’re widening the no-smoking areas. For the truth, in Italy since feb.2016 you can smoke nowhere, including private cars, open areas, offices etc. Finally, we would like to thanking you for appreciating the “very well-kept place”. Let us say: this is a great place to visit if you are a traveler and a citizen of the world. Again, heartfelt thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews