We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
61
65
23
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
65
23
15
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Uolis Nah. It's located short distance from the town center and really close to the super market. The rooms are very cozy and clean. There is a little kitchen too if you want to make your food. The place seemed very secure, and all the staff are extremely friendly, and offer free parking.

We were in non ac, room #1, which seemed like the nosiest room, and with window open you could hear traffic. I believe other rooms especially ac rooms would not have this issue. The swinging chairs are really nice to relax, but wished there was one our own patio and/or a hammock.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent, especially for the price of the hotel, and they offer free bicycles (but you need to leave your passport).

A really wonderful place, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 1, which is closest to the road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I would say that the hotel itself is so-so. Our unit was quite smelly because OF the kitchen sink. I Have Been in better hotels in mexico with the same price. However the most anoyning thing came with payment.

I Have booked via booking and therefore didn't Have a chance to leave, which i would do otherwise.

So the story. You should be paying lets say 50usd per night (taxes included) however there si a 10% credit card fee (??) on top of that they didnot charge the card in usd but in mxp with rate 1usd=13,6. The usual rate is somewhere around 12,8-13. You might say that the diference is really small, however FOR me this is a principle problem how to scam people of many. If you advertise 50usd charge 50usd and not any number you come up with shaded with the conversion rate.

Not cool

Not cool, i am coming to tulum again in 2 weeks and won't be definitely staying here ever again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamIvetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasticcione, Proprietario at Uolis Nah, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

hi there,we would like to remind you , that we NEVER, we mean NEVER charge 10% fees up the amout on credit cards, but 3% wich is the bank fees, and the exchange rate, you should take the SELL rate, not the BUY rate, or just pay with dollars, otherwise if goes to the bank to buy dollars ,to pay the hotel rate, that will cost you 13.5 pesos for each dollar you need
we don't overcharge to nobody
enrico mangiapelo
uolis nah hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spent 3 nights with my wife there,
The rooms are tidy and clean, breakfast is ok, and the price is more than reasonable compared to the beach resorts.
All the staff were very nice to us!
Enrico the manager replied my emails promptly and although we never met, he was very kind and helpfull :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arielo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We spent a nice week in Tulum and enjoyed our stay in Uolis Nah. It's a cool little place, a small jungle hotel and you get to have a relaxed stay here. Don't expect a luxury hotel - I guess a lot of people who have complained about stuff here have set their expectations very high. For the price you pay here, you'll get a decent deal. But yes, it's a little bit on the wild side being on the edge of town - you have geckos running around near your breakfast tables, you hear birds singing (and sometimes screeching loudly) just outside your window at 5am, and your windows are covered with only a mosquito net, which means a fresh breeze is wafting in all the time. Mind you - if it's a wet season, bear in mind that all the humidity also gets inside. There are no double glazed windows or a/c to keep it out (at least not in the standard rooms downstairs), but if that's what you want, I think you should be really looking more towards a resort type of a place here.
Uolis Nah offers you a more authentic experience, staying both close to the nature and also close to local people, not just other tourists in the hotel zone. Tulum town is close by, an interesting place with some real character and not without some charm if you bother to look. You can get free bikes from Uolis Nah to cycle to the town, to the beach, to see the ruins or swim in the cenotes... and you will just love it because you feel a part of it.
People were friendly and helpful, all in all we had a great stay here!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Applefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 10 nights here with my five year old son.

Originally booked at the Parayso hotel at the beach but left after one night and happened upon this place.

Only has six rooms, good sized with a double and single bed, kitchenette, diner and terrace/balcony. Room had a ceiling fan that was more than adequate but in the hotter months may be worth paying extra for an upstairs room that has a/c.

Owned by a very nice Italian guy that is helpful and knowledgable about the surrounding area and is managed by a Mexican couple with two cute girls.

It is within a short walking distance of three large supermarkets and about a 10 minute walk from the Tulum downtown strip. 5 minute drive from the beach, tulum ruins and Xel-Ha.

Being at a hotel on the beach sounds attractive but the price/quality ratio is not in your favour and Uolis Nah ticks all the right boxes.

If I had to critize something it would be that the pool is a little cold and could do with a clean more often, but with the beach so close, who cares....

Would definitely recommend this place based on price, quality, location and value for money.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews