We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ahau Tulum
Nearby Hotels
US$ 298
US$ 290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 728
US$ 661
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 190
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$ 280
US$ 273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Yum Kin(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
US$ 108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 719
US$ 701
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 181
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Don Diego de la Selva(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 435
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
909
98
42
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
98
42
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbali hutmaster suiteraw foodlove cafebeach levelkite surfingevery morningjunior suitesyoga classesyoga spacemagical placejuice barcasa jaguarbeach frontlaid backrestaurant staffoctopus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stumbled upon Ahau after staying at two different spots in Tulum, enjoying them, but not finding a place that felt like home. Immediately the beauty and nourishing vibe began to soothe us. We walked into the open air yoga space, read the signs about manifestation, looked at the beautiful flags and wall hangings and sat down for 20 minutes of private meditation overlooking palm trees and sand and ocean. We thought we'd just be there one day, but each morning we couldn't bring ourselves to leave, so we stayed till we absolutely had to catch our plane. The spaces are gorgeous, the people lovely, with bright faces and available eyes. The wind that had been blowing hard for days, calmed down and we enjoyed swimming, playing and snorkeling in the comfortable ocean water. I had a massage with Koran and was so held on deep physical and emotional levels I was blown a way. We loved our affordable little upstairs hut. And they make the best coffee!! Construction was still happening, so there were some inconveniences, but we received what we needed and enjoyed our time there so much!! We were glad to have a car while we were there. It's not a necessity if you are happy to stay in the beach area but we enjoyed eating local food in town at the road side stands and little places where the locals go, and exploring ruins and cenotes. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have better views, but you need to be able to climb stairs. The downstairs of the $79 ish huts are a tiny bit smaller than the upstairs and we found them too cramped, but upstairs was fine, plenty for our simple needs. Ahau may be working on a few things to make these spaces less cramped.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Ahau had only been open about a month when we happened upon it on a beach walk on the southern end of Tulum. A stunning structure of Bali thatched roof meets colonial wrap around porch on the most beautiful part of the beach. The upper Master Guest Suites with their tall ceilings boast an amazing view of the beach with total privacy, The downstairs Master Suites open directly onto a porch with hammocks, onto the sand 25 yards from the ocean. The place was still under construction so I have to say some basics were missing at the time we were there (closets, drawers, hooks) but I have no doubt they are coming. The wood work for the rooms is all done on the property, They are very proud of their state of the art water reclamation system which we were quite impressed with after our tour. David, a bright and engaging architect from New York, is clearly invested in this property as more than a business opportunity. He has a nice mixture of business sense and commitment to the spiritual air of Tulum. Though the Master Suites are quite expensive by Tulum standards, soon the Junior suites will be ready and there are also small huts with dry toilets and outdoor showers in the making. Finally, there is a bunk house on the property for those on a really tight budget. I think the variety of people hanging out in the indoor/outdoor lobby is what makes this hotel so attractive. Ahau also offers yoga classes every morning in an open studio with a view to the ocean, We enjoyed both instructors very much. In essence, a work in progress with tremendous potential with an owner who knows how to actualize the dream. We will certainly be back and it seems, from what David tells us, that we will be able to afford it financially and morally.

Room Tip: Only the Master Suites were finished at the time of our stay and upstairs or down was fantastic.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dctraveller702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Imagine a place where the wind never stops rushing against your body and touching your soul... where the sand feels like a divine alchemy of flour and sugar... where the turquoise ocean ushers in fantastic waves that are as gentle as pillows... where the night sky boasts millions of stars and planets for you to gaze at and ponder your place in the universe... Imagine a place that transcends time.

Welcome to Ahau... the newest, hippest eco-resort in this fabulous beach community. David and Milana and their fabulous team are the perfect hosts for your retreat into nature and beyond. It doesn’t matter if you’re a big spender or a backpacker... The community they’ve created can host every kind of traveler in the mac-daddy beach front palapas buildings, the guests suites, or in the hostel.

Picture a beautifully rustic and luxurious room with exotic hardwood four post beds to rest your head after a long day of travel or a fun filled day of sun and sand. The restaurant boasts the quickest service in Tulum and sumptuous Mexican fare. Take daily yoga and meditation classes and get a massage from Couran to excite your body, calm your mind, and invigorate your soul. Catch a beautiful sunrise or take off for the day to explore the near by Mayan ruins.

Let your light shine from within as you take in the breathtaking nature... let your spirit soar high in the winds.. and let your being take a rest from the grind of city life.

Ahau is the place to be.. It is unlike any other.

I hope you enjoy your stay! We did. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JericaCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you're looking for the perfect getaway, look no further than ahau. This place was built with love and it shows in everything from helpful staff, to the beauty of the rooms, to the delicious fresh food that's prepared there everyday. It also doesn't hurt that it is situated on one of the world's most pristine beaches :). It's safe to say that everyone who has stayed there is counting the days until they can go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This place is Heaven on Earth. This is a brand new property, constructions were still underway (very close to finish) when we visited Ahau in the first week of January, 2012. Let me clarify: I have not stayed here overnight. But I can't wait to come back. Location: (reminds me of Santa Teresa-Mal Pais in Costa Rica) on a beautiful stretch of endless beach, with many other small hidden eco-places, amazing restaurants, a few little shops. Cabanas: Jose showed us the two-floor suites and junior suites with decks that are blends in perfectly with the surrounding palm trees. Luxurious minimalist earthy and peaceful design with amazing views straight from the bed. Hard to choose between top floor and beach level units. They are offering other type of accommodations as well, but we didn't have a chance to see. Common places - the open-air lobby, restaurant area were getting finishing touches and were in use already. Activities: at the time of our visit was planned for near future - could be already running - yoga, spa; kitesurfing (available next door). Without seeing the finished work of this amazing property I'm certain that the tranquility of Sun God (Ahau) is the perfect place to unwind and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
4  Thank BTCS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews