We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well done”
Review of Ahau Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very well done”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Overall great vibe! I often had lunch here - great tuna rolls, salads, smoothies - very fresh and light. The chocolate cake was rich and amazing. Beach hammocks and chairs are the perfect place for lunch or sunbathing and the staff is super friendly.

The partners Pepe and David have thought of every detail. The hotel has a wide range of rooms - from super luxury to budget. All the building materials are from the site, water is collected and filtered and the energy is solar. I didn't stay here or take yoga classes but they teach from a platform facing the beach.

Massages by Koran are nice as well -- a mixture of traditional styles and some not traditional holistic work helped sort out my hip/hamstring issues.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Bali huts look nice, Luxury rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelma122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    91
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
144
399
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stumbled upon Ahau after staying at two different spots in Tulum, enjoying them, but not finding a place that felt like home. Immediately the beauty and nourishing vibe began to soothe us. We walked into the open air yoga space, read the signs about manifestation, looked at the beautiful flags and wall hangings and sat down for 20 minutes of private meditation overlooking palm trees and sand and ocean. We thought we'd just be there one day, but each morning we couldn't bring ourselves to leave, so we stayed till we absolutely had to catch our plane. The spaces are gorgeous, the people lovely, with bright faces and available eyes. The wind that had been blowing hard for days, calmed down and we enjoyed swimming, playing and snorkeling in the comfortable ocean water. I had a massage with Koran and was so held on deep physical and emotional levels I was blown a way. We loved our affordable little upstairs hut. And they make the best coffee!! Construction was still happening, so there were some inconveniences, but we received what we needed and enjoyed our time there so much!! We were glad to have a car while we were there. It's not a necessity if you are happy to stay in the beach area but we enjoyed eating local food in town at the road side stands and little places where the locals go, and exploring ruins and cenotes. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have better views, but you need to be able to climb stairs. The downstairs of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Ahau had only been open about a month when we happened upon it on a beach walk on the southern end of Tulum. A stunning structure of Bali thatched roof meets colonial wrap around porch on the most beautiful part of the beach. The upper Master Guest Suites with their tall ceilings boast an amazing view of the beach with total privacy, The downstairs Master Suites open directly onto a porch with hammocks, onto the sand 25 yards from the ocean. The place was still under construction so I have to say some basics were missing at the time we were there (closets, drawers, hooks) but I have no doubt they are coming. The wood work for the rooms is all done on the property, They are very proud of their state of the art water reclamation system which we were quite impressed with after our tour. David, a bright and engaging architect from New York, is clearly invested in this property as more than a business opportunity. He has a nice mixture of business sense and commitment to the spiritual air of Tulum. Though the Master Suites are quite expensive by Tulum standards, soon the Junior suites will be ready and there are also small huts with dry toilets and outdoor showers in the making. Finally, there is a bunk house on the property for those on a really tight budget. I think the variety of people hanging out in the indoor/outdoor lobby is what makes this hotel so attractive. Ahau also offers yoga classes every morning in an open studio with a view to the ocean, We enjoyed both instructors very much. In essence, a work in progress with tremendous potential with an owner who knows how to actualize the dream. We will certainly be back and it seems, from what David tells us, that we will be able to afford it financially and morally.

Room Tip: Only the Master Suites were finished at the time of our stay and upstairs or down was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveller702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Imagine a place where the wind never stops rushing against your body and touching your soul... where the sand feels like a divine alchemy of flour and sugar... where the turquoise ocean ushers in fantastic waves that are as gentle as pillows... where the night sky boasts millions of stars and planets for you to gaze at and ponder your place in the universe... Imagine a place that transcends time.

Welcome to Ahau... the newest, hippest eco-resort in this fabulous beach community. David and Milana and their fabulous team are the perfect hosts for your retreat into nature and beyond. It doesn’t matter if you’re a big spender or a backpacker... The community they’ve created can host every kind of traveler in the mac-daddy beach front palapas buildings, the guests suites, or in the hostel.

Picture a beautifully rustic and luxurious room with exotic hardwood four post beds to rest your head after a long day of travel or a fun filled day of sun and sand. The restaurant boasts the quickest service in Tulum and sumptuous Mexican fare. Take daily yoga and meditation classes and get a massage from Couran to excite your body, calm your mind, and invigorate your soul. Catch a beautiful sunrise or take off for the day to explore the near by Mayan ruins.

Let your light shine from within as you take in the breathtaking nature... let your spirit soar high in the winds.. and let your being take a rest from the grind of city life.

Ahau is the place to be.. It is unlike any other.

I hope you enjoy your stay! We did. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JericaCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you're looking for the perfect getaway, look no further than ahau. This place was built with love and it shows in everything from helpful staff, to the beauty of the rooms, to the delicious fresh food that's prepared there everyday. It also doesn't hurt that it is situated on one of the world's most pristine beaches :). It's safe to say that everyone who has stayed there is counting the days until they can go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.9 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.2 km away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.7 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.8 km away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#24 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.6 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,814 - ₹ 29,026
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing