We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
359
197
50
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
197
50
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews que fresco small beachfront beach front mexi divers mosquito net dive shop laid back beachfront bungalow road noise ocean view fish tacos beach road watch the sunrise no air conditioning sound of the waves guacamole bike ride
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I loved the relaxed atmosphere. Great beach access and beautiful views from the restaurant. While I was there they had a visiting guest chef from San Francisco who made some delightful dinner specials, even some homemade coconut ice cream! The restaurant had live music which added to the dinner atmosphere. You can walk along the beach and also the road which runs parallel to the beach, and visit the many nearby shops and restaurants.

The front desk person was always available, and made me feel very welcome and taken care of. They have a PADI dive shop right on premise which I would recommend as well. They do both Cenote (fresh water caverns) and Ocean dives.

My room was large and very comfortable. There are quite a few nearby places to rent bikes for the day or week. There is a bike trail that runs along the highway to the town of Tulum, and also the Tulum ruins are just a bike ride away.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

I could not recommend Zamas more. We had a terrible experience at our first hotel in Tulum, but were planning to switch to Zamas mid-stay anyway. We asked to check in early, and they happily accommodated us. We stayed in two different hotel rooms -- a Garden and Beachfront. The Garden room was big and really comfortable. The Beachfront was smaller (as advertised on the site), but lovely and perfect for a couple, and it's hard to beat walking outside right onto the beach. The restaurant was great (especially the Taste of Tulum option), but even better were the staff who gave us any and all info we asked for with a smile (Chelsea was the best! She gave us so many great recommendations!). Zamas is the perfect place, and I would definitely come back.

Room tip: Beachfront is small but worth it for a couple
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank molly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Hola!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us. We are thrilled you loved your stay. At ZAMAS, our primary goal is to pamper our guests and provide them with a comfortable and relaxing vacation. Tulum has abundant activity and dining options, and I am personally delighted my recommendations made the trip more enjoyable.

You will just have to come back next year- our Taste of Tulum roster will be up on the website very soon! Please write us any time, we'd love to have you.

Hasta pronto,
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Zamas has a cluster of very unique little bungalows, several on the beach and then more across the road on the "jungle" side. The particular bungalow we had was on the jungle side, was quite spacious, however, if we didn't have every window open plus the door and fan running, it proved to be horribly hot and at times downright miserable. The bathroom was really cute but we could not spend ANY time in there without breaking out in a dripping-down-your-face sweat - NO ventilation whatsoever. If it were me, I would have taken the hammock chair out of the bonus room and put a table/chairs in there. There is plenty of room in the bungalow for the hammock chair to take up residence in the main room. Would also put a retractable clothesline in there somewhere, would love to see luggage racks to keep out luggage off the floor without placing it on the furniture and would have killed for some kleenex but fortunately brought my own. Zamas does not have a user friendly or particularly lovely stretch of beach; it's rocky in spots so we felt as though you need to go in search of a beach club or alternative to their spot. They mention the property's pool but it isn't as advertised; they did show us where the pool was when we asked, however it's attached to a rental house so is not available when the house is rented. We used it twice then they closed it for our remaining 3 of 5 days there. Don't believe the house was rented but didn't provide any explanation, merely left a notice in our room. With all the sargassum on the beach, the pool was one of the redeeming features of being there. We were so disappointed with the overall experience (and believe me, it's not because of the eco-friendly or basic nature of the compound), we left a day early (w/o a refund). We love Tulum but have found the rising cost of staying on the "beach" road, not to be mention the crazy traffic and exhaust, to be a major deterrent. Probably won't do it again.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Hola!

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know about your experience. Here at ZAMAS, it is our primary goal to provide our guests with the comforts they desire during their stay and we’re very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

Regarding the pool, we're very sorry it was unavailable during some of your stay. The pool belongs to a private house- we recently decided to open it to our guests whenever possible. We are planning to build a hotel pool within the new year and it should be available to our guests in a few months.

We're very grateful for your helpful suggestions about the room- we will be making updates shortly.

Finally and above all, we would have welcomed the opportunity to make your stay spectacular while you were here. With this in mind, if you would like to talk by phone or if there is something we can do at this point, please let us know.

Warmest regards,
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Zara's is a unique place with little bungalows, which are very roomy. The hammocks on the porch are great and very relaxing.
There is not any aircon but the fans are good and so is the ocean breeze. We had a Seaview from our porch. The beach was very wind blown while we were there but there is a pool which was nice. The restaurant was great and the food delicious.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Hola!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the food. Here at ZAMAS we strive to provide our guests with a rustic-luxury experience, and we're so happy we hit the mark! We hope you'll stop by the next time you are in town.

Hasta pronto,
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

A fabulous location, string quenching margaritas, stunning views, great little shopping strip, huge rooms all v eco friendly and an amazing plate of tacos! Staff were top notch helpful when asked for advice.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SW20Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Hola!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the food, and the staff. We hope you'll come back to ZAMAS for some tacos and a muy fuerte margarita soon!

Hasta pronto, Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews