We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tulum, thirty years later with Guide Pamela”
Review of Ruins of Tulum

Ruins of Tulum
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tulum (Spanish pronunciation: [tu'lum], Yucatec: Tulu'um) is the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city serving as a major port for Coba.[1] The ruins are situated on 12-meter (39 ft) tall cliffs, along the east coast of the Yucatan Peninsula on the Caribbean Sea in the state of Quintana Roo, Mexico.[1] Tulum was one of the last cities built and inhabited by the Maya; it was at its height between the 13th and 15th centuries and managed to survive about 70 years after the Spanish began occupying Mexico. Old World diseases brought by the Spanish settlers appear to have resulted in very high fatalities, disrupting the society and eventually causing the city to be abandoned.[citation needed] One of the best-preserved coastal Maya sites, Tulum is today a popular site for tourists.[1]
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I traveled to Tulum 30 years ago and was over the moon with the beauty, peacefulness and wonder of the place. Heavily forested, narrow paths opening up to a vase courtyard of unique ruins. The paint still visible on the walls of the temples. Red, Blue, Gold .. fabulous. Leaving Tulum in March of 2018 I was saddened to see the weathered decay that had happened but Pamela brought all those structures back to life for me. Having arrived at the Spring Equinox was exciting. Tulum is alive and well and the energy is apparent at first glance. I'm in love with Mexico and will be back because of Pamela. Thank you Pamela for your incite into the workings of the Mayan culture. And for your extreme breadth of knowledge of this magical place. You made my trip.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank renoir55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bring water"
in 362 reviews
"tour guide"
in 859 reviews
"the cliff"
in 404 reviews
"beautiful site"
in 176 reviews
"small beach"
in 147 reviews
"an umbrella"
in 262 reviews
"caribbean sea"
in 229 reviews
"playa del carmen"
in 480 reviews
"mayan culture"
in 414 reviews
"early in the morning"
in 270 reviews
"avoid the crowds"
in 174 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 172 reviews
"cool off"
in 184 reviews
"own pace"
in 139 reviews
"an excursion"
in 145 reviews
"ruins"
in 7,933 reviews
"iguanas"
in 966 reviews
Filter

1,011 - 1,015 of 27,358 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

While this place isn't Chichen Itza it is still a significant representation of Mayan structure and carvings. This area served as a "port" for trade up and down the coastline. We stayed in Tulum and grabbed a taxi to get to the area at 0800 (8Am). I highly recommend getting to the site as soon as it opens. You will be rewarded with a sparsely populated site that won't get busy until 10-1030. We felt like we had the place pretty much to ourselves. There is some information on the signs scattered around the site but you can also barter a tour guide for a couple of hundred pesos. We chose not to use a guide, they were still setting up, and had no difficulty understanding what we saw.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had a private taxi driver organized through our Hip Hotel Tulum to take us to cenotes and to the ruins. We spent about an hour walking around the vast property. It's worth seeing because the waterfront setting is very unique. I advise going in the morning before it gets too hot and crowded. There's a lot of walking so wear comfortable shoes and carry some water. We avoided the large area of commercialized souvenirs, but if that's your thing, you'll have plenty of choices.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jody s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This ruins are beautiful, the views of the caribbean sea are splendid, the guides treat you very well, i really enjoy this day.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Lydia0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Surely the Chichen Itza pyramids, the Palenque temples, and other Mayan ruins are some of the most amazing in the world, but no other than Tulum is so close to such a beautiful sea as the Caribbean. The light-gray sand beach with gentle waves underneath the ruins is just wonderful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank c7ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruins of Tulum also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ruins of Tulum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing