We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & Ambiance = Good”
Review of Rosa Negra

Rosa Negra
Ranked #40 of 454 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 2
Description: RosaNegra® is a space that radiates Freedom, a tribute to Latin American cuisine. Gastronomic traditions from countries such as Peru, Argentina, Colombia, Brazil and, of course, Mexico make the menu an eclectic combination with authentic and daring flavors. In RosaNegra® we are passionately committed to offering products and fresh ingredients of the highest quality, brought daily from their origin. Accompanied by handmade cocktails prepared with exclusive infusions of the house, natural ingredients and spectacular presentations; as well as the best contemporary music selected by our resident DJ. Passion for living and enjoying good cooking, good music and good company make RosaNegra® a true Latin corner, with that spicy flavor and the continuous desire to enjoy life.
Restaurant details
Description: RosaNegra® is a space that radiates Freedom, a tribute to Latin American cuisine. Gastronomic traditions from countries such as Peru, Argentina, Colombia, Brazil and, of course, Mexico make the menu an eclectic combination with authentic and daring flavors. In RosaNegra® we are passionately committed to offering products and fresh ingredients of the highest quality, brought daily from their origin. Accompanied by handmade cocktails prepared with exclusive infusions of the house, natural ingredients and spectacular presentations; as well as the best contemporary music selected by our resident DJ. Passion for living and enjoying good cooking, good music and good company make RosaNegra® a true Latin corner, with that spicy flavor and the continuous desire to enjoy life.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New place here in Tulum. Definitely going for the hip vibe. Food is good, decorations are amazing...but this led to the staff giving off a vibe of being too good for what they really were. I suggest the staff be a little more humble and attentive. If that's accomplished, then Rosa Negra will really be a great restaurant. Also, drink orders literally took forever. Always in a restaurant's best interest to keep the drinks coming and never empty....equals more tip money and happier customers.

Thank nateregehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rosa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nateregehr,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we will take into account what you tell us about the service, your comments will help us improve. We hope you can come back soon so we can give you a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I ate at this restaurant on March 23rd. This was the best meal by far in Tulum. The menu was also phenomenal. We both ordered seafood which was extraordinary. Our waiter’s name was Isaac. He too gets a 5 star rating and is remarkable. I am so sorry we did not return for another meal. We hoped each subsequent night would match the quality of this meal but none came close. Kudos to all who made this a superb experience.

Thank _mlouog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rosa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi _mlouog,

We thank you very much for the time you took to write this comment. We are very proud to know that we were the best dinner you had in Tulum and that we were able to surprise you with our menu. It is nice to know that we were able to offer you a unique experience, come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a spot that has a very cool vibe, they were very warm to our un-hip family of five. It is a place to see and be seen (but not heard ... very loud music!). Great people watching as it is open to the street.

I had delicious ceviche. One of my kids had the burger (which has a slider on top). It was very good but ridiculously large. Actually all the dishes are ridiculously large and many are very, very rich (even the salads, which one would hope are light, are rich because they are very overdressed).

Overall, a fun place with a varied,inventive menu and very good quality food. My only gripe is that the portions and richness of some items are out of touch with what we prefer (and I would think very out of touch with their youthful, health conscious target market too). They should tweak a few dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rosa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 6Continents,

Thank you very much for visiting us and sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our atmosphere and the creativity of our menu. We will take into account what you tell us about the portions and regarding music, our intention is to create a festive atmosphere. We hope you can visit us again, it will be a pleasure to help you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rosa Negra takes the extra steps to give you a refined experince without loosing it's Tulum feel. They do things like provide a wine chiller, changing out utencils, placing your napkin on your lap, etc. while not missing any Tulum charm. Our food was well prepared and tasted great. We happened to not have reservations but arrived early and were seated, after an hour is was obvious we would not have made it in had we not arrived early so if you want to be sure I'd suggest a reservation.

Thank 4cmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rosa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 4cmacy,

Thanks for writing this comment. We are very happy to know that you liked our dishes and that your evening was enjoyable. We hope you can come back soon to visit us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Should I begin with the “buts” or with the positives... guess with the positives. Good environment, amazing music, very special plates and very good quality ..., but don’t ask any waiter for explanation on the menu, waste of time, they have no idea. We asked for an expensive red wine, it took them 20 min to let us know they didn’t have the label. Very friendly waiters if it wasn’t for the time they spend chatting , you need to order twice. Place was kind of empty, very pricey for a restaurant in Mexico. By the way I’m Mexican and therefore very demanding!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rosa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere, the music and the quality of our dishes.

On the other hand, thank you for mentioning the situation of the service, we will take it into account to be more careful and prevent this from happening again. Thank you very much for your comments, we hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosa Negra also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Rosa Negra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing