We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 286
US$ 262
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 276
US$ 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 170
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Secret Garden Hotel(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
US$ 52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas H2O(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
US$ 714
US$ 464
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 687/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 427
US$ 374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$ 556
US$ 542
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
864
133
38
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
133
38
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morninggranolajuan carlosconcierge stafffresh fruitla zebrasound of the wavesyour doorstepsister propertybeach frontour honeymoonincluded breakfastfalling asleepspecial shout
Filter
Updating list...
863 - 868 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

If you are looking for a mega resort. Stay away. Honestly, stay away because this slice of paradise needs to be preserved. We stayed on the upper floor, looking over the ocean which was a stone's throw away. Room was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious. Fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and an omelette or other hot plate. This part of the beach is not ideal for swimming but works for a dip. It is at the end of the long bank so there is very little traffic through it which increases the overall sense that you've found a perfect hideaway. Better swimming is a short walk down the beach. The manager, Ashley is very cool, friendly and works hard to help you plan exactly the outing you are hoping to do. We were there two weeks before Christmas and it was everything we were hoping for. Can't recommend it highly enough..and this is the first time I have been motivated to fill out a review on tripadvisor

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ndmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We did not chose to stay at El Pez, having been moved there from La Zebra, however we did love the peaceful setting and the wonderful views of the pelicans. the rooms were really well designed making the most of the space and the hotel had a great aesthetic, quirky, original and very cool. The beach just along from El Pez is perhaps one of the most perfect I have ever been to. The El Pez beach itself though was a disappointment, it was covered in old seaweed which was rotting and buzzing with flies. I wondered if this was not cleared away for ecological reasons as perhaps turtles lay eggs in it in which case this is fine, if not its a real shame they don't clear it as it ruins the beach.

We were made to feel very welcome by the couple who manage the hotel who were lovely people and we spent Christmas Eve at the sandbar, enjoying a wonderful evening with good drinks and a lively but relaxed atmosphere. My less than perfect score though really comes down to efficiency of service. Though I totally appreciate that it must have been hard to get staff over Christmas I can only speak to the experience I had. I was travelling with a toddler who had jet lag and was waking up very early and very hungry!! Breakfast was supposed to start at 8 but on both days we had to wait around for a very long time for the promised cooked meal whilst there seemed to be an awful lot of disorganised chaos trying to give guests coffee and fruit, wanted or not and which seemed to be laboriously cut up as each guest arrived delaying everything else even further without even being offered some bread in the meantime (on Christmas day we left after an hour of waiting around and had a delicious breakfast at Zamas down the road) If you are sitting relaxing over a coffee admiring the view with nowhere to go and nothing planned then this is fine but we were trying to keep a hungry toddler entertained!

We gained about twenty mosquito bites each while we were there, but the hotel can't help that and they did give us a natural repellent to burn in the room, though I would recommend to anyone to bring something a little stronger with them as the mozzies here are relentless!

One final plus point about El Pez is the location, its just a short stroll away from lots of great bars and restaurants as well as a useful little mini market. Tulum itself is a wonderful place, a million miles from the noise and crowds of Cancun/ Playa and we would visit again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank member74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for five nights and enjoyed it immensely. Our room was a second floor room with thatched roof which was very spacious, well designed, and clean. From the balcony we could watch pelicans diving in the shallows, and herons hanging round the rocks. The sound of the ocean made sleeping very pleasant. The room had a very comfy bed with mosquito net (didn't see many mosquitos due to breeze) and ceiling fan. The in room safe was handy for passports etc.

The breakfasts were a highlight and very generous in size, we didn't need lunch at all most days! The homemade strawberry jam made by Ashleigh was especially tasty. The Sandbar on the property had a good vibe and tasty BBQ meats, as well as good cocktails. Would have liked to check out the beach party but unfortunately our stay did not include a Friday.

Although the picturesque beach outside is not the best for swimming it is only a 2 minute walk to the sandy beach around the corner, and if you feel like snorkeling there are plenty of little fish amongst the seaweed to check out. The hosts Roy and Ashleigh were both very helpful and friendly, and on our last night we walked down the road to watch Roy play in a jazz trio at a local restaurant. Was great to get good info on local cenotes to visit that weren't super crowded with tour buses.

We also went for a kayaking trip in the reserva de la biosphera protected reserve which is about 10km down the road which was suggested to us by Ashleigh when we asked for an energetic activity. Saw heaps of interesting nesting birds, and got a good 3 hours of paddling, would recommend to other fit travellers who had eaten too much and like exercise! All in all a great stay, would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spicysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Super charming. Very relaxed. Great service. Gorgeous views. Great location in walking distance from the good swimming beach and the small town strip with shops and atm. Sandbar is fantastic, great vibe, great bluesmusic and interesting food from the smokeoven. Wish they would open before 5pm

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This place is amazing! We chose the venue for our destination wedding and couldn't be any more pleased! Tulum is beautiful so I don't think you can go wrong with much inTulum, but El Pez is just a perfect set up for a wedding, family reunion, trip with friends, etc. There are 12 ocean chic guest rooms, 6 King Bed singles and 6 Family cabanas. Every room has both a balcony and ocean view. Brilliant!

Wedding
Being in beautiful Tulum the idea was to have an awesome barefoot, toes in the sand, waters-edge ceremony. Mother nature decided she wasn't too keen on the idea so there was rain ... and ominous clouds. El Pez staff started to set up the bamboo and white fabric canopy but the weather prohibited. Instead they set up an awesome area inside. They miraculously converted what we had used a a giant great/game/bar room the previous nights in to an awesome ceremony venue. And then a beautiful dinner setting. Food and drinks were AMAZING!!

Beach
There are rock formations so you can’t swim like a fish, but it’s awesome! Still the beautiful shades of blue and perfect temperature that Mexico offers. The rocks are amazing for pictures, chilling, just having an experience that isn’t the same ole’ thing!
There are plenty of beaches that are the most swimmable sand bottom areas, this is just not one. Check out the public beach access by the ruins (past Mezzanine, the sister company) or at La Zebra (the other sister company). Or walk a couple minutes along the beach, out of the cove and you'll be set. Like to be amazed by nature? Sea Turtles are prevalent here!! They were laying their eggs when we were there and it was amazing. We even had a great overview and Q&A session with one of the nature policy enforcement agents (totally made up her title, but I’m sure it’s close). : ) A helpful, friendly, patient stranger... which we are convinced is the NORM in Tulum. How refreshing is that?!

Rooms
So comfy! Every room has an ocean view and a large balcony. Beautifully decorated!
King Rooms- King size bed, awesome furnished balcony, waved ¾ wall divides the bathroom. You can see out to your balcony while taking a (salt water) shower. So fun!! No flushing of paper. IT’S NORMAL. There is a detached building with four additional bathrooms as well. so if you need/want more privacy to do your business - you've got options. Family cabanas – King sized bed, single bed, and another pull out single bed underneath. Brilliant! Awesome furnished balcony. Bathrooms are more private. A sliding opaque door separates it from the rest of the living area. Shower is at one end, double sinks in the middle and a partial wall separates the toilet.

Pool
Yep, even has a pool! It’s a salt water pool and it’s so refreshing!

Breakfast
Was included for us since we booked 4+ days. French press coffee was great. Fruit, sliced and diced to perfection.A different egg dish each morning. They were very accommodating to the dietary and taste preferences of the four children and one super picky adult at our wedding. :)

Roxana
She was my initial wedding planner. Super sweet and responsive. A few months before my wedding she transitioned to a different position at a sister resort but she still continued to coordinate my civil ceremony. When I met her in person for the first time five days before my wedding it felt like reuniting with a long lost friend. Visit her at Mezzanine!

Lina
She took over for Roxana and was equally as sweet and responsive. The Chef of La Zebra, she's fun and funky. Our wedding dinner was DELICIOUS! I heard amazing raves about the empenadas during cocktail hour. I didn't get one so I guess that's the only con. HA! It can get breezy on the beach so the sister resort, La Zebra, drops off guest checks at the restaurant in a box so your receipt/money/etc doesn't blow away.When we went to pay our bar bill for the wedding, Lina had made a beautiful check box with a bride and groom on top. I was really touched. I keep my wedding jewelry in it when I'm not wearing it. Visit her at La Zebra!

Carmen
She ran the front desk so she was our first encounter. SO SWEET! She speaks very little English, but could still communicate and understand my guests who were not bilingual. She was sooo incredibly sweet. Kindest eyes, warmest heart. We rented what was initially the entire villa and as part of that we had full use of the kitchen there. She cleaned out one of the two refrigerators for us and used a post-it note to declare “por novios only”. CUTE! Her day off was the day we were all checking out. We had left to check out the ruins so she thought she would miss us and not get to say goodbye so she wrote us a note to wish us luck and tell us that she was glad to have met us. Luckily we returned in time to give her a huge hug and thank her for all she did!

El Pez was amazing and the staff even more so!

Room Tip: Room 3 is great: single room, upper level, great view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonsays062711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews