We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$ 632
US$ 616
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
US$ 607
US$ 526
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$ 522
US$ 365
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas H2O(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 107
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 491
US$ 413
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 278
US$ 231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 399
US$ 389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 440/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 484
US$ 472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 575
US$ 560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 630/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maya Tulum Resort(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$ 313
US$ 217
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
844
129
37
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
129
37
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morningjuan carlosgranolaconcierge staffsister propertiesla zebrawatching the sunrisefresh fruitour honeymoonsound of the wavesincluded breakfastbeach frontperfect staythe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We loved the staff and ambiance at El Pez. The location is perfectly situated right on a beautiful beach and close to town, the ruins and the Siam nature reserve. They were great helping us find well priced tour guides to take us on birding adventures, climb the Mayan ruins and float down the mangroves. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the beach, talk to Ashley!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricaSaintClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I cannot say enough about how amazing El Pez Villa in Tulum is. We got married at a beach club in Tulum, down the street from Pez, in early April and booked all of El Pez for our wedding guests. We also booked their sister hotels Zebra and Mezzanine. We had about 100 wedding guests spread out among the three places. Everyone loved it! Many people said that it was the best wedding weekend/vacation they'd ever been to. I would highly recommend that all wedding parties seriously consider booking El Pez for their wedding weekend. You can't go wrong. Everything here is perfect.

From the moment I walked into El Pez, the staff there was above and beyond welcoming and accommodating. Ashley, the Pez manager, allowed me to store my wedding dress in one of their rooms for a couple of days before checking in, which was an excellent introduction to the accommodating nature of the people that run the hotel. Every single thing I could think of that we would want or need was happily catered to by one of Pez's amazing staff.

The villa and rooms were incredibly beautiful and well-maintained, with an unmatched view of the ocean. The beds were comfortable and best of all, the showers had great water pressure and were always hot (which is sometimes hard to come by in Tulum).
The balconies were large and comfortable with a huge bed-size lounge chair - a great place to lounge in the early morning when the sun was coming up and to enjoy a cold drink at the end of a long beach day.

The common area was a great central meeting point for all of our friends and family. Even those who weren't staying at Pez would come there in the morning to meet up and make plans for the day. It served as a glorified hospitality suite for all of our guests throughout the weekend. We were able to stock the bar with our own drinks and food, which cut down on costs of having to always go out when we wanted a drink. People made it their home for the week and it really felt like a home, with all of our friends and family there.

We had always planned to hold our rehearsal dinner at Pez on the Friday night before the wedding, but upon arrival, the owner, John, also offered to throw a party for our group on the Thursday night at their new Sand Bar (just steps down the beach from Pez). It was a trial run for the restaurant/bar and it was absolutely wonderful. The food, drinks, music and staff were absolutely perfect and it was a great introduction to Tulum for our friends and family. This could also serve as a great venue for a rehearsal dinner or wedding reception. It's bright and colorful and right on the beach.

Our rehearsal dinner was held in the common room in Pez and had a completely different feel from the night before, but was still amazing. We did a taco bar buffet dinner and hired bartenders to serve drinks. And Ashley helped us hire a salsa dancer instructor who came to Pez and taught salsa dancing lessons to our wedding group. It was SO fun and gave the whole night a relaxed and fun feel. Our guests LOVED it!! I highly recommend doing salsa dancing lessons if you want to give your wedding/rehearsal dinner a fun feel. Pez has the perfect space to gather a large group of people for dancing!

On the morning of the wedding, Ashely helped coordinate to have a yoga teacher come and teach a yoga class to about 12 of our guests. We held it in the common room and it was a great and fun way to relax the morning of the wedding, while overlooking the beautiful beach & ocean.

Additionally, the staff there helped coordinate to bring in a woman to give massages on our balcony ($60 for a whole hour!) and it was the most incredibly relaxing thing a bride could ask for. They also brought in a woman to give the bridesmaids manicures. It was amazing!
Anything you ask for, it seemed like they could do for you!

We did a post-wedding brunch the morning after the wedding, which was also amazing.
If you are looking for a fun-filled, relaxing, yet still perfect wedding weekend, I highly recommend El Pez. They can help you coordinate the whole thing and make it simply amazing for your guests. I have never met a nicer, more competent group of people running a hotel, than I did at Pez. Look no further on the perfect Tulum wedding spot....Pez is it!

Room Tip: Room #3 is the best! Incredible views of the ocea!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tay0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This was my first time staying at El Pez after multiple trips to Tulum. This might be my new favorite! Especially with the new Sandbar just steps away. The staff was amazing and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and I love the community feel of sitting with all the guests. The views from breakfast and our room was amazing and so nice to fall asleep to sounds of the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kodo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel and was not what we expected. Their web site made it look like a dream spot but in fact was kind of a night mare. When we checked in we were not ocean front as promised and the room was right over the kitchen which had a clunky
ceiling fan that kept us awake most of the night so we addressed it the
next morning and it was fixed. The
hotel is under construction so the
pool was dirty and un useable but
the beach was nice. Breakfast the first morning was good but the second was not good at all. "chileqiles" with store bought tortilla chips, now being Mexican that was an insult. The staff were friendly and tried to accomidate us the best they could. There was no air-conditioning in any of the rooms so at night you slept with your terrace door open and a ceiling fan to keep you fresh so it was hot and humid, but you could hear the sound of the ocean. I guess one trade off for the other. Tulum is for the traveler who is looking for the simpler things and laid back life style and I guess we just expected a little bit more then what we got. I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for anything fancy but don't forget to make sure they are done with the construction. My wife and I and our kids are not picky but since it's our hard earned vacation dollars we pay for and expect certain things and when soon check in things don't start out right it leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wiljor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Owner at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Thanks for making the time to write your review. I was staying at El Pez when you were there and am surprised at your disappointment. All the rooms at El Pez have ocean views. Your rooms have sweeping views to the north. And since you asked specifically for the 2 rooms upstairs (1 and 2) we had to ask another guest if they would mind moving to accommodate your request. When you asked if the guest would move back again so you could move downstairs, it was too much to ask.
The staff tried very hard to meet all your demands, including special food and drink requests for your children. The breakfasts have fresh fruit plates, fresh juices, and home baked coconut bread and home made jams...fresh ground coffee and each day a different cooked breakfast. We are sorry you didn't get home made tortillas for your chilequiles. But really? And also air conditioning is not at all eco-friendly and most places in Tulum (like El Pez) generate their own power and do not offer air conditioning.
Sometimes guests that are used to the big mega resorts in Cancun do not enjoy the simplicity of Tulum. My suggestion is always that if you want air conditioning and bright lights and discos, that Cancun is a better option in the future for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

It is small enough to provide a family atmosphere and knowing the small staff by name. We arrived just as a wedding group departed. A local chef fed us a lovely breakfast that we shared at a table with other guests. Within walking distance of many restaurants all along the beach road but has it's own quiet, private cove. The breeze through our room was continuous and refreshing

Room Tip: room facing the ocean (most are)
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigroy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews