We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sushi with a Mexican twist”
Review of Ukami

Ukami
Ranked #19 of 413 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Description: KONNICHIWA! Ukami is a jungle sushi bar and the only sushi restaurant on Tulum´s beach road. Our Mayapanese Kitchen is a mexican-japanese fusion. You'll find rolls and sashimis with a mexican twists, as well as tacos and tostadas with japanese flavours. WE HAVE DELVIERY SERVICE!
Restaurant details
Description: KONNICHIWA! Ukami is a jungle sushi bar and the only sushi restaurant on Tulum´s beach road. Our Mayapanese Kitchen is a mexican-japanese fusion. You'll find rolls and sashimis with a mexican twists, as well as tacos and tostadas with japanese flavours. WE HAVE DELVIERY SERVICE!
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Very cool spot and chilled vibe to wind down after an exciting day at the beach and enjoy fresh, delicious high quality Sushi with a Mexican twist. We had a couple of Tostadas and Sashimis which were beautifully prepared and presented as you can see in the photos. I also loved the refreshing cocktails (owner suggested, I forgot the name). And the service was outstanding! The owner sat down with us, talking us through the food, the restaurant concept and the history of the area. Thank you guys so much!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 393Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

 hi lawrence,

Thanks for coming, we are glad you enjoyed our sushi bar in Tulum.

Hope to see you around soon.

CHEERS

Ukami - Sushi Jungle Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Owner was great and very friendly; the preponderance of cream cheese in the sushi rolls is odd but works for some of them. Mostly it was the warm and very friendly service that gets the place 4 stars.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Director General at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Dave,

Thanks for coming to Ukami and for your feedback. I´ll be more aware on the rolls because our kitchen have the instruction to use as little cream cheese as posible.

We hope you come back soon to try our rolls again.

Cheers

Ukami - Sushi Jungle Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

CHEF JAVIER, BERNI "SANDERS" THE BARTENDER AND SERVER MARIANA WERE OUTSTANDING!

Best sushi in the world! They were so accommodating with all of my special requests!
Couldn't have asked for a better experience during our special engagement dinner!
Thank you so much Ukami Sushi! We will be back this trip, and again in December!

Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Propietario at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hola Morgan K,

Thanks for coming and for writing this review, it was a pleasure to make your vegan rolls!
We´ll be waiting you on December!

Cheers and have a great wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Best sushi in the area!
The food was delicious! And the fruity cocktails are great.
I really like the rice with shrimps and the tacos.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Hola Sofia,

Muchas gracias por visitarnos y por escribir esta reseña. Vuelve pronto!

:)

UKAMI - Mayapanese Kitchen
Sushi - Rollos - Sashimi - Bowls - Miso - Tequila - Mezcal - Cerveza - Cocteles - Margarita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I think i need to visit again before making an honest opinion of this place , the prawn tacos are amazing .. however we found the sushi a bit bland the cones also , the Vietnamese rolls are good , the owner from Guadalajara seemed to make an effort and attend the best way possible even though space is limited , music on the loud side for a restaurant , i think we were lucky that on the evening we were there not many people had shown up so our food came quickly and they were doing a good job all round , yes i would give it another try .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hola John,

First of all thanks for coming and for writing this review. We hope you come back soon and give us another try so you experience a 5 star night.

Best Regards

Ukami - Jungle Sushi Bar
Sushi - Sake - Beer - Margaritas - Mezcal - Rolls - Tequila - Tuna - Salmon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ukami also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ukami? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing