We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AMAZING HONEYMOON!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AMAZING HONEYMOON!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We traveled to the Rosewood Mayakoba in mid-June for our honeymoon. We had just come from our destination wedding location at the Secrets Silversands. Coming to the Rosewood was simply an Amazing experience and we could not have asked for a better honeymoon.

From the moment we arrived we felt special and welcome. We stepped out of the car and were greeted by frozen Chaya Mojitos which were one of the most delicious drinks I've ever had! Then we were taken by boat on the lagoon to our suite. At first, my husband was skeptical about staying on the lagoon, but the moment he stepped on the boat those fears were quickly swept away. We were greeted by a concierge butler standing by our private plunge pool. The room was amazing and we took advantage of our private HEATED plunge pool daily!

We spent the sunny days by the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. It was breathtaking. The service by the pool was fantastic and the little "surprises" made our day! They are always bringing fresh bottled water around and keeping it in cool ice for you! Bottled water is complimentary throughout the resort (another great perk!)

The food is amazing at both restaurants, however we loved Case Del Lago's mushroom truffle ravioli as an appetizer and enjoyed it every other night! We constantly asked for Mauro to be our server as he provided excellent service and made us feel special while we were celebrating our honeymoon.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic and there are so many options. The green juice is delicious and so are the chicken enchiladas!

The only thing to be aware of is the price of the food. It is a bit pricey, however we felt that we were on our honeymoon and it was worth the expense. It is similar to dining at an expensive steak house nightly (i.e., Capital Grille, Morton's, etc.).

We took advantage of the Spa during a rainy day. This was a splurge (but well worth it!!)...we did the 4 hour couples retreat and it was the best thing we have ever done. The spa facilities are immaculate and definitely serene.

We would love to return to this resort one day... (after we visit some of the other places on our bucket list!) But, this is a must go!!

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing! The Lagoon rooms are great for the price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeechGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    123
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
396
854
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

we stayed for 6 nights at the hotel for part of our honeymoon. From the beginning it was just perfect. We arranged for the hotel to transport us and we were greeted with cold towels and water and were told about the area by the driver. When we arrived we were taken on a boat trip to our room and were given drinks and fruit and wildlife was pointed out, including a crocodile and turtles. it was truly amazing. we were greeted on the dock by our butler Nick who was just lovely and had the most amazing twinkly eyes! he showed us round the room and ensured that we had double helpings of coffee pods all week for our coffee machine! The suite was just amazing and we loved ordering breakfast to our room every morning and eating it outside. The food is lovely. i am missing the french toast and their truffle tortellini as we speak. The actual hotel is just beautiul with all different wildlife around and they lit candles everywhere at night time. During our visit there were some serious celebs at the hotel and what we noticed was that they were not treated any differently to us and we receieved just as much treatment as they did. i was really sad to leave and would love to return x

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I can honestly say that in all travels, staying at some of the top hotels in the world, the Rosewood Mayakoba is beyond a doubt the best we've ever experienced. There is no hotel that I know of, with a friendlier staff, more efficient service and did I mention the nicest, most relaxing beach club!!! (oh ya, white sand beaches and turquoise water doesn't hurt either) The one word that kept on coming up was "perfect" (and for us, that's nearly impossible). Hats off Saharai and JC both of whom could not be more helpful. We try never to do the same resort twice, however in this case, not only will be returning but we we'll be making it an annual visit.

I have to say, I am a very busy person, however I felt compelled to open up a Tripadvisor account just to take the time out and compose this review. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the beach side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello Jonathan! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on trip advisor. So glad that we could create the "perfect" experience here at Rosewood Mayakoba and that with all your travels and opportunities to stay anywhere, you have chosen to return back to us.. It certainly makes us all very proud and continues to motivate us to keep creating those wonderful experiences for all of our guests... Thank you as well for mentioning Saharai our chief Concierge and JC one of our best butlers, they are true gems and exemplify our spirit of service. We look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future and thank you again for choosing to stay with us...Warm Regards...Graeme Davis Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have traveled all over the world and can confidently say I have never seen a more spectacular resort. Besides the wonderful location, the service is outstanding. Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, is nice and attentive. Not a second goes by or a step is taken without a staff member trying to serve you better. Fantastic! The only slight drawback was the food which was not as good as other Rosewood Resorts (e.g. Las Ventanas al Paraíso). Other than that, not only would I strongly recommend this resort, I plan to come back myself, hopefully often.

Room Tip: Een though I stayed in a more expensive beach side suite, next time I will just as well stay in a La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianaChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My partner and I had such a lovely time at Rosewood Mayakoba. The property is absolutely gorgeous. Everything, from the grounds to the suites, to the spa, to the restaurants were simply stunning. We stayed there over the US Thanksgiving holiday, and are so grateful for the time we spent there.

Odette Sanchez (reservations agent) and I had emailed back and forth prior to our arrival, and she was a pleasure to deal with. This experience carried through to Monse, the front desk agent who checked us in. She was just fantastic. She acknowledged us by name upon arrival, escorted us to the boat in the lobby, and gave us a wonderful tour on our way to our upgraded suite on Spa Island. While we were entitled to an upgrade, if available, by booking our trip through American Express Platinum's Fine Hotels and Resorts Program, she went above and beyond, and upgraded us to the Spa Suite. This was very much appreciated, and a very nice surprise. We cannot tell you enough about our appreciation for Monse. Her warm smile and friendly demeanor immediately made us feel welcome and set the perfect tone for our trip.

The Spa Suite, in a word, was stunning. It was such a wonderful space, with lots of light, privacy and just a perfect environment for much-needed rest and relaxation. Our butler was also equally wonderful, giving us a tour of the room, and explaining the floral and fauna we looked out on. Housekeeping was on point at all times and didn't miss a beat. Everything was well-thought out, from the eyeglass cleaning wipes to the replacement of all sweeteners with Splenda, which was the only sweetener we use. Our butler and the housekeeping team were just terrific, and made us feel at home. After unpacking our DVD's we brought with us, our butler immediately ran off to get a DVD player to hook up in our living room. What terrific service!

Breakfasts and dinners at the restaurants were wonderful - not a bad meal ever. We really enjoyed all our meals there, including pool side lunches. We tried the Tequila tasting one night with Balam. He was gracious in his presentation of the various tequilas and gave a very thorough explanation of each. We were highly impressed with his wealth of knowledge, and willingness to share and educate us. We arrived not knowing anything about Tequila and came away as Tequila experts!

We were able to enjoy the lobby pool amenities, such as the cucumber eye treatments, the refreshing complimentary treats and the pool attendant's attentive service to all our needs, including the unique set-up of our chairs, one in the sun, 2 in the shade under an umbrella. The pool-side team should be recognized for their outstanding service.

En route to our room one afternoon after spending a perfect day at the pool, we stopped in at the gift shop and immediately fell in love with the local artwork they were selling in the shop. After spending a long time admiring, deciding and then buying 3 pieces of artwork, the team at the gift shop wrapped everything up in bubble wrap, protective paper, and prepared it for us to bring on the plane. An hour later, our butler brought the package to our suite, and it was packed extremely well. The artwork made it home without any problems at all. Their careful and attention to detail in packing up our artwork made all the difference on the plane ride home. We especially appreciated their patience while we spent time deciding which special pieces to buy and display in our home.

While the entire experience at Rosewood Mayakoba was relaxing and refreshing, it wouldn't have been complete without the spa. Sense is, hands-down, the nicest spa we've been to. We travel frequently, and use spa's all over, but this one was different, it was heavenly. I can see clearly how this spa is rated one of the best in the world. It truly deserves it. The amenities (refreshments, relaxation areas (inside and out), steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and jacuzzi pool) were out of this world. The service was just as wonderful - the spa attendants and the massage therapists were all professional, courteous and very helpful. We really enjoyed our quiet time at the spa.

Roberto Manrique at Concierge was very helpful to us. We wanted one morning or afternoon of adventure and he booked an ATV excursion for us. What a great time we had! We were concerned about bringing towels, as the excursion called for us to bring our own. He simply told us to show up in the lobby for the excursion and not to worry. He handled everything for us - when we arrived at the lobby the next morning, the bus for the excursion was there, and waiting for us were bottles of water and beach towels to bring along. What attentive service! When we got onto the bus, there were several other folks who were picked up from other Cancun-area hotels / resorts, and they were all remarking at how lucky we were to be able to stay at the Rosewood Mayakoba. We couldn't agree more.

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday there, and are looking forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: The suites on Spa Island are adult-only. No children are allowed to stay on Spa Island, making it es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIslanderTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.0 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.1 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,385 reviews
8.6 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
9.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,521 reviews
8.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 49,739 - ₹ 1,61,148
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing