We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
626
324
69
26
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
324
69
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing boats continental breakfast small hotel ocean view boutique hotel restaurants and shops every morning the location is perfect light sleeper private balcony two blocks coffee maker third floor small pool oceanfront room night life fifth avenue
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Cozy boutique hotel REALLY close to the action and right on the Ocean. Nice condos, well taken care of. Very small pool and problem beach (covered in seaweed) El Stinko, no swimming. Staff is great, very polite and accommodating.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank monstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear monstur,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your room, the friendliness of all our staff as well as our convenient location in the center of Playa del Carmen.

Please accept our most sincere apology about the current condition of our beach. We understand how disappointing this is, especially when you are visiting from far away. However, this is not a representation of our beach throughout the year. The seaweed is a seasonal problem that occurs at certain times of the year, and usually only lasts a few weeks tops. In the meantime, we work hard to keep our beach clean and most enjoyable for our guests.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Mar 27-april 4th

Let me first say it’s difficult to find fault with this beautiful oasis in the heart of Playa del Carmen .
My boyfriend and I decided about 6 weeks ago to get away from the nasty bitter cold weather of New England for an 8 day break and to celebrate my birthday :)
This gorgeous boutique hotel has all that we needed to wind down and totally relax on the tropical beach in Playa

The staff at the hotel are tremendous .. Carlos you Rock ! And Luiz your smile is infectious :)
They are always attentive and willing to help with any request ,big or small , with a huge welcoming smile :)
We would happily encourage anyone considering this place to vacation without any hesitation !!

Thank you To All the staff for a marvellous holiday ... we will return !!

Note
Even though the hotel room is literally one block from 5th Avenue with the bustling restaurants and night clubs we never once were bothered by any late night ruckus!

Clare and Hasan

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Clare and Hasan,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review and the top rating. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and the best possible reward for our daily work and effort. We are glad that we could provide the perfect winter escape! We especially appreciate your great shout-out to all our staff, in particular, Luis and Carlos who sure will be very happy when we pass your comments along.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile


OMG
Excellent service
Mr Luis went all out to accommodate and rectify our pre booked studio ocean front room which all worked out well in the end. I was still recovering from shoulder surgery and he arranged extra ice to be delivered to our room in order to ice pack my shoulder at the end of day!
We even extended our stay an extra 2 days - busy season but still managed to keep us in the same partial ocean front view room. Which was nice as I didn’t want to change rooms...
Excellent beach service too Daniel was super...
we loved the beach - ample enough chairs, umbrellas and the breeze fantastic. Beach not to clean but I didn’t mind cause I wouldn’t have been able to tackle the light waves anyway. Pool was a bit cold but once in was soothing. Even got brought drinks to the pool side.
Breakfast was the same limited choice but always got more than asked for.. the fresh orange juice was a definite plus for me.
cons: Queen bed more like full when one has to have extra pillows due to surgery (not their fault) regardless I do think they need to get king beds!

The Indigo restaurant next door on the left kept us fed and very much alcoholically hydrated. Prices reasonable.

We had massages for $20 US for a full hour which really ran 90 mins. My husband had a pedicure for $15 and not being able to wash and dry my hair the message lady arranged for someone to come to my room to help me for $10.. made me feel good and special. THANK YOU.
Finally we will definitely be back... HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Thank you

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shahanaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Shahanaz,

Thank you for your lovely and thorough review, and for recommending us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Playa Palms Beach Hotel and our personalized service. We especially appreciate your great shout-out to Luis and Daniel. It's always so nice to receive such positive feedback and the best possible reward for our daily work and effort. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back! Make sure to contact us to receive your returning guest discount.

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Playa Palms is just like home. We've visited before and the staff remains friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the beach with easy access to transportation & ferry service and 2 blocks from the main shopping area. The rooms are clean and well maintained Carlos and Luiz provided excellent concierge services with great advice on historic and snorkeling sites. We look forward to our trip

Room Tip: Bring coffee filters and ask for the espresso machine to be replaced by a drip coffee maker
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Mike,

Thank you for this great review and the top rating! It always makes us happy to see familiar faces in Playa Palms Beach Hotel, and the fact that we could make you feel like home is the best possible reward for our daily work and effort. We also appreciate your kind shout-out to Carlos and Luis - be sure we will pass your words along! It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at the Playa Palms Beach Hotel. Right in the heart of Playa del Carmen, but tucked away for peaceful privacy. Nice little private beach for sunning/relaxing. Not really good for swimming, but walking distance to better swimming areas. We had a very nice room on the 2nd floor with a huge balcony with a great ocean view. Really nice and helpful staff. We would definitely stay at the Playa Palms again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank schulte3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear schulte3,

Thank you for your lovely review and the 5-star rating. We are happy that you enjoyed your room at Playa Palms Beach Hotel and the ocean view from your balcony, as well as our convenient location and the tranquility in spite of it. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews