We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kool paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kool paradise!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

I love to stay in el taj when I go to Playa del Carmen they have two buildings one oceanfront and the beachside both are equally good, I have stay there many times in different rooms and all of the rooms are clean, beautiful decorated and very comfortable. Always I've had a great experience there and the best thing is that is in the center of the action steps from the most beautiful beach clubs, international restaurants and great shops. The hotel gardens are lucious with a Balinese feeling to it, it feels like paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocio022169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    241
    65
    22
    18
See reviews for
513
432
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at El Taj Oceanfront unit 336 and it was AWESOME! Great views and loved the beach club, gym and location to 5th street. The best thing was drinks, dinner and more drinks on the roof top and looking at the ocean and Cozumel. If you like wine we found a great place to purchase wine. Right across from Sur is a liquor store that has a great wine selection at reasonable prices. The condo was very clean and decorated nicely and had all the amenities as home. Look forward to our next playa trip and hopefully we can get the same unit!

Room Tip: Unobstructive view of the ocean from the balcony, living room, dining room, master bedroom and roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownGirlTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

There isn't much to say about El Taj, except that it is almost perfect. Rooms are big and extremely clean, bed is tall, big and amazingly comfortable (my room was the 354).

Staff is friendly and helpful in a perfect balance without being pedant. My staying was PERFECT from the moment I booked from the moment I left the hotel.

My wife and I didn't want to stay in an all inclusive resort. I wanted to explore everything Playa has to offer, from tours to restaurants and shops. For that purpose El Taj is the best option. Location can't get any better (one block from 5th av where all restaurants and shops are)

To be honest we didn't stayed much at the hotel or the beach club, but the one time we did stay we really liked. It could get a little crowd and the beach isn't the best to swim and service was great and also food was tasty and above average for a beach restaurant

THE BEST ABOUT EL TAJ
Location
Staff
Room (size, amenities, cleaning)
Beautiful and comfy decoration

IT COULD BE BETTER
Sound proof windows - some night clubs make a lot of noise at night

TIPS
It really worth it paying a little more to stay and the ocean front buildings
There is not really an ocean view from most of the rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed over spring break at El Taj in unit 354. The service on the property and ine the beech area was excellent. They have private beach recliners/beds for you with the staff constantly moving your umbrella and coming to check on you. The area on the beech is alot quieter than the more public area to the right but it is walking distance to local restaurants and shops.

The rooms are luxurious and the pool is amazing. They have a beautiful Asian/Bali type theme.
The restaurant on the property was great breakfast and lunch. We ate there several times.

I would definitely go back!!It was one of the most relaxing places I have been.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParoolK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My title says it all. While this was one of the more expensive hotels when we were booking our trip, we chose it because it because of all of the great reviews. Our intentions were to check this hotel out as a possible wedding venue for our destination wedding. We focused on the negative reviews people gave it, such as the boats on the beach and he noise from other hotels. For those reading this review I will say that we couldn't even hear the noise and as for the boats, well they kinda killed it for us. If you look at pictures they are anchored out in the water, which you will encounter if you try to swim in front of the hotel. You also can't just walk on the shore near the water without having to hop over all 15 or so ropes where the boats are tied to the shore. On a positive note, we like to dive and Phantom Divers leaves right from the front of the hotel and you get a 10% discount through the hotel. If you're the kind of person looking to just lay on the beach and not really swim or snorkel in the water, then you might be fine with this. The location is near to all the shops and eateries on 5th Ave. You can easily take the ferry to Cozumel, which you can see from the hotel. After having been to both Cozumel and Cancun, it seemed like the prices were jacked-up in the area. El Taj really had great rooms, beds and showers and the workers really were kind and great. We are budget/value travelers. We need somewhere safe and comfy to sleep at night but value a great beach, great food prices and things to do at night. I preferred our trip to the Oasis in Cancun where we paid 700 less. There was also more space at the Oasis and just like El Taj lots of marble floors and down pillows.This is not meant to be a bad review of El Taj, but it just wasn't for us. We are beach people and this hotel didn't have much of a beach.Oh I did like that they have complementary water in the rooms:)!

PS- You should see lots of reviews for El Taj, because they give guests a business card as they depart asking for reviews on tripadvisor:)

Room Tip: Rent a car. It's safe and easy to find things and the hotel has free parking. Ask the hotel abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,653 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#13 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.1 km away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
0.2 km away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
0.4 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,626 - ₹ 28,162
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing