We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, close to eco-parks and local town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #42 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Beautiful resort, close to eco-parks and local town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Just returned from a fantastic trip to Royal Haciendas and the Playa del Carmen area with husband and 2 boys (11 and 8)! The resort was very beautiful and the rooms very nice and the whole complex extremely clean and well-kept. We are not owners, and we felt very welcomed and we were not hassled to sit through a sales pitch. We picked the resort because of it's close proximity to the eco-parks (Xel-Ha, XCaret, Xplor) as well as it's very close to downtown Playa and we wanted something that had a kitchen so that we could eat in for breakfast and lunch. We are a very active family and don't like to sit around at the pool day after day, so having so many options other than being on the resort was great, which is why we didn't stay at an all-inclusive. On the days we were on the resort, we played tennis in the morning, the sand courts are very nice. Played volleyball after lunch and then hung out at the pool. The kids also enjoyed the activity room (ping-pong) and the game room (bumper pool and Xbox). Happy hour has 1/2 price drinks, which was awesome and we took advantage of every day we could! Prices in the restaurants and pool side snack bar were reasonable.

We took the free shuttle downtown the first night and ate on 5th avenue and then walked to Walmart (it's only 3 blocks from 5th avenue), and then took a taxi right from Walmart back to the resort. The onsite grocery is reasonable, but if you are going to be downtown anyway, going to Walmart is very convenient and cheaper with much more selection and there is a taxi stand right at the exit. The taxi for each way was around $10 + tip. Playa del Carmen had a really great atmosphere and we felt very safe walking around and it was really great staying at a resort so close to a good town so that we could experience the local culture.

We booked the Xel-Ha, XCaret and XPlor package and loved them all for different reasons! The boys loved XPlor the best. Xel-Ha is quite a bit further away (45 minutes). XCaret and Xplor are only about 15-20 minutes from Royal Haciendas and we took a taxi for all of them. We booked the parks online directly through the park - I think the resort would prefer you to book through their travel agent.

We stayed at the resort Wednesday - Wednesday and did have to switch rooms on Saturday (the resort tells you about this upfront, so we were not surprised). I was worried about the transition, but the resort did make it very easy for us. I didn't like having to pack up, but it was OK. We were able to use the new unit right away, even though it hadn't been cleaned, which I preferred because I didn't want to be stuck at the pool without having access to our room and things. Our first unit was on the 2nd floor and it was great. The second unit was first floor and we had a big problem with mosquitoes. No matter how many we killed, we kept finding more and figured they were coming in every time we opened the door or patio.

Awesome vacation and I would definitely stay at Royal Haciendas again. Apparently this is the first year they have opened it up to non-members and I am real glad and hope they continue to offer it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    793
    247
    84
    63
See reviews for
1,677
954
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I rarely give excellent ratings but this is our fourth year at Royal Haciendas and we come twice a year for multiple weeks. When you are greeted with welcome home they mean it. The entire resort is clean and if you have questions they are answered truthfully.

Room Tip: Any room is good depending on what you want. We prefer the third floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

wonderful place, great staff, beautiful property and location! we will visit again and again!! OBX VISITORS

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I were invited to the Royal Haciendas to share a vacation with great friends. We certainly were pleasantly surprised by the beauty and cleanliness of the grounds and rooms. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive to our needs. The restaurants provided great service and good food as well. Playa Del Carmen is nearby and there are some great places to dine and party on 5th Ave. We had such a great time at this resort with our friends that I bought a timeshare and are going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JersJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We are owners at the Haciendas for the past 4 years and really enjoy coming to this resort or the Royal Mayan in Cancun. We were there for Week 16 this year.
Tips:
- Happy Hour - 3pm each day - great drink deals in pool bar!
- Activities - have lots of fun kids and adult activities - take advantage - free
- Taco Party - don't bother - gross tacos. Go to YO Tacos in Downtown Playa for great/cheap tacos and $12 US buckets of beer
- Los Morales - Great experience and Food!
- Gym - Broken equipment and no sanitizing wipes for machines
- Concierge - would encourage this staff to actually meet with the guests - talk about what is new this year (golf, activities, restaurant options)
- Sales Team - they used to meet with us as owners during breakfast or lunch and comp the meal - they stopped this program. Be careful - we asked alot of questions and sales team couldn't answer. If you are looking to buy - go direct with an owner. Marianne was an extremely rude sales person that needs to listen more and talk less!

Overall - this is a great and beautiful facility and family vacation. I would suggest for people but there are many things that the management could do to make it an even better experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Member:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

Thank you for your kind words about our resort, we really appreciate them! Regarding the issues you mention, I've passed a copy of your comments about our Gym, Concierge and Sales staff to management; they will review them and make the necessary adjustments in our service and facilities as needed.

Please let me know if there's anything else I can help you with.

Warm regards from your home in paradise,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
4.3 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
3.9 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,141 reviews
4.1 km away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,771 - ₹ 29,739
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing