We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #45 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We traded in through II. e had a large 2 bed 2 bath lockoff unit.
Nicely furnished.
The grounds and pool areas are beautiful. Beach a little rocky for swimming.
Beachfront restaurant so so.
Free shuttle to town, great choice of restaurants.
I'd come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,872 - 2,876 of 3,805 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our first stay at the Royal Haciendas was in 2009 as guests of time share owners. Even at age 65, we loved it enough to buy two weeks of our own, but settled for every other year, starting in 2010. Now, having just returned from our third trip to the resort, the fact that we have to wait until 2014 for our next one is downright depressing.

The Haciendas is simply beautiful, in every regard. The Villas (what they call the complete two bedroom units with a living room and full kitchen, sleeping six) are lovely and spacious, but even the suite (which doesn't include the second bedroom) or just that bedroom (which includes a sink, microwave and mini-refrigerator) at the Haciendas is certainly enough if you don't need the full kitchen.

The expansive beach front has enough palapas that we could always find one for shade. The two large pools each have their own swim-up bar and restaurant serving good food until 5:00 each evening. (We do wish they were open a little later for a light dinner). Two charming kids pools are under-utilized, as are two cool-water lap pools for more serious swimmers.

The main restaurant, Las Palapas, serves a nightly buffet with varying themes. (Mexican night on Sunday is wonderful, as you would expect, but prime rib night and Asian night are right up there.) The regular menu is great and shareable for those with smaller appetites. (The fancier dining room, Los Murales, is more costly and we didn't eat there this year because we had a youngster in tow when we were joined by our daugter and her family for part of our stay.)

My favorite activity this year was grabbing a few minutes in the smaller of two activity rooms (the game room) to cool off and play some bumper pool wth Jorge, Antonio and Julio...three of the nicest young guys you could ever hope to meet, who seemed to enjoy having some adult company since the Wii and Xbox were more attractice to the younger set. Indeed, there are plenty of facilities and activities for kids of all ages, and there's a delightful mix of guests, from young families to us older retired folks. (The Haciendas does get pretty quiet in the evening, so young couples might find the place a little TOO quiet, but the nearby (an easy $10 cab ride) town of Playa del Carmen hums until the wee small hours.

This year we joined a tour group to visit the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, having done the closer ruins at Tulum and Coba on our earlier trips to the resort. We stopped at the crowded but fabulous Ik Kll cenote on the way. We also rented a car for a day and snorkled at Akumal and the nearby Yal Ku lagoon, stopping for lunch at the wonderful La Buena Vida (between the two) at mid day. But you don't have to leave the property at all to have a great week in the sun. We love looking forward to our next visit...just wish it weren't two years away.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room on the property. The top (4th) floor has a raised ceiling which we like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stratford64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This place is awesome. I was invited by some friends that have a timeshare. The rooms were spotless, beds comfortable and plenty of room for 5 people. The resort convenience store has everything you could want. The folks that work there were so nice. Very different from some of the places I've stayed in the states. They went out of their way to get you anything you needed.
As for the activities they have things you can do every day or not if you choose. The main pools (2) are HUGE with swim up bars. Their is also 2 lap pools for adults and 2 pools for the kids. 2 hammock areas to get out of the sun and just relax. On site rental equipment for diving or snorkeling, and clean beach towels every day.
The beach is right off the pools with plenty of TIKI huts. Two resturants, food geat as well. Any activities you want to do or go see they will arrange for you as well as a driver to get you there. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a great vacation in Mexico. This ws my first trip and I was a little leery, but I never felt uncomfortable being at this place in Mexico for a minute.

Room Tip: Room that have balcony's facing the west side get the afternoon sun. Proably hot, but I was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The pool wait staff are extremely slow! But the grouper sandwich and wrap are worth the wait at the grill. The food is over priced for what you get. Rent a car or take the shuttle into town to get groceries and ask about the happy hour specials because they won't tell you about them if you don't. A beautifully kept resort and beach. Decent snorkeling off the beach too

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read about the slow service you report having experienced at the pool. I've passed a copy of your comments to management in order to follow up and adjust our service as needed.

Having said that, I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our beach and facilities and also that you had the chance to do some snorkeling in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean sea.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from the Riviera Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first stay at this fabulous resort. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the villas which are very nicely decorated. Beautiful fountains, grounds and pools throughout the facility and the beach views were amazing from every point of view. Restaurant right on the beach was great with reasonable prices and good selections, as were the pool bars and food choices. The staff was excellent always courteous and going that next step to make your stay that much better. Customer service was amazing, the staff and facilities is very well maintained with excellent amenities to suit each guest. The resort is in a great location, quiet and and accommodating for a trip into town with a short taxi ride or free shuttle to downtown Playa Del Carmen for the day. You can choose to participate in the many planned resort activities, or take a day trip to a variety of tours offered through the Thomas Moore agent.
The staff is very friendly and everyone goes out of their way to make you feel at home. Attention to detail is outstanding, we were very satisfied and pleased with our choice and plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool, we did not have any issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.4 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,882 reviews
4.4 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
3.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,053 reviews
4.3 km away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
4.7 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 13,714 - ₹ 37,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing