We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
291
100
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
100
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluna solpool areabreakfast was includedceiling fansmall poolvictoravefridgestovebeachpoolsideroomycancuncobacenotemaid
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

So this is a great choice. Just a couple of streets away from the (noisy) heart of the city, this hotel offers a nice pool, spacious rooms, and efficient and friendly service! Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thanks Chris for your review!

We are glad to know that you liked the pool, the rooms, and the service!

We can't wait to welcome you again!

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a small, quiet hotel, near enough 5th Avenue without being too noisy. The room was nice and clean, and air conditioned. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen area is a big bonus, as we were able to make breakfast every morning. We also enjoyed the swimming pool. The beach was only 4 blocks away, so we did not miss not having a beach front hotel.

Room Tip: We lucked out with a room in the upper floor facing the pool. Nice quiet view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Gérant at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you so much to have take the time to send us this review.
We really appreciate it.

We are glad that you enjoyed the kitchen in the backyard and that you find that our staff is friendly and helpful.

We loook forward to welcom you again in our litlle paradise!!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was a great find. A couple of blocks from 5th ave meant that we avoided the noise that comes with late night revelry. A garden like enclosed courtyard offers a small pool and feels about 10 degrees cooler that outside. Very helpful staff, would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a 16 room hotel, with security, close to 5th Avenue, but away from the hustle. Friendly staff, eager to help, we stayed a total of 13 nights. Drinking water available at the front desk, and coffee supplied 8.00 a.m till noon. Rooms have fridges, and there is a kitchen close to the pool, which can be used by all the guests, we did not use it much, but was handy, and pretty well used by other guests. All rooms have individual air conditioners. Most rooms have two double beds, only 4 have king size beds, so when booking make sure you know what you are getting. The downside was the hard beds!! Although another guest let us know that toppers were available, which we asked for and got, not perfect, but better. A small amount of toiletteries are supplied, shampoo, conditioner, and a small block of soap, however not replaced, you have to ask at the front dest. A close walk to the beach, hotel supplies beach after leaving a refundable deposit. Wireless internet available throughout the hotel, although the connection was variable, sometimes very good, and other times very weak. Unfortunately we had a smoker in the room below us, so sitting out on the balcony the smoke came up. Overall an exellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Good and bad with each, personal preference
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheenaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Sheena,
Thanks for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We took in note your comment about the beds and we are trying to get something that will stay on the beds but that will be removable if someone prefer an harder bed.
We look forward to welcome you again in our littel paradise.

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have traveled to PDC many times over the years and have transitioned from the all-inclusive resorts to the boutique hotels in the heart of town. Don't be intimidated to make this move if you really want to experience Mexico. You need to be careful of your choice though. The nearly world famous 5th Avenue can put forth a mild roar, even on weeknights. LunaSol, is just the right combination. Not too close, not too far. You will also be pleased with all of the great places right on the street: Diving - Playa Scuba, Dining - Carboncitos, Las Brisas, Manny's. You should also check out the C-store next door to north (Super Chiquitta?). You are also very close to the Collectivo stands on Calle 2 - maybe 100 meters.

Our room had 2 double beds sitting on the typical Mexican cement bases. The matresses are rather firm. Apparently they have foam toppers if requested, but we did not need them. The one thing in the entire stay I thought was substandard were the sheets. They are a little "crispy" compared to even average US standards, but this was a small blemish. Due to the spacious floor plan (we had #7 right by the pool), excellent water pressure, nice built-in cabinets, a safe, good lighting and fridge etc., we give the rooms high marks. I would note that our lower level room could be less private for some, so discuss this with the hotel. You may prefer a 2nd floor room or not right by the pool - ours was just a few steps from the pool and kitchen but just fine with us. I would also note there was NEVER a smell of mold or mildew which is a major problem in this climate.

The amenities are good, including the fully equipped shared palapa style kitchen, comlimentary water, coffee and beach towels (if you leave a deposit of $20 US per towel). We exchanged daily, but I believe you could do it more often if needed.

The staff is excellent. The front desk can help with tours and everything from taxis to dining or directions. The housekeeping is daily and spotless. The pool has nice furniture and was very clean during our stay. The waterfall helps nearly block all daytime noise as well. An under rated benefit not mentioned by many, is the nighttime guard who sits by the locked front gate. This isn't really an issue in PDC, but just another level of service.

I suppose you can find cheaper, but after nearly 15 stays in PDC, this is an ideal location a secure property, clean and comfortable rooms and an excellent staff. Unless you require a beach view, this one is a winner. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is closer to pool, 2nd level is more private.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonyandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Tonyandk,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our place. I guess that after 15 trips down here, you have a good idea of the accomodation here in Playa so it's an honnor for us to see how much you liked our place.

Thanks to mentionned our good location... 5th avenue can really be noisy and in LunaSol it's quiet and only 3 minutes walk from the 5th avenue.

For our matress, we are checking right now to find something to put permanently on the matress to make it softer....but also something that we can take off if someone require a harder matress.

For the sheets, we only use 250 hilos per inch bedding. Normally hotels use the 150 hilos per inch sheets. The 250 hilos sheets are higher quality, but it also means that they are thicker...
We also change all our beddings at the beginning of each year... a newer sheet may fell less soft then an old one.

I'm also glad that you wrote that there's no bad smell in our hotel. That's an issue that is very important for us with our tropical climate!

We really hope to welcome you again in our little paradise soon!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews