We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy hotel to stay close to the beach”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very professional customer service. They speak french, english and spanish. They are very kind and they have been very helpful in helping us booking activities around Mexico.
The hotel is well located, close to the 5e ave but far enough to be quiet when you return. Rooms are very clean and backyard is very charming with a pool and a kitchen where you can cook all meals you want.
I would definitly go back to LunaSol.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Karine,

Thanks to have took the time to write this review.

It's a pleasure to read that you find that our customer service is very professional.
It's our priority. For us, good vacation comes with exceptional service and that's our mission at LunaSol.... to make your stay unforgettable!

We are also very happy that you like our instalations and the kitchen.

We trully hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

So this is a great choice. Just a couple of streets away from the (noisy) heart of the city, this hotel offers a nice pool, spacious rooms, and efficient and friendly service! Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thanks Chris for your review!

We are glad to know that you liked the pool, the rooms, and the service!

We can't wait to welcome you again!

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a small, quiet hotel, near enough 5th Avenue without being too noisy. The room was nice and clean, and air conditioned. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen area is a big bonus, as we were able to make breakfast every morning. We also enjoyed the swimming pool. The beach was only 4 blocks away, so we did not miss not having a beach front hotel.

Room Tip: We lucked out with a room in the upper floor facing the pool. Nice quiet view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Gérant at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you so much to have take the time to send us this review.
We really appreciate it.

We are glad that you enjoyed the kitchen in the backyard and that you find that our staff is friendly and helpful.

We loook forward to welcom you again in our litlle paradise!!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was a great find. A couple of blocks from 5th ave meant that we avoided the noise that comes with late night revelry. A garden like enclosed courtyard offers a small pool and feels about 10 degrees cooler that outside. Very helpful staff, would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were given the worst rooms I think at the hotel. Rooms 9 and 12 facing the street. Now we know why you have to give the full amount which is very unusual in Mexico because seeing the rooms you would have gone elsewhere. We booked elsewhere in the same month and only had to give a deposit. We were brushed off by Rollande the first night of our stay and in the morning she totally ignored us which now makes sense. I guess she knew and did not want to deal with our complaints. I must say that the front desk staff and the location is the only positive thing about this "Hotel/Motel". For a $120.00 cdn. a night, this was a complete disaster.

We are suspicious about most of the ratings for this Hotel/Motel this was to good to be true. This is only a 2 star and not a five star like some of the reviews we read. They say that we are not treated as a number but we were treated as we did not exist.

The door of the room was full of cracks and openings. We were able to see the sun shining from he inside. Bugs were crawling from underneath. We left at 6 am the last day, we were infested with ants and other unknown bugs. We know this is a tropical climate and we know that bugs are frequently seen if you keep food in your room, that was not our case we did not have any food at all and we were on the second floor. Mildew on the shower floor and a run down shower head. Very dim room and a hook to keep the screen from opening. Very small room for the price which the sheets were clean but the cushions were stained and a hard mattress.

We sent an e-mail a few days before our arrival to make sure that they were expecting us with details of our arrival but they never answered back. We were suppose to say for 3 weeks but thank God we didn't. We know they will reply but let pictures speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Better hotels in Playa for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rick_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Gérant at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Rick and Louise,

We are very sorry that you didn't had a good stay with us.
Can we please ask you if you made a formal complain while you where here and to who?
We will really like to know this information to give the appropriate follow up.

If you didn't liked the location of your room, did you ask to change of room? I see that we had availability during your stay. It would have been our pleasure to change the location of the room to your convenience.

For your comment about Rollande... she wasn't inform of any complains from you so she couldn't intentionnaly have ignored you. You arrived at the begginning of the month... perhaps she was preoccupied about the accountancy...or about the new system programmation that she was working on. We are very sorry if you felt she didn't treat you right. She probably saw that the frontdesk clerk was taking good care of you and she didn't felt your need to have her taking care of you too. Again, we are very sorry about that.

For the ants, we do some fulmigation on a regular basis. If there was no food or dirty dishes, or sand from the beach in the room... I do not anderstand why you got some. We willl definitely make a full inspection of both rooms to be sure that there's no problem.

Hard matress: like we wrote before, we are taking care of this right now. By today, 11 of the 16 rooms have our new overmatress to make it softer. And in a few days all rooms must be done. If you had told the frontdesk about it, we would have put a foam on your matress.

For the shower head and tube: we actually changed some this week . We will make sure that the one you mentionned have been changed too.

For futur guests who read this comment, please, please..... if you have any suggestions or complains or need something extra during your stay.... please inform us at the moment so that we can take action and make your stay unforgettable and perfect. If you do not tell us, we cannot do nothing. It's at your advantage to tell us right away....so your vacations/stay won't be affected because we will definitely do everything in our power to make your stay as perfect as it should be.

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,315 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
877 reviews
1.3 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#31 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,906 reviews
0.3 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,601 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#71 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 9,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing