We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 356
US$ 309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 293
US$ 276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 195
US$ 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 540
US$ 380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 497
US$ 333
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 476
US$ 341
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 622
US$ 552
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
US$ 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,844
US$ 959
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 879
US$ 747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
291
98
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
98
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluna solpool areasmall hotelfully equipped kitchenbus stationwithin easy walking distancepalapa roofdefinitely stay here againbreakfast was includeddesk staffceiling fansmall poolking bedvictoravefridgewalmart
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have traveled to PDC many times over the years and have transitioned from the all-inclusive resorts to the boutique hotels in the heart of town. Don't be intimidated to make this move if you really want to experience Mexico. You need to be careful of your choice though. The nearly world famous 5th Avenue can put forth a mild roar, even on weeknights. LunaSol, is just the right combination. Not too close, not too far. You will also be pleased with all of the great places right on the street: Diving - Playa Scuba, Dining - Carboncitos, Las Brisas, Manny's. You should also check out the C-store next door to north (Super Chiquitta?). You are also very close to the Collectivo stands on Calle 2 - maybe 100 meters.

Our room had 2 double beds sitting on the typical Mexican cement bases. The matresses are rather firm. Apparently they have foam toppers if requested, but we did not need them. The one thing in the entire stay I thought was substandard were the sheets. They are a little "crispy" compared to even average US standards, but this was a small blemish. Due to the spacious floor plan (we had #7 right by the pool), excellent water pressure, nice built-in cabinets, a safe, good lighting and fridge etc., we give the rooms high marks. I would note that our lower level room could be less private for some, so discuss this with the hotel. You may prefer a 2nd floor room or not right by the pool - ours was just a few steps from the pool and kitchen but just fine with us. I would also note there was NEVER a smell of mold or mildew which is a major problem in this climate.

The amenities are good, including the fully equipped shared palapa style kitchen, comlimentary water, coffee and beach towels (if you leave a deposit of $20 US per towel). We exchanged daily, but I believe you could do it more often if needed.

The staff is excellent. The front desk can help with tours and everything from taxis to dining or directions. The housekeeping is daily and spotless. The pool has nice furniture and was very clean during our stay. The waterfall helps nearly block all daytime noise as well. An under rated benefit not mentioned by many, is the nighttime guard who sits by the locked front gate. This isn't really an issue in PDC, but just another level of service.

I suppose you can find cheaper, but after nearly 15 stays in PDC, this is an ideal location a secure property, clean and comfortable rooms and an excellent staff. Unless you require a beach view, this one is a winner. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is closer to pool, 2nd level is more private.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonyandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Tonyandk,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our place. I guess that after 15 trips down here, you have a good idea of the accomodation here in Playa so it's an honnor for us to see how much you liked our place.

Thanks to mentionned our good location... 5th avenue can really be noisy and in LunaSol it's quiet and only 3 minutes walk from the 5th avenue.

For our matress, we are checking right now to find something to put permanently on the matress to make it softer....but also something that we can take off if someone require a harder matress.

For the sheets, we only use 250 hilos per inch bedding. Normally hotels use the 150 hilos per inch sheets. The 250 hilos sheets are higher quality, but it also means that they are thicker...
We also change all our beddings at the beginning of each year... a newer sheet may fell less soft then an old one.

I'm also glad that you wrote that there's no bad smell in our hotel. That's an issue that is very important for us with our tropical climate!

We really hope to welcome you again in our little paradise soon!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the LunaSol for 8 nights and were completely happy with our choice. The hotel is well situated, not too close from the crazy 5th ave but close enough to reach the beach after a 5 minutes walk. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful while Nancy, the owner, is very charming. Rooms are clean. The hotel is quiet and the pool area with a fully equiped kitchenette is very convenient for pool side breakfasts. Finally, little details like free wi-fi, drinking water and even umbrellas when the weather turns bad make the LunaSol a great Hotel that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixelPeteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear PixelPete,

Thanks to have took the time to write us a review!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also our service.

Hopefully next time you'll come it won't be rainy and you won't need the umbrellas! ;)

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It is my 3rd time at the Hotel Lunasol and once again: WOW!

This is the perfect hotel when you come in Playa, it is without any hesitation the cleanest hotel I have been to. The staff is always there to help you. They brought us towel when we came back from the beach all wet from the rain, they even gave me a Bottle a wine on my B-day with a nice card, made our reservations in the restaurants. Really the staff is the best.

The kitchen in the garden in a paradise to have breakfast and late diner as well. The pool in the best place to relax after a day at the beach. What's better then a 5@7 (happy hour) at the pool with a delicious XX. Every room has a little fridge to keep your beer, wine, vodka cold. (It is good also for the milk and the juice for the morning :O)

This is THE BEST HOTEL in Playa, do not hesitate and book here. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: I love the room on the first floor by the pool the #5 is the best. (but has 2 bed)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Ms. Bernèche,

Thanks again for you perfect review!

I guess we will have to put your name on the door of a room here! ;)

We really appreciate your fidelity!

We looks forward to welcome you again to your mexican home!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked on line through hotels.com then found out it is rated #1 in its class on Trip Advisor it is almost perfect for everything. We were greeted by friendly staff who were waiting for our arrival. Check in was flawless and we were helped to our room with our bags. We had room #6 which backs onto the pool court yard and made it really easy to take our supplies to the communal kitchen to cook. Lots of people used the kitchen but we never felt we could not go in and cook right along side others. I believe the communal kitchen plays a part in the whole experience we cooked and met some really great people one family went fishing and caught a 50lb Amber Jack then brought it back to the hotel and cooked for everyone that night. Thanks for sharing Michele and Patrick :D The hotel owners joined us for dinner that night both Rolland and Nancy are very friendly and welcoming.That then prompted another guest to put on an Italian dinner for everyone (very tricky with only 2 decent sized pots, lots of little pots but when cooking for 20 Jason you did a fantastic job) Many of the guests we met were repeat customers and I can see why. The staff is so friendly and always willing to help and look stuff up for you. The towel art is amazing the bedding is luxurious and crisp. Coffee is on every morning to start your day plus you can get hot and cold water purified at anytime. The pool was clean and refreshing but don't let the look of a hot tub fool you it is not heated it is just a jacuzzi. If you get there and wonder why the raised area in the middle we asked and found out there is a big rock under it and it could not be removed when they hand dug the pool. The little kitchen is awesome lots of cutlery and dishes. The stove is a ceran top and there is a large fridge(plus a little one in your room). The pantry has some communal supplies like salt and oil. There are 2 toasters and a blender plus a broiler pan. The no stick frying pans have seen better days not all people know how to clean them properly.

Luna sol is only 3 blocks to the water and has a beach club arrangement with Wicky's if you purchase 100 peso's of food per person you get a beach chair for the day for free (umbrella's extra) we did use this once but found the beach club right at the end of 4th on the left a better deal. It is closer we paid 100 peso's for 2 chairs and an umbrella for the whole day plus they did not pester you to buy something we then could walk back to the hotel and make lunch.

The collectivo stand is just one block over on 2 which is perfect for doing day trips only 30 peso's to go south to Akumal (free snorkeling from the beach if you have your own equipment) or Tulum only 57 peso entrance fee.

to go north to Puerto Moreles is only 20 peso's (worth the trip to snorlel the park)

Across the street is a fantastic little fish taco stand and if you need a good cup of coffee you can get it one block down towards the beach at Casa Tucan.
There is a little grocery store right next door for supplies and if you need veggies another one 2 doors down. But if you want bigger shopping Walmart ,Aqi and Mega are only 6 blocks away. Everything is walking distance from this perfect location. 5th Avenue is the big shopping touristy area lots of trendy restaurants and bars. We did look around at other hotels in the area but could not convince ourselves that we could stay in them. Lunasol is so clean. We normally go to a new destination each year but after going to Lunasol we are considering going there every second year that way we don't give up the idea of seeing the whole world but also would also get that awesome Lunasol experience again and again.

If there is a downfall I would say it was the beds they are quite hard but if you ask at the desk they will give you a topper it helps a bit but we missed our brand new pillowtop.

Room Tip: If you like to cook yourself room six has easy access to the kitchen plus the back door seems to have a bit more privacy due to trees.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Cblakey,

This review is wonderful...so complete!

I'd like to let you know that we are seeing the issue of the beds right now so next time you'll come, it should feel softer!

We are glad that you enjoyed the ''family dinners''. This is why we did this kitchen. We love that people can meet there, share experiences, etc.

It also feel very flattering to read that you are now considering to come each 2 years when normally you change destination.

We really hope to see you in 2 years...or before!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I came back at this hotel for the third time. Loved the friendly staff that can help us enjoy our vacation. Loved the big pool and the garden were you can relax. Loved the location of the hotel (near the beach, downtown Playa del Carmen). Loved the rooms that are clean, comfortable and beautiful. Loved to cook in the kitchen with the other guests. In fact, loved my trip at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Elyse,

Thanks for your review!
I'm glad you came back again to our little paradise....and hopefully you'll come again this year!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews