We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I week is not enough!”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I came back at this hotel for the third time. Loved the friendly staff that can help us enjoy our vacation. Loved the big pool and the garden were you can relax. Loved the location of the hotel (near the beach, downtown Playa del Carmen). Loved the rooms that are clean, comfortable and beautiful. Loved to cook in the kitchen with the other guests. In fact, loved my trip at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Elyse,

Thanks for your review!
I'm glad you came back again to our little paradise....and hopefully you'll come again this year!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is the fourth year in a row that I visited LunaSol. When I read the other reviews I have to totally agree that LunaSol is all that has been said and more ! It is always like coming "HOME".The warmth and friendly staff,comfortable rooms,cleanliness,beautiful gardens,refreshing pool and wonderful Palapa kitchen equipped with everything you need,what is not to like ! I love being at LunaSol and it is apparent that many others share my feelings. as others like myself are repeat guests.This also adds to the friendly atmosphere of having an extended family here in Playa. Don't listen to all that is said about Mexico,come to this country and see for yourself. Treat yourselves to an experience in Paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms are great,some with 2 double beds,some with 1 king size.Each room has a good size fridge,c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicabonitadiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Patty,

Thanks for your fidelity, thanks for your friendship, thanks for everything.
I guess that after 4 years to come 4 months a year, we can say that you are part of LunaSol, part of the family, and a wonderfull friend.

Hugs,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Limasol - our best hotel in three weeks of touring Central America. The rooms are good - with fridges, wifi, a/c and reliably hot water and the public area (including pool and communal kitchen) are inviting. The location is fine being only five minutes from the beach, ADO bus terminal (the tourist one) and ferry to Cozumel. But the best thing of all was the staff: friendly, accommodating, welcoming and with good English. Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Ones on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool are probably the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Rstoat,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again in your mexican home again!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The common areas at Hotel LunaSol were lovely, with a gorgeous palapa-style lobby (with turtles!) and relaxing pool area. It's very close to the main pedestrian shopping and dining zone on 5th, but just far enough away to feel like an escape from the over-priced tourist craziness. It's easy to leave your car at the hotel and stroll to anything you'd be interested in doing.

The room was comfortable, quiet, and air conditioned, with a safe and plenty of shelves and cupboards to put luggage in. Having filtered water available around the clock and coffee in the AM is a nice touch.

On the minus side, the bathroom was in need of some maintenance---the shower fittings were crusty and leaky, and the grout and drain catch were pretty dingy looking (though they had obviously been cleaned along with the rest of the room).

In the end, we were happy there, but at $125/night, it didn't strike us as a great bargain. We stayed in a comparable place in Tulum for under $60 (including a light breakfast), and in a modern, beachfront hotel on Cozumel for $75. LunaSol's prices seem cheap compared to the major beachfront resorts and American chain hotels, but kind of high compared to other small properties in the region.

Overall, we had a pretty comfortable stay in a convenient spot at a basically fair rate. It's probably hard to do better than that in such a popular destination.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandtpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Jandtpeters,

Thanks for your review.
Since we saw your review, we did an inspection of the rooms and changed the fittings and drain of 2 showers... We really appreciate when people let us know thoses things so that we can improve. In high season it's hard to get daily in all the rooms for inspections. So when people let us know in the moment, we can fix the situation immediately.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in our little paradise.

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was a little bit nervous traveling to Mexico, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff at Hotel Luna Sol was great. Everything was clean. The bed was a bit hard, but after a few days we were used to. The hotel was far enough from the noise and close enough to walk to the beach. When the staff found out it was my birthday they left me some hand picked flowers and a note. I thought that was very thoughtful. Loved this place, will defiantly be back again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a balcony view of the pool. I thought it was fine. When it got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlm1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear JLM1869,

Thanks for your review. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us.
We are actually trying to get something to make the matress softer... it should be fixe in a few days!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
857 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#90 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
266 reviews
0.4 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
460 reviews
0.3 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 3,707 - ₹ 9,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing