We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 426
US$ 371
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 166
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 547
US$ 392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 276
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 439
US$ 333
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 611
US$ 283
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 622
US$ 552
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 410
US$ 391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 879
US$ 747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,729
US$ 959
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
291
98
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
98
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluna solpool areasmall hotelfully equipped kitchenbus stationwithin easy walking distancepalapa roofdefinitely stay here againbreakfast was includeddesk staffceiling fansmall poolking bedvictoravefridgewalmart
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is the fourth year in a row that I visited LunaSol. When I read the other reviews I have to totally agree that LunaSol is all that has been said and more ! It is always like coming "HOME".The warmth and friendly staff,comfortable rooms,cleanliness,beautiful gardens,refreshing pool and wonderful Palapa kitchen equipped with everything you need,what is not to like ! I love being at LunaSol and it is apparent that many others share my feelings. as others like myself are repeat guests.This also adds to the friendly atmosphere of having an extended family here in Playa. Don't listen to all that is said about Mexico,come to this country and see for yourself. Treat yourselves to an experience in Paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms are great,some with 2 double beds,some with 1 king size.Each room has a good size fridge,ceiling fan and individually controlled air conditioner [optional] a huge shower in a private bathroom,patio,tv with a wide range of channels,a complimentary digital safe and great complimentary wireless internet on the whole property.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicabonitadiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Patty,

Thanks for your fidelity, thanks for your friendship, thanks for everything.
I guess that after 4 years to come 4 months a year, we can say that you are part of LunaSol, part of the family, and a wonderfull friend.

Hugs,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Limasol - our best hotel in three weeks of touring Central America. The rooms are good - with fridges, wifi, a/c and reliably hot water and the public area (including pool and communal kitchen) are inviting. The location is fine being only five minutes from the beach, ADO bus terminal (the tourist one) and ferry to Cozumel. But the best thing of all was the staff: friendly, accommodating, welcoming and with good English. Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Ones on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool are probably the best.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Rstoat,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again in your mexican home again!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The common areas at Hotel LunaSol were lovely, with a gorgeous palapa-style lobby (with turtles!) and relaxing pool area. It's very close to the main pedestrian shopping and dining zone on 5th, but just far enough away to feel like an escape from the over-priced tourist craziness. It's easy to leave your car at the hotel and stroll to anything you'd be interested in doing.

The room was comfortable, quiet, and air conditioned, with a safe and plenty of shelves and cupboards to put luggage in. Having filtered water available around the clock and coffee in the AM is a nice touch.

On the minus side, the bathroom was in need of some maintenance---the shower fittings were crusty and leaky, and the grout and drain catch were pretty dingy looking (though they had obviously been cleaned along with the rest of the room).

In the end, we were happy there, but at $125/night, it didn't strike us as a great bargain. We stayed in a comparable place in Tulum for under $60 (including a light breakfast), and in a modern, beachfront hotel on Cozumel for $75. LunaSol's prices seem cheap compared to the major beachfront resorts and American chain hotels, but kind of high compared to other small properties in the region.

Overall, we had a pretty comfortable stay in a convenient spot at a basically fair rate. It's probably hard to do better than that in such a popular destination.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandtpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Jandtpeters,

Thanks for your review.
Since we saw your review, we did an inspection of the rooms and changed the fittings and drain of 2 showers... We really appreciate when people let us know thoses things so that we can improve. In high season it's hard to get daily in all the rooms for inspections. So when people let us know in the moment, we can fix the situation immediately.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in our little paradise.

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was a little bit nervous traveling to Mexico, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff at Hotel Luna Sol was great. Everything was clean. The bed was a bit hard, but after a few days we were used to. The hotel was far enough from the noise and close enough to walk to the beach. When the staff found out it was my birthday they left me some hand picked flowers and a note. I thought that was very thoughtful. Loved this place, will defiantly be back again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a balcony view of the pool. I thought it was fine. When it got a little bit noisy we shut the doors and put the air conditioner on to avoid the noise,
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlm1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear JLM1869,

Thanks for your review. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us.
We are actually trying to get something to make the matress softer... it should be fixe in a few days!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I really want to give this place 5 stars, but I settled on 4. Pros: Wonderful and attentive staff, beautifully designed hotel, very clean place and nice deal with the beach club. Cons: like most places we found in Mexico and Belize, the beds and pillows were rather hard. They didn't have softer pillows on offer. This is subjective, but took away from the experience. Likewise, the wifi isn't very strong. Overall, we really liked this hotel. It's not far from the beach and the deal with the beach club is great.

Eat at Casa Hotel Tucan on Calle 4, just one block from the hotel on the way to the beach. My wife and I ate breakfast there 3 days in a row and had dinner and drinks on another night. Great food for a great price.

Room Tip: Room #2 next to reception was not pleasant in the morning. You can hear everyone at the front desk.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Picksteve,

Thanks for your review. We are getting something for the matress to be softer.
For the pillows, did you ask for a softer one at the frontdesk?
We have extra ones, with different texture.
If you asked, please let us know who answered you please to be sure that this person knows about the extra pillows.

We are happy that you had a good time with us and we trully hope to welcome you next time you'll come in Playa del Carmen!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews