We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest, Helpful Staff, Best Pool by far and Cleanest, Coziest Rooms I've seen in a long time!”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Wow, what a nice stay we had at the Lunasol Hotel and their pool is teriffic! My wife and I arrived there for a short vacation from our long vacation with family on our way home to Belize. We booked this hotel thru Priceline and were initally miffed because that website had it listed as having Airport Shuttle Service available to the property...which it didn't. Initally I was pretty miffed upon arrival and let Victor, the front end manager know it but being a true professional, he quickly had me simmered down and enjoying our stay. He was most helpful with great advice on places to go and places to eat at along with always having a cheerful smile on his face. He seemed to truly enjoy his job and was very proud of the hotel.
We found ourselves enjoying the pool area with its outdoor kitchen very much, in fact, on our second day, we preferred that to the busy beach and vendors. It was perfectly shaded in areas yet had plenty of sunny spots to lay out and relax in. It was surprisingly private for the most part.
It is within easy walking distance from the ADO bus terminal where you might arrive from and only $2.50 cab to the other ADO terminal to catch your bus back if you need. They allow you full use of the property and store your bags free of charge if you need to wait till later to leave. Walmart is just up around the corner and the famed 5th Avenue is 200 yards away.
We will stay at this hotel when we return and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: They were all good rooms from what we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear Scottlyons,
Thank you so much for your comments.
I've contact priceline to tell them that the shuttle airport service is not clear that you have to contact the hotel to book it and that it's an extra cost. Normally they should have a ''$'' sign beside it and a note saying to contact the hotel to reserve this service. Hopefully they will make the changes soon. We felt so bad about this misunderstanding. It's a good thing that Victor has such a nice smile and a nice way to talk to people... and that he finds a way to make you forget this situation. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities, this is the most important thing for us. That's true that it's very quiet in the backyard to relaxe and cook.
Thanks also to say that you will recommend us... this is the best advertising we can have and we really appreciate that you help us with that!

Remember that you are always welcome to LunaSol!

Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a perfect hotel. Free coffie in the morning and free water. The room was big the beds very comfy and there was both AC and a fan. The shower was big and the toilet was separeted from the shower in a "room" of it´´s own. There was a refrigerator in the room. The kitchen in the poolarea was super clean and there was a microwave , toaster, and everything else you need to make a lunch , dinner or breakfast. The hotel is located near the beach and the center but still in a very quiet area. They cleaned the room every day and it´s amazing how many different animals the lady that cleaned could make out of towels. The staff vas very nice and helpful too. I would highly reccomend anyone to stay at this hotel!
Sweden

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweden1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Sweden1977,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!
There's so much things to do with the towels: elephants, little girl with the skirt, swan, dog, monkey, etc. We are glad that you enjoyed this little detail that the maid was not always making the same thing. We try to think in everything to make your stay unforgettable.

We trully hope to welcome you again soon in your mexican home!

Regards,

Nancy and Victor
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had 4 nights in Playa del Carmen, and Hotel LunaSol was everything we wished for. Clean, well equipped (common kitchen area with fridge, kitchenware etc in the pool area), excellent service and very helpful and nice staff.

They cleaned the room every day, and did a good job too. Bed linen was great.

Location is great, just 2 blocks from 5th Av., and 3 blocks from the beach. So it's close to everything (the bus station, the ferry dock to Cozumel, restaurants, shops, beach etc)

The deal they have with the beach club isn't that great. They'll give you two sun beds, if you spend 100 pesos (~10 USD) per person during the day. But if you want an umbrella, it will cost you extra. A bit cheap by the beach club owners.

Would absolutely recommend it, and the value was great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieloSussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Danielo,

Thanks to have took the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.
We are happy that you enjoyed our bed linen, our location and facilities.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoyed the beach club agreement we have with the Wicky's.
As they provide a lot of extra services and details such as: Live music, fresh facial clothes, cleaning sun glasses, fresh fruits... We though that it was a good agreement for our guests to have access to the long chairs for free instead of paying 10$ Us per long chair.
Your comment makes me remember an important thing to comment to our futur guest: Beaches in Mexico are all public. Means that you can go where you want with your beach towel and enjoy the beach....not like in other destinations. Means also that you don't have to go to a beach club. You can go to the store, buy your drinks and bring them to the beach. The only thing is that you cannot use the facilities of the beach clubs, but you can go and sit in the sand infront of a beach club, no problem.

Thanks again for your nice review, we really appreciate all comments.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Regards,

Nancy and Victor
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We were lucky enough to have 6 days here in May 2011. I actually chose the Lunasol because the reviews on TA had been so consistently good.I was pleasantly surprised to find it all true. We were very happy for our holiday here to totallly relax (after 4 hectic weeks in USA and Cuba) This was our wind down time. The hotel has a beautiful pool area (which was never crowded), nicely designed and spottlessly maintained. We had a 2nd story room overlooking the pool area... witha lovely canopy of tropical blossom for our privacy. One thing that stands out at the Lunasol is how friendly (and helpful) the staff are...I believe they are all family and it seems that everyone working in the buisness, from reception to house-keeping, to garden & pool staff, are all friendly and happy, as tho they genuinely enjoy their jobs.....This transfers across to feeling more welcomed and comfortable in this space (well done to the management for achieving this)
This rooms are large enough and nicely decorated. Fridge worked really well for ice etc.
The beautiful, modern outdoor kitchen was also an added extra bonus.
The location suited us perfectly as well, so central... but also so quiet, definately a special find! Thanks for having us.

Room Tip: I prefer the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hneesh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Propriétaire at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Hneesh43,

Thank you so much for your review.

It feels so nice to see that people think that we are all family in the hotel.
Actually, 5 employees + the security guard are not ''real'' family.
But we consider LunaSol as a big reconstituated family and it's a pleasure to see that our guest feel it.

We hope that your flight back to Australia has been good... and we can't wait to welcome you back again!

Regards,

Nancy & Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I spent the first two weeks of May at Hotel LunaSol in Playa del Carmen.I have stayed at LunaSol many times over the past few years and it has become my other home. For me it is exactly what I need and love.For many years I stayed in mexican resorts that are wonderfl,but always wanting to not feel like a tourist..When I discovered LunaSol it was what I had been wanting.There is nothing I can say except good things,there are no negatives as far as I am concerned. LunaSol is perfect for me and I will continue to return there whenever possible. The hotel is small and cozy,extremely clean and has all the amenities that a person would ever want. The staff are not only very kind and friendly,they are knowledgeable in every aspect of life in Playa.Any questions you may have they can answer.Any situation you need help with they will help you.The staff ,including the owners ,work as a team and the guests are their first priority. There aren't enough words to tell you how wonderful I find LunaSol to be.The location is so perfect,as you have already read in other reviews. It is my hope to return for another visit in the New Year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicabonitadiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Propriétaire at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Patty,

You are so sweet to have take the time to write us another review.

We miss you so much...particulary for Victor's birthday!

Your papayas are getting great! The sun flowers are very nice too.

We miss you....can't wait till january to welcome you back again!

Hugs,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,314 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
1.3 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#31 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,902 reviews
0.3 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,600 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 4,841 - ₹ 9,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing