We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 426
US$ 324
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 194
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 276
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 547
US$ 392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 500
US$ 333
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 581
US$ 283
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 622
US$ 409
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 489/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 407
US$ 348
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,077
US$ 959
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 879
US$ 747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
291
98
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
98
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluna solpool areasmall hotelfully equipped kitchenbus stationwithin easy walking distancepalapa roofdefinitely stay here againbreakfast was includeddesk staffceiling fansmall poolking bedvictoravefridgewalmart
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very good hotel, in a quite area : 5 minutes from beach, 5 minutes from ADO bus station.
No noise in the night.
Rooms are large, clean, with refrigerator, balcony, A/C.
The hotel offers coffee and purified water. Swimming pool OK.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leogriffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Leo,

Thanks for your review!
Short review that goes straight to the point!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again!

Regards,

Nancy & Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The staff made us feel very much at home and taken care of. Victor, Aldom and Rigo were charming, helpful and welcoming throughout our stay. The room was adorable, immaculate, and very comfortable. It was so nice to have a pool, use of the kitchen, A/C and cable! The location was ideal- close to 5th avenida and ocean, but far enough to be peaceful and quiet. Price was a great value for a perfect vacation stay. Already looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Ratt73,
Thank you for your nice review!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our staff!
Rigo was in training and I'm sure he'll be very happy to see his first nice review on tripadvisor!
We look forward to see you again!

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel is an anomoly - small but with all the guest services you'd expect of a large hotel, but small enough to be personal. The desk staff were so helpful and friendly. The passion of the owners of this hotel shines through - this is a labour of love! I loved the retained Mexican feel which is something you don't get in the larger resort style hotels. I would come to Playa d C again - just to stay here! I have already recommended this hotel to family who holiday in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Thanks for your review...and thank you soo much for the recommendations to your family!
We really hope to have the chance to welcome them and to welcome you again!

Thanks also for mentionning that you can feel the love and the passion that we put in our hotel.
We want it to be your home in Mexico!

I hope you had a nice flight back to Australia...

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

All of the positive reviews are true:
1) The location is perfect. It's only a few minutes from the main drag and beach, but far enough away that all of the cool, authentic local stuff is right there.
2) The place itself if lovely and clean.
3) The "back yard" consists of a beautiful pool surrounded by lovely landscaping and flowers. In the corner of the "back yard" is a modern, open air kitchen where you can heat up all of that great local food that you bought around the corner and, using their plates and stuff, sit at a table around the pool and eat cheaply in paradise (as you drink the nice coffee which they provide) !
4) Victor, of course, is the greatest. Aside from the fact that he's truly a nice guy and is fluent in English and French, he has the inside scoop on anything you'd need to know re good deals on cool restaurants, snorkeling, etc.
5) I loved the fact that this place is owned by Québécois. In town you can work on your Spanish (as well as trying it out on Victor). Here, you're bound to run into lots of Francophones that you can "bon jour". We met people from Quebec, Rochelle, France, and from the French speaking side of Belgium.

You gotta love this place. We'll be back !
- Bob and Karen

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_by_numbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

''Bonjour'' Bob and Karen!
I just love your review!!

You know that it's because of people like you that took the time to write reviews that we are now 1st rating! And we really appreciate it!

I love to see that you met a lot of people around the world in our hotel! I think that the most important in travelling is to met people and discover new things!

We hope to see you again and to hear you say a lot of ''bonjour'' again!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My mother and I just stayed at LunaSol during our time in Playa Del Carmen and found it charming! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the frounds were beautiful. Loved the pool, tropical plants, hammock, balcony, and meeting other guests from different countries. The location is great...just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of 5th ave but only a 2 minute walk!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastybecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Toastybecca,

Thanks for your nice review and for the pictures you put online!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed our staff and the ambiance of our hotel!

We look forward to see you again for your next Mexican vacations!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews