We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from a truly delightful stay at LunaSol. The rooms were clean, and the beds were very firm and afforded a great night's sleep. The hotel staff was super friendly and had lots of suggestions for dinner, beaches, snorkeling, car rentals, among others. The pool was really lovely, housed in a tropical back sitting area. We took full advantage of the kitchen, which served as a nice place for guests to gather and talk to each other. We definitely enjoyed it. For the price, we don't think we could have done any better, which was really important b/c we were definitely on a strict budget. Even if I had more money to spend on a place to stay, I think I would probably go back to Hotel LunaSol anyway!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have nice, high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klsyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Klsyking,

We are so glad that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our recommendations.

Thanks to specified that you enjoyed the kitchen beside the pool. I think that it's a good extra that we offer to our guests... cook when you want and meet people!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Nancy & Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very good hotel, in a quite area : 5 minutes from beach, 5 minutes from ADO bus station.
No noise in the night.
Rooms are large, clean, with refrigerator, balcony, A/C.
The hotel offers coffee and purified water. Swimming pool OK.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leogriffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Leo,

Thanks for your review!
Short review that goes straight to the point!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again!

Regards,

Nancy & Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The staff made us feel very much at home and taken care of. Victor, Aldom and Rigo were charming, helpful and welcoming throughout our stay. The room was adorable, immaculate, and very comfortable. It was so nice to have a pool, use of the kitchen, A/C and cable! The location was ideal- close to 5th avenida and ocean, but far enough to be peaceful and quiet. Price was a great value for a perfect vacation stay. Already looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Ratt73,
Thank you for your nice review!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our staff!
Rigo was in training and I'm sure he'll be very happy to see his first nice review on tripadvisor!
We look forward to see you again!

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel is an anomoly - small but with all the guest services you'd expect of a large hotel, but small enough to be personal. The desk staff were so helpful and friendly. The passion of the owners of this hotel shines through - this is a labour of love! I loved the retained Mexican feel which is something you don't get in the larger resort style hotels. I would come to Playa d C again - just to stay here! I have already recommended this hotel to family who holiday in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Thanks for your review...and thank you soo much for the recommendations to your family!
We really hope to have the chance to welcome them and to welcome you again!

Thanks also for mentionning that you can feel the love and the passion that we put in our hotel.
We want it to be your home in Mexico!

I hope you had a nice flight back to Australia...

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

All of the positive reviews are true:
1) The location is perfect. It's only a few minutes from the main drag and beach, but far enough away that all of the cool, authentic local stuff is right there.
2) The place itself if lovely and clean.
3) The "back yard" consists of a beautiful pool surrounded by lovely landscaping and flowers. In the corner of the "back yard" is a modern, open air kitchen where you can heat up all of that great local food that you bought around the corner and, using their plates and stuff, sit at a table around the pool and eat cheaply in paradise (as you drink the nice coffee which they provide) !
4) Victor, of course, is the greatest. Aside from the fact that he's truly a nice guy and is fluent in English and French, he has the inside scoop on anything you'd need to know re good deals on cool restaurants, snorkeling, etc.
5) I loved the fact that this place is owned by Québécois. In town you can work on your Spanish (as well as trying it out on Victor). Here, you're bound to run into lots of Francophones that you can "bon jour". We met people from Quebec, Rochelle, France, and from the French speaking side of Belgium.

You gotta love this place. We'll be back !
- Bob and Karen

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_by_numbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

''Bonjour'' Bob and Karen!
I just love your review!!

You know that it's because of people like you that took the time to write reviews that we are now 1st rating! And we really appreciate it!

I love to see that you met a lot of people around the world in our hotel! I think that the most important in travelling is to met people and discover new things!

We hope to see you again and to hear you say a lot of ''bonjour'' again!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
858 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
0.1 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#91 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
267 reviews
0.4 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
461 reviews
0.3 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 3,842 - ₹ 9,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing