We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel price for basic hostel standard”
Review of Popol Vuh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Popol Vuh
Ranked #129 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel price for basic hostel standard”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hostel has a great location near the beach and very close to the bus station in Playa. But if you're looking for a private room, don't bother to come here. There are so many cheaper hotels just up the same street, with the exact same or even better standard, and the price you pay for a double at Popol Vuh is not worth it. The rooms are very basic, and you don't get any pleasure from being right by the beach, other that it takes you one minute less to walk. No view, and a slightly dark and messy but, by all means, friendly back yard with 3 hammocks.
Breakfast in the cafe across the street was nothing special, but the staff was very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExciteMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    47
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
64
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Passing by Playa for a couple of nights, we had read that Popol Vuh was a no frills establishment, so we weren't expecting a five star hotel. It seemed that the ambiance was cool and relaxed, very communal and chatty. We stayed in two rooms: first one of the cabins, which was very hot but had a couple of fans (staying in the upper floor was cool, like sleeping in a treehouse), and in one of the main rooms, which was better and had AC. Breakfast was not precisely good, but nothing outside the tone of the B&B.
So, bottom line it's a great place if you go with friends, intend to crash, to have a blast, and indeed if you pretend to pursue multi-cultural experiences. Going with family not so, but not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyhtstriyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hostel is really great! Really close to the beach, nice hot shower (once it heats up), and great communal kitchen. But what makes this place so special was Gama, the kind and friendly man who runs it. We cant wait to go back! Thanks for making our trip so awesome Gama!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troockster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
popolvuhplaya, Owner at Popol Vuh, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you very much for such a great review, our goal is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and Gama is definitely one our greatest asset to achieve it. Hopefully you can come back soon.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Fantastic hostel. First stop on backpacking tour of Central South America. Arrived on my own to be warmly greeted by the manager, Gama, he is very friendly and made me feel welcome straight away. He showed me where the nearest shop was and told me where the best bars were. Gama makes this hostel fantastic!

The 6 man dorm is really clean and has air con and a decent bathroom. The social area is wicked. Can definitely recommend people to stay here! It is also really easy to find from the bus station.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB23665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Popol vuh hostel during my stay in playa del carmen and enjoyed myself more than ever thanks to the manager Gama Valdez who was a true friend as well as guide to all the nightlife as well as picture perfect beaches.I will definetly be going back there and would recommend the hostel to everybody.The prices are good and the location is even better.The atmosphere is friendly .all you could ever want away from home.Good going guys hope to see you again soon..Heyman

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.8 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#36 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.6 km away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#182 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#103 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popol Vuh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popol Vuh

Property: Popol Vuh
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5a Avenida y Zona Federal Maritima S/N | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,262 - ₹ 5,301
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popol Vuh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Popol Vuh, one of the first affordable accommodation, nestled in the best location in Playa del Carmen. Half a block from Fifth Avenue and steps from one of the best beaches in the city. But being in the best location does not make it noisy, on the contrary, Popol Vuh is an oasis that will make you forget you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The garden surrounded by palm trees will offer you a feeling of peace and tranquility you are looking to relax. We have a kitchen that has everything you need to prepare your own food, as well as to organize a barbecue grill in the garden and a speaker where you can connect your iPod or any device and become the dj. We do not have a pool, but ¡hey!, remember that the beach is just a few steps. We have 2 wireless networks so you're always connected through to your mobile, laptop or tablet. At the reception you can print your boarding passes or anything you need. You only have to ask. Our staff will be always thoughtful to your needs and will provide you with the best tips for you to know the best places in town, you can reserve and buy any tour with them. Popol Vuh is for all types of travelers, whether you're traveling alone, with family, with friends or family. Our restaurant bar is located right in front and you can enjoy a wide variety of traditional Mexican dishes, cold beers, margaritas and enjoy your favorite sports. We have 14 private rooms, we have a place for everyone. There are six rooms with air-conditioning, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar; Three cabanas with private bathrooms and fans and five cabanas with fans and shared bathroom. Service daily cleaning and parking for up to three cars (if previously requested). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Popol Vuh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Popol Vuh Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Bed And Breakfast Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing