We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Clean, Convenient and Welcoming!”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #24 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cabo San Lucas, BCS
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute, Clean, Convenient and Welcoming!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

After deciding to just "wing-it" on this vacation, my wife and I arrived in Playa del Carmen and popped onto Trip Advisor to find a comfy place to rest our heads for a couple nights. Hotel Cielo fit the bill perfectly and we were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff after a quick call to confirm availability.

The friendly fellow manning the reception desk showed us through their available rooms and chatted us up as he casually, but efficiently checked us in. Our room was spotless and offered us space, comfort and even an ocean-view private terrace all for a wonderfully economic rate (despite the surprisingly busy season!).

Hotel Cielo's super convenient location (just off the start of 5th Avenue) meant that endless shopping & dining was just steps away, but without the bustling noise of some other similar hotels which directly overlooked the strip. The 50% off discount for guests (on breakfast only) @ highly rated Carboncitos restaurant was also a bonus!! Overall, this was a comfortable, convenient and very economic place to stay that gave us access to everything we love on 5th Ave. during our stay in Playa.

Room Tip: Room 22 was a 3rd floor with a great ocean-view terrace from which you could also see 5th Avenue. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboChinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you Cabo Chinito for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you & your wife enjoyed your stay & that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carboncitos, we have been making some great changes there as well. We know there are a lot of hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    190
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
136
360
112
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I am so glad I serendipitously met the owner of Hotel Ceilo Steve. It was my first trip to Cancun and Playa del Carmen. I was wanting to get the locals perspective on best places to visit. Steve hosted a great meal in the restaurant next to the hotel which he also owns and while hearing great stories about living in P.D.C., he wrote up a list of great local places to swim the Cenotes, see whale sharks and more. He spent time with us over margaritas, gave us a private tour of the hotel and took us to a local German pub which was adorable. I got a taste of how Steve and the staff at Hotel Ceilo treat all their guests, like long time friends. Thanks Steve! Had a great time! Can't wait to come back! Cyndi from Washington DC

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you CindyM for your review. Its so rewarding to see travelers really enjoy themselves, its what its all about & we are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation. We are glad you were able to experience our warmth & charm and it was a pleasure to have met you and your friend. We look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Cielo. As with any hotel in Mexico, we weren't sure what to expect... but our expectations were definitely exceeded. Since we were a late arrival, it is awesome that they have someone at their front desk 24 hours a day. We knew we were safe, and our belongings were also safe at all times. The front desk staff was always very helpful in finding places to go and eat as well as help with renting a car from a good company. Everyone was very friendly from the front desk staff to the house keepers; we felt everyone had a great attitude towards us.
The rooms are pretty basic, you are not staying at some fancy resort... but it is one block from the beach and the air conditioning is cold! Mexico isn't a place that you should spend much time in your room anyway. Not much for views from many of the rooms, but you can go up on their roof very easy for a sweet vista or just simply walk 2 minutes to the beach.
We ate at the restaurant next door every day. The food is great, and if you are a Cielo guest, you get half price. Absolutely worth it and tasty! They also have killer tacos for lunch/dinner with a great happy hour. Tacos al pastor is a do not miss - with their pumpkin salsa....mmmmm. Not to mention some of the best margaritas we had the whole time we were down there!
This hotel is close to everything, safe, clean and just simply a great place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to my closest friends with full confidence.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepInTheBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you Deep In The Boat for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay & especially that we had exceeded your expectations, it reassures us that all our efforts are paying off. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My boyfriend and I spent one week in July in Hotel Cielo and we had one of the greatest time of our lives. The location was excellent, straight to the 5th Avenida and 50mt from the sea. the service was very very good, the people at the reception were all kind and gave us some useful tips about our holidays, suggested us some good places to eat and nice beaches to visit.
I definetely recommend this hotel for everyone who's looking for a nice place to stay without spending too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you Julie M for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us & had a great vacation experience . "Great Hotel" ... its just what we are shooting for, thank you for noticing our warmth & charm. Our staff are a very important part of the Cielo team, they love to hear the reviews, we appreciate the kind words. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a small but very homely hotel.

It is located just two blocks from the bus station and 3 blocks away from the Cozumel ferry station. It is also just a few steps into 5th avenue but located in a quite area away from the noise of all the clubs. And most importantly, it is located very close to the beach!

Our room didn't have any view to the ocean but the way the room was designed made up for the lack of view because our room felt very homely.

The rooms are very clean and the beds are fairly new and comfortable.

The staff were great and very helpful on everything we needed during our stay, even the owner was always there talking to every guest. They have this list of inexpensive but good restaurants and we did try 4 in the list and we were very satisfied and saved us some money in the process.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone....... you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you Denver M for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You pretty much said it all, I couldn't have done any better. The recommendations to your friends are greatly appreciated, thank you for spreading the word and we will be sure to create a an amazing vacation experience for them as well. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank for choosing Hotel Cielo & we will see you when you return to the sunny Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.2 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,432 reviews
1.5 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
1.1 km away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
573 reviews
0.3 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,287 - ₹ 21,599
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing