We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cielo is Great!”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #10 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After spending the previous 5 weeks "Adventure" travelling in Central America, Hotel Cielo was sheer luxury! Everything was modern, clean and bright and everything worked. The location is great, the staff, especially Miguel at the front desk, were wonderful and the french toast at the restaurant next door (where you get a discount for breakfast) was to die for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmeril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you hmeril for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the kind words, we think Hotel Cielo is great too......"sheer luxury compared to the others"....we're smiling now & the staff is so happy to hear our service is starting to out shine our competition. We know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo, we look forward to seeing you when you return to the sunny Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 438 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Discovered this hotel quite by accident while having breakfast next door. A girlfriend and I shared the family room for three nights and just loved it. We couldnt believe the great location, one block from the beach and around the corner from 5th avenue and it was also so quiet for sleeping and what a 'dream' to experience a great nights sleep on their brand new pillow top mattresses. Loved our little balcony after a hard day at the playa. Miguel and the staff made us feel like family. Can,t wait to see them again and stay in this great hotel. They really have got it right in a very low key and polite manner.

Room Tip: The family room has a balcony and you can see the sea and the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary_parlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

" What a Gem".......we don't know who to thank more the, staff for doing such a great job, or our guests for writing such nice reviews. Thankfully we have both to appreciate. Rosemary_parlour, we thank you for your review & we are delighted you had a great vacation experience. The staff were so happy to hear your review & yes , now we got it right & will continue to do so to assure our future guests a great vacation experience.
We know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo, we look forward to seeing you when you return to the sunny Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After staying in another boutique hotel for years we decided to try this hotel, here's a small review.
WHAT WE LOVED: The staff, very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in, in PDC. Crisp beautiful linens, no "doubtful clean" beadspread but a quilt is available if you get cold - not really imaginable. The intimate hotel is small but rooms and their entrances were very private and secure, almost like going to your upstairs bedroom at home. The proximity to great restaurants of every taste and budget. The beach club arrangements with Wicky's were perfect. The great pedestrian 5th Ave. and the beach both were steps away. The 50% breakfast discount at one of the most popular restaurants,Carboncitos, just next door, was a nice perk.

WHAT WE LIKED: The homey Mexican art decor, the shower and bathroom space and the large shelving area for clothes storage - WITH hangars (sometimes almost non-existant in hotels). There are water coolers (no fridge) and flushable toilets (some hotels discourage this). The roof top is a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing and is in the middle of a remodeling phase. The bar wil be nice, with beautiful views.

MISC: TV is available and when we asked that our TV be moved a little for better viewing it was done immediately. We had no need for a phone. Miguel was gracious enough to offer us a choice of rooms, especially one with a larger bed after one night - we had not asked but he overheard our concern about it. The air conditioning and overhead fan were fine-quiet, as was our room. There are nice "black out" type draperies for those who want to sleep a little longer in the morning. We love the early morning sun so we didn't need to shut them. I liked that the owner was on premise and we are interested in learning about his endeavor in Tulum concerning a green/eco friendly hotel. I'm sure it will do well. We laughed on hearing one of his anecdotes about a shopping trip - " I'll take 40 mattresses to go".
Very clean and comfortable is this hotel. I'm glad I made the switch.

All in all, I hope to make this my new home there and felt I was. Room prices were very, very reasonable for your stay and experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cormac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you cormac 55 for taking the time to write your review. Well.....we're glad you tried it but we are delighted that you loved us !!! It was a pleasure having you as a guest & we appreciate all the kind words. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cielo for a night in February 2012. We rented 2 family suites as we are a family of 8. The decor in the hotel is beautiful, the location is perfect for wandering 5th Avenue, or hanging out at the beach, the service received was great, and the food at Carboncitos next door was amazing.
Miquel, at the front desk, was so helpful and pleasant in all of our dealings. He provided great service from the first time I contacted Hotel Cielo about booking rooms until we checked out.
Our whole group would like to come back to Hotel Cielo on our next Mexico trip - only for much longer than one night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you KKrys for your review. We are delighted that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us & that we were able to create a great vacation experience. Thanks for mentioning the service, we really appreciate it & we have been working diligently to create great customer service. We know there are many hotels to choose from in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we are looking forward to your return to the sunny Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Rooms are clean, no insects, Air conditioners work great and no funky smells and Beds were very comfy. Breakfast was very good, staff was wonderful. Beach is 30 yards from door and $10 rents you 2 padded lounge chairs w/umbrella for the entire day with access to shower & bathrooms and some live music in afternoon. Festively noisy on the street-facing rooms but if you're such a light sleeper then choose a garden facing room. Ferry dock is 2 blocks away, bus station is 1 block away. $5 taxi ride to Walmart or Chedraui Grocery Store. Great food at Babe's noodle-bar on 10th Street, Cuban Jazz Club rocks with Salsa Dancing, $24 1-hr Massage-Yes that's NOT a Typo. We stayed for 7 nights and they gave us the last night free! Great value for such a nice hotel with a perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you NorthBeach_Lover for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the kind words & that you had a great vacation experience....seems you really made your rounds . We know there are many hotels to choose from in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we are looking forward to your return to the sunny Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
8.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
0.3 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#52 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,446 reviews
1.5 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,983 reviews
1.7 km away
Newport House Playa del Carmen
Newport House Playa del Carmen
#1 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 6,935 - ₹ 13,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing